We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to visit again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Lahaina Resort
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My friend and I had the MOST amazing experience at this hotel. From the moment you get there, they are soo helpful and accommodating. We arrived at the hotel from NY at 8 pm Hawaiian time so it was 2 am our time and we were completely exhausted. There was no line when we went to get our room and they knew who we were when we got to the desk and said they were expecting us and gave us a room upgrade without even asking! From then on the hotel just got better! The room and the view from the room were both fantastic! We were given a room with a balcony that we ate room service on one night and it was just soo nice. The beds in the room were very comfortable and nice to sleep on.

Now on to the restaurants at the resort. The first thing you smell when you open your door to the balcony is breakfast, :). We knew right then we wanted to try the buffet and we did not regret it! The food was great! Especially the coconut syrup they offer you. The coffee at the resort is also great, always fresh and hot. We did venture out to eat outside the resort, but I have to say we enjoyed breakfast at the resort was better than any other we tasted on the island. The room service we ordered, steak and fish and they were both heavenly! The service is great everywhere you go at the resort, including the bar by the pool. One night we had to cancel our reservations for the next day snorkeling tour we had reservations for and they had no problems taking care of all of the cancelations for us.

I would highly recommend this resort to anyone interested in traveling to Maui! The only draw back of the area is that they is not much nightlife, but my friend and I didn't mind at all!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Aloha Alison. Thank you very much for the positive review. We appreciate your kind feedback and are glad that you and your friend had a very enjoyable stay. We will look forward to welcoming you back. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,919 - 1,925 of 4,174 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

The best thing going for the hotel is its location - great beach without the crowds, and yet easy access to Lahaina, Black Rock and Whaler's Village. There's good snorkeling within a 5 minute walk north, and of course at Black Rock (and the crowds) with a 10 minute walk south. Lahaina is a 15min drive away (restaurants, shopping etc)

The hotel facilities are OK - the pools are small, but the beach is close enough. Restaurant has fairly good food, and staff are very nice (but watch for a waiter called Tyson - who is downright rude and seems to hate his job). Rooms are more spacious than the big chain hotels and nearly all the rooms have some view of the ocean. Don't expect a fitness center, or kids activities, the hotel is great if you enjoy the beach...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 993-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Aloha. Thank you for the feedback on your visit. Glad that you enjoyed our location and the guestrooms. I will be sure to review your feedback regarding the service you received with our Food and Beverage Team. Thanks again, we hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I love this place...Ike king the Bellman was so helpfull. can't wait to come back. I feel in love with Maui... Such a beautiful place to be..gonna move there someday. Love the water and the people are super nice

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Aloha Scott. The only thing I can say is "Awesome"! I will make sure that Ike receives a copy of your review. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I usually stayed at the Marriot or Four Seasons at Kaanapali, but we decided to give the Royal Lahaina Resort a shot, when I found a great deal, packaged with air. The room that we stayed in was recently remodeled and very nice....more than we expected. We walked down to the pool, which is kind of small, but seriously, the place is on the ocean....so go snorkel, or swim in the warm Hawaiian water. The luau there is on Travel Channels top 10. There are some shops in walking distance from the hotel and a coffee shop, which was perfect. There is also a nice beachfront spot that had the most reasonably priced food we had! It's no frills, but it's on the sand, open air, great service and great food....Maui is beautiful, so save a few bucks on your room and stay in this great hotel, and explore the island.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly renovated rooms, when checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Aloha Lee. So glad that you gave the Royal Lahaina a try this time. Even happier that you enjoyed the property and found that we offer a great value. We hope we can welcome you back again soon. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Its been a few years since we visited this hotel. We stayed in one of the bungalows which was so nice. No doors slamming, kids running up and down the halls or people talking outside your door. Royal Lahaina offers walking paths, located right on the beach and is adjacent to a golf course. Whalers village is not to far, for walkers to a nice walk however the do offer a free shuttle. This is a nice place for everybody.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachchairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Aloha. Thank you very much for the positive review. So happy that you chose to return to the Royal Lahaina and that you once again enjoyed the peaceful ambiance of the resort. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Enjoyed every aspect of stay. We visited for or anniversary in November. Weather was in high 70's which was comfortable for shorts day and evening. We started with a partial view which was pretty limited but enjoyed seeing palm trees and the room was beautiful. We upgraded to an ocean front room when it became available, awesome view and sounds of the ocean. The staff and maid service always friendly We took the trolley, walked, and took the bus to many restaurants and local destinations, easy to get around if you aren't in a rush. This is a family friendly hotel that I would enjoy visiting again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrissieG49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Aloha Chrissie. Thank you very much for the kind review. So glad you enjoyed Maui and the Royal Lahaina on your anniversary. We hope we can welcome you back again. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My sister Benita & I just returned 2 wks ago & let me tell you how fantastic our experience was. The Royal Lahaina Resort was A-mazing! Staff are friendly, they really want their guest to feel the aloha spirit and really go out of their way to make you feel at home. Thank you to the helpful front desk staff, the guys who greet you when you arrive, the "cabana boys" Josh & Maui Jim, and Gil! Your hospitality was appreciated. The hotel is beautiful, clean, and the rates are reasonable. We stayed 5 nights & nothing else will ever compare. I highly recommend booking "the royal experience", which includes a slamming buffet breakfast every morning, the best luau on Maui; so much fun. The host is hilarious, the dancers are beautiful, the food Is fab! It's a must, really. And it includes a sunset catamaran dinner cruise. Let me just say, the crew of the teralani are awesome! The view & sunset were picturesque, the company was intimate; such a good time! Free drinks, classic rock, and good eats! Met great people and made wonderful memories. I just can't say enough good things about this resort. Thank you for making my dream vacation everything I hoped it would be. I can only hope that one day I will return. Aloha!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Bernice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Aloha Bernice. So happy to know that we were able to deliver on your dream vacation and that you and your sister have many fond memories of your trip to Maui. We too hope that you can return. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,284 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,634 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,185 reviews
4.6 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lahaina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lahaina Resort

Address: 2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1992
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $236 - $728 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Lahaina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Lahaina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Resort Maui
Royal Lahaina Maui
Royal Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Hotel Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing