We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay and chill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Lahaina Resort
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay and chill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights, this resort was nice. Room was modem and had a great view of the beach front and the sea. The room was big and clean. The king size bed was nice and comfy. This hotel is located in old Lahaina, west of Maui, about an hour drive from OGG airport. It's about 15 mins from the town of lahaina, you can easily find some good foods there. There are some nice beaches north of the hotel as well. The pool at the hotel isn't my kind of pool, it's like a part of the restaurant. People dinning there are looking right at you. We went there at the evening, we didn't see anyone in it. The beach is nice to walk around, but the wave strong, so swimming might be challenging. We went to the beaches north of it for claimer water. There is a luau performance daily in the resort, but it's so so. Parking is a pain. The spots are small, and a lot of people don't know to park their car straight. So everything gets event tighter. Over it's a great place to stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Winglik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Mahalo for the feedback on your recent visit. Glad to read that you found us to be a great place to stay. I should note for potential guests that we have three pools available on property. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,514
    1,400
    509
    260
    195
See reviews for
724
2,034
86
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (953)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed here for our honeymoon 7 days / 6 nights - 7th floor. Hotel staff was very nice, very good breakfast menu. Each night the bar has a live musician playing traditional hawaiin music or acoustic guitar tunes. The rooms were okay. We stayed in a partial ocean view room. We actually enjoyed looking at the mountains more than the ocean from our balcony. Rainbows almost every morning in the mountains. Room was cleaned pretty good each day and fully restocked towels, soaps, shampoo's, etc. I suggest taking the trolley to Whaler's Village to take another bus to shopping areas and find a SAFEWAY grocery store to save $ on booze, snacks, & water. ( BE SURE to sign up and get a store savers card, you save so much money. ) down side of Maui - alcohol is pretty expensive. The beach at the Royal Lahaina was amazing. Not overcrowded on bit. This was the only Luau I have ever been too, The entertainment was pretty good. The food not so much, it was a variety all kinds of food. But to me Luau's are not a big deal to me when going to Hawaii, its the BEACH. This beach was perfect to me :) We had an under water camera and ended staying in the water for hours. The water was crystal CLEAR. Employees said they never see sharks, the water is too warm in that area for them. We didn't see a single mino in our beach area. Now if you go down to Whalers and visit black rock you can see fish, sea turtles and even dolphins if you are lucky. I would recommend trip for any couple.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lvio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Aloha. Thank you for selecting the Royal Lahaina Resort to celebrate your Honeymoon. For beach lovers like yourself, our stretch of Kaanapali Beach is one of the best in the world. Glad that you were pleased with your visit and I hope that we can welcome you back in the future. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martensville, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

We arrived on Dec 30 for 10 days and they did not have the partial ocean view with 2 beds we booked. They put us in a cottage for the first night with the option to stay there or upgrade to an ocean view room the next night. We stayed in the cottage so our kids could be very close to the pool and beach. The cottages are definitely not in the best shape unlike the newly renovated tower but the convenience of being a 20 second walk to the pool won out.
The grounds are beautiful, the beach is awesome, the restaurant has great food but the drinks are pricey at $11 each. We stocked up with alcohol instead at the local grocery stores.
The staff throughout the hotel was very good and friendly. Check in and out was quick. The only issue I had was with billing for parking. When I got home I noticed they charged me $15/day for valet parking that I didn't use instead of $10 for self parking. I believe this was a simple miscommunication with the guy who checked me in.
We had a few hiccups but overall I would highly recommend this hotel. I would go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wishitravelledmore72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Aloha. Thank you very much for the review. So glad to read that your family enjoyed the resort and that you would recommend us. I will follow up directly with you regarding the miscommunication on the valet parking. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is old, but clean enough , so it's not too bad, beach is very beautiful, staffs are friendly, but............Parking is very painful, took me at 20 min to find one, and hope you will have comprehensive insurance, because the stalls are 2/3 of a regular size stall, so you will have door dings for sure

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GTPANDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Aloha. Thank you for the feedback on your stay. Glad to read that you were pleased with our beach and your interactions with the staff. Sorry parking can be a little tight, particularly when the hotel is running a high occupancy. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

This resort was wonderful for the beautiful beach location. It is roughly a 15 minute walk from Whaler's Village, which had great shopping and two restaurants. The room was clean and the view was priceless (oceanfront - 11th floor). The only downside was that the bathroom was a little small and there was not enough lighting around the sink/make-up area.

Room Tip: The upper floors (ocean view) provide the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BucketListExpl0rer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Aloha. Thank you for the positive review. Glad to read that you were pleased with our beautiful beach location and views from your room. For guests who would like additional lighting in the vanity area our Housekeeping Dept. can provide lighted make-up mirrors upon request. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Guys
This hotel in Hawaii at the beach in Lahaina is havinh unique location and serving atypical American and Asia pacific service. Lots of music at pool side and cuisine from all around the world.
If you did not visit Hawaii, you missed big in the life, but if you were in Hawaii and did not visit this Hotel means you missed real Hawaii

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trikam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Aloha. Happy to read that you were pleased with your visit to Hawaii and enjoyed the traditional Hawaiian ambiance of the Royal Lahaina Resort. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

stayed from 23-12-2013 for 5 nights, check in was smooth and friendly,the room was large enough and clean, the location was excellent, it is a very quiet area when you compare the hotels at Whalers Village ( which is a nice 20 minute walk along the coast line from the hotel ) what we liked about this hotel was the smile on the faces of the staff and always keen to assist with what ever you required nothing was a problem, we enjoyed our stay very much , if you are looking for a quiet holiday with a great beach location and a property that has a very good restaurant then this hotel is for you. I hope you all enjoy this hotel as we did

Room Tip: ocean view rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casinomelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Aloha. Thank you very much for the kind review. So glad that you enjoyed the peaceful ambiance of the resort and the service that you received from our staff. We hope you will visit us again. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,881 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.0 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,466 reviews
0.8 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lahaina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lahaina Resort

Property: Royal Lahaina Resort
Address: 2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1992
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Lahaina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Lahaina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Resort Maui
Royal Lahaina Maui
Royal Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Hotel Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing