We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great resort - wonderful beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Lahaina Resort
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great resort - wonderful beach”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We had a garden bungalow at this resort and although the budget accomodation opposed to the main hotel I have to say the bungalow was gorgeous. We had a view of the golf course, and was a 1 minute walk to the beach.
The bungalow had a massive bed, so comfortable and the room- bathroom was spotless. Again it had everything you could need - the patio furniture was also comfy and in a lovely sunny spot.
The hotel facilities and staff were fantastic, the service was brilliant - everyone smiling.
The beach was gorgeous - we saw whales and could hear them under the water, we also had a turtle swim by us and a seal on the beach - what a trip.
I highly recommended this resort and if you are disappointed with this place you really shouldn't go on holidays.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad rooms..........if you get a garden cottage they all have a lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nockster31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Aloha. So happy that you were pleased with your cottage accommodations and the resort. Although it is a big trip from the UK I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Maui and the Royal Lahaina at some point in the future. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,526
    1,419
    516
    263
    195
See reviews for
733
2,063
88
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (967)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

This place was very nicely decorated in island motif. The halls and rooms were very nicely done. I found the staff very helpful. The coffee shop was nice for a quick breakfast.

The only thing I didn't like was $10 a night for self parking. It's not a lot of money, but you really can't get here without a car, so just add it into the price of the room. I dislike when a place nickel and dimes you after you pay for the room.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NYWayneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Aloha. Thank you for the 5-star rating! Happy to read that you were pleased with the decor. When we renovated one of Hawaii's premier interior designers was consulted to help in bringing a "Sense of Place" to new rooms. On Maui it is the general practice that most hotels and resorts charge separately for parking rather than including it in the room rate. While the majority of our guests like to have a rental car, so they explore the island at their leisure, quite a few also prefer to take shuttle transfers or taxi services from the airport and simply relax at the resort for most of their vacation. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We booked 5 nights in a partial ocean view room in the Tower. We got in late and were exhausted but check-in was pretty quick. Keep in mind there is a $50 a night deposit due up front. We didn't bring any credit cards so had to give cash and that was a little annoying. But the rooms are GORGEOUS. I'll post pictures below. We had a safe, mini fridge, balcony and big flat screen tv. Very new and modern, loved the bed and beautiful wood carvings. I was very impressed. We ordered room service at night and breakfast and both were really good. The grounds were so pretty and lush. Staff was friendly and very helpful. The parking lots were a little small but not that bad. They had nightly tennis matched you could watch and live music in the lobby bar. My main complaint was that they charge $25 a day for beach chairs. I really think this was why there was no one on the beach. We went to Walgreens and paid $30 for 2 chairs. We also went to Safeway and stocked up on liquor and food/snacks. Definitely sign up for the savings card when you're there.
Here are my recommendations for food:

Lahaina Grill (Whaler's Village, pretty fancy but amazing food and service!)
Kimo's Seafood (Whaler's Village. The best prime rib & lobster)
The Gazebo @ Napili Shores (Long line but so worth it)

Whaler's Village was really cool. Tons and little shops and restaurants by the water. You could spend all day walking thru there.

The pools at the resort were small and we didn't use them because I can't understand why you would lay by a pool when you are on Maui! The beach was amazing, just pure beauty. I had the opportunity to see one of the cottages and let me just say, OLD. Don't stay in a cottage. The tower rooms are so beautiful, new and modern.

Room Tip: Only book a room in the tower. Try to get a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DevanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Aloha Devan. Thank you for the review. Glad to read that you were pleased with your stay. We do take a $50 per day authorization at check-in to allow guests to charge incidentals to their room account, however for those who prefer not to utilize this service we can dis-allow access to room charges. The resort provides complimentary chaise lounge chairs for guests which are located poolside and on our oceanfront lawns adjacent to the beach. We request that these not be taken to the beach. The on-site Beach Activity Center does offer beach chairs, umbrellas and a variety of other beach amenities available for rent or purchase. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

I had booked a cottage and was really looking forward to staying in one. The seclusion, peace and quiet appealed to me. When I first arrived I was immediately offered an 'upgrade' to a tower room. I knocked it back (stupidly as it turned out). I was taken immediately to my cottage and couldn't believe how worn out, old and dated it was. It was nowhere near the beach and very close to the road. There was a safe in the room but you had to pay $3.75 per day to use it!!! Unheard of in this day and age. Everything was old and creaky. The door jamb looked like someone had tried to jimmy their way in. I am a female traveller who travels on my own. Basically I spent one night in this cottage and couldn't wait to get back to reception the next day to see if I could change to a tower room. I felt totally unsafe in the cottage. The lock was flimsy; so was the door. I didn't like it at all. Thankfully staff found me another room immediately and I packed up and moved straightaway. The tower rooms are lovely. Mine was only on the third floor, but I could still see the water. I didn't care that I didn't have a great view because I had NO VIEW at all in the cottage! The room also had a safe, but I didn't have to pay for it. What's with that? If I stayed in the cottage I had to pay for the safe, but not in the tower room??? Anyway, my only complaint was that it was quite cold during my stay and there was no blanket on the bed or in the room at all. I never use air con so I just suffered with the cold. The restaurant was lovely. The staff were friendly and helpful. The free pineapple flavoured water in the lobby was so refreshing. I did enjoy my stay and would return. I'd just highly recommend you don't stay in the cottages unless it is one right on the beach. Even then, I'd probably still prefer a tower room!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkpetuniasydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Aloha. Thank you for the feedback. I am happy that you were pleased with your tower room accommodation. As you mention the cottage rooms are an older accommodation than the tower rooms which received a complete renovation recently. We are in the beginning stages of a refurbishment project for the cottages, however this project is addressing one cottage at a time so at this time it is best for guests who are looking for more modern and deluxe accommodations to book a room in the tower. I will speak with our Front Office and contact you regarding the safe charge as you should not have been charged for the safe in the cottage. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mulberry, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Staff more than friendly. Nice room, but not a suite. Only one chair. Clean and well kept. Television service is better than expected. Multiple outlets for charging personal devices. Decor nice. Bed comfortable. Two types of pillows - feather and foam. Two pools, but they are rather small. Excellent access to the ocean. Convenience store well priced. A couple food options and pool bar. Can charge items to the room or pay cash, your choice. Safe and refrigerator in room. Good value. Would gladly come back. Nice out of the way place with quick access to city and shopping.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Aloha Craig. Thank you for the positive feedback and informative and concise review. Happy to read that you found us to be a good value and would return. We hope to welcome you back again. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stayed at the Royal Lahaina Resort for five nights and I'm very happy with my stay. I booked the hotel through Orbitz where I got a great rent-a car package. I thought I've asked for 2 double bed room, but for some reason what they've prepared for us was a king bed room. They've exchanged the room on the spot when we checked in. They even gave us higher floor room with better view instead of the 3rd floor they originally prepared. Their card key didn't work well and I had to go back to the front desk so many times but they were very helpful each time when I asked them to fix the problem. The staff at the hotel are very friendly hand helpful.

Kaanapali trolly stops right in front of the hotel and you can take the trolly to the Whaler's Village and other near by hotels for free.

There's no gym but they have a very lovely beach path and I enjoyed running and walking there. It is a little long walk but you can walk to the Duke's through the beach path. And you know they have a great happy hours!

The beach is lovely. You can see both Lanai and Molokai and the view is epic. I think the beach is not so crowded for a popular resort area. We saw a whale from the beach.

Wi-fi is available for free in their lobby and they have refreshing spa water in the lobby. Parking spot is pretty tight and can be crowded when they have luau shows.

I would totally stay this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hollywoodart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Aloha. Thank you for the 5-star rating. Happy to read that you were happy with your stay and would return. We hope we can welcome you back soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed at this hotel during the week of January 13. We were very pleased,overall,with the property, and would highly recommend someone staying here. The one thing I would recommend to the hotel that would enhance the stay is to provide wifi in the room without charge. The excessive Wi-Fi rate does cause an unnecessary amount of people to be hanging out in the lobby, thus making the hotel have a bit of a cheesy appearance. Most hotels I stay at that are as expensive as this one includes Wi-Fi. Come on Royal Lahaina get with it! Other than this it is really a great place to start.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank V9474QLJohn_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Aloha. Thank you for the feedback. Happy to read that you were very pleased with the property and would recommend it. We are currently looking into options for enhancing wifi accessibility. At this time wifi is provided complimentary in our public areas and in-room wi-fi accessibility is available for $10 per day. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,933 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.0 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,479 reviews
0.8 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lahaina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lahaina Resort

Property: Royal Lahaina Resort
Address: 2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1992
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Lahaina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Lahaina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Resort Maui
Royal Lahaina Maui
Royal Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Hotel Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing