We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid 3”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Lahaina Resort
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed in an Oceanfront Cottage (rather than the high rise). The location was FABULOUS. We walked out our patio door to a small pool area and Kaanapali Beach (north). This stretch of beach is great for walking, with beautiful water, soft sand, great views of Lanai & Molakai.

The room was kind of funky. Lots of wear and tear (especially in the bathroom area), and only one chair in the room (in addition to our bed).

The restaurant, although with a minimal and simple menu, was a nice surprise at lunch and dinner. Simpler items were always fresh and well-prepared.

Customer service was hit and miss. Upon check in (after 22 hours in transit), one of the bellboys advised me on how to make things go smoother for everyone (including him). Parking spaces were small (almost impossible to find one on Luau nights, almost impossible to open the door on a 2 door car). Breakfast system with 2 lines needs work.

Solid, fairly priced. Great location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c7alt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Aloha! Appreciate the feedback on your recent visit. Happy to read that you enjoyed our prime location, were pleased with the meals you had at our restaurant and found the Royal Lahaina to be a good value. Mahalo!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,976 - 1,982 of 4,144 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

We recently stayed at the hotel (7th June 2013) for our first baby 'baby moon'. This was our first trip to Maui. The west coast was amazing, the weather was perfect. We stayed at this hotel based on reviews and the price was right. We had an ocean front room on the 4th floor, it's worth it to get one of these rooms the view is amazing. The room was a good size for a couple, the king bed was comfy and clean. The bathroom was a little weird, it was a shower and toilet only with the sink in the bedroom, but nothing to worry about. The only issue with the room was house cleaning seemed to take place on these rooms late in the afternoon, so we would go out all day come back and the room would still not be done.

Our other issue was the choices for dinner. I didn't research enough in this area prior to our trip. The hotel only has one restaurant, it's ok but nothing to write home about. There is an Italian restaurant 100m up the road - we were not impressed. The next hotel over has a restaurant called the 'castaway cafe' it's not much to look at but the food was great!! We ate there on our last night, wished we'd gone there earlier. The place to be for food and things to do is Whalers village. It's a 20 min walk or there is a free trolly that goes every 30 mins. I'm torn as I loved the hotel location for relaxing and the view I had each morning, but we spent each day walking back to Whalers Village to eat, shop, tours etc so it might be easier to stay in that area.

Hope this helps with decision making

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Business_Barbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Aloha! Mahalo for the feedback on your recent stay. Glad to read that you enjoyed the views from your room and the relaxing atmosphere at the Royal Lahaina. As you mention there are only two full service restaurants on our grounds, with a few others at neighboring resorts or Whalers Village within a 10-20 minute walk. I hope you were also able to make it down to Front Street in Lahaina (3 miles south of Kaanapali) which has a wide variety of restaurants, bars, art galleries and specialty shops to enjoy. A trip to Maui would not be complete without spending some time in Lahaina. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is my second trip to this resort. My first visit was for a family wedding on site so it was brief but magical. After searching other Maui locations for a week long stay this trip I decided on something familiar and am glad I did. We purposefully chose the cottages over the towers because of the charm and outside sitting areas. As others have stated, they are old, but roomy and clean. In fact after a week here where I observed housekeeping on their knees cleaning the tile floor with a scrub brush and maintenance spraying and scrubbing down walls in the lobby and elevator on more then one occasion I have no qualms about vouching for its cleanliness! The grounds were meticulously kept as well and the people were wonderful! From the front desk, to valets, to restaurant and bar personal, even the managers we met along the way could not have been more pleasant and helpful. The beach was uncrowded and gorgeous but my favorite spot was poolside by the tiki bar. We never missed happy hour and six dollar Mai Tais! The restaurant on site had great evening shows (live music, hula dancing and torch lighting ceremony) and above average food that we found to be on par with other places in price and quality. In fact we ate breakfast there twice (pricey but yummy buffet) and three of our evening meals because of the convenience and have no complaints....well except for the friendliness of the birds but that's to be expected in Hawaii with the outdoor eating you enjoy. My one and only concern was the "hospitality room". Due to a late flight out, we stored our luggage at the desk and hung out poolside one last day. We had signed up for our thirty minute slot to shower in the afternoon and were appalled to find dirty towels all over the place and a shower that had clearly just seen its sixth or seventh user of the day. I understand the tight schedule but really, showering with someone else's hair and soap was just gross but had to be done in the tight time frame we had....we had even less because when I called to question the issue I was merely told they would bring me clean towels which took ten minutes, thus giving two of us now only twenty minutes to shower! On the up side to this disaster, we did get to see one of the coveted tower rooms and were less then impressed...definitely glad we went with the cottages and now we know to just shower early in the day and forego the extra time in the sun. Was sad to have to end our visit on this sour note but it will not prevent us from returning.....have already started saving!

Room Tip: Don't be afraid of the cottages! Some are bigger and better then others though so perhaps ask i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catlover324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Aloha! Thank you very much for the review on your most recent stay. So glad that you were pleased with your choice and are looking forward to returning. Very sorry about the hospitality room experience, this is definitely not the final impression we want our guests to leave with. I will be reviewing this in detail with our Team to insure we can make improvements in how we are offering this service. Thank you again, we appreciate the feedback and will look forward to assisting you on your next visit. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The rooms in the tower are renovated and very Hawaiian. The view of Kaanapli beach was beautiful. The staff at front desk were very nice and helpful. The valet guys were great. Housekeeping was great. Restaurant was fun but pricey. The young women at ice-cream shop were not very friendly. Grounds were beautiful and well kept. Beach was huge and not busy. The lobby is old but is being renovated. if u want more excitement, the south Kaanapali beach area is within walking distance.

Room Tip: Get room above third floor so u can have good view of ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JIm52833401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Mahalo for the positive review! Glad to read that you had a great experience and enjoyed your visit. Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Honesty could not have been happier with our choice of hotel for Maui. We stayed for 4 nights in may 2013 and it really was lovely. Staff were very friendly, bar was great (awesome cocktails), the pools were nice but we didnt get in them as the beach was amazing. We stayed in a cottage room which was perfect for us - there was plenty of room and it was a comfortable, clean and quiet stay. (the TV was a little outdated but that didnt bother us as we didnt even look twice at it) Lahaina town is so beautiful and all the 'locals' we met was more than accomodating even if they werent working :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaToya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Aloha! Thank you for the 5-Star review. So happy you enjoyed the resort, and Maui, and we hope we can welcome you back again in the future. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The hotel resort is very nice. Rooms were quite spacious and always clean. Parking and hot tub were not at the hotel and had to walk a small distance to get to. The staff upon checking in were very polite. there always seemed to be that distance that we got from some of the staff that were hawaiian as we seemed to be bothering them as they rarely smiled or made notice of us. Those of the staff that we spoke to who came from the states were much more friendlier to us. The 2 free mai tais per day were a major plus and the luau is definatly a must see as the food is great and the show is fabulous. Access to the beach is fantastic as some of the area has no beach at all. You have a very good chance of swimming with sea turtles and don't expect to find seashells as there were hardly any on the shore. We were on the 7th floor and had a great view of the sunset and ocean. The entertainment was great and adds to the experience. All in all, we will be back and look forward to bringing others to this resort.

Room Tip: Try the mahi mahi and sirloin in the restaurant. Was so good I ordered another the next day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronc6058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Aloha! Thank you for the review of your recent stay. Happy to read that you enjoyed the resort and plan on coming back and bringing others...that is the best compliment that we can receive. We will look forward to welcoming you back. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We spent 8 nights on the 12th floor with a ocean front balcony room, it was exceptional. Upon arrival everyone was very nice, helpful and courteous. The room was very clean except for the very small ants, which later in the week did become a problem. When the ants became a problem a call to the front desk sent an employee quickly to our room to spray and clean the problem. Unfortunately, he sprayed the smoke detector which triggered the hotel fire alarm. The whole thing was funny to us but embarrassing to him. Within 3 minutes all of the alarms were off and everything was back to normal, minus the ants. I guess you need to expect ants on an island, it really wasn't a big deal. Remember, keep all of your food sealed in plastic bags in your room or you will likely have the same problem. Our room was always clean and tidy, although we did not always receive refills for our shampoo and soaps. One call to housekeeping sent someone quickly with refills. One time I can see the mistake but 4 times indicates someone is in a hurry.
The view and grounds are beautiful and always clean. We saw someone always cleaning or maintaining the grounds, no matter the time of day. All of the restaurants were good and the prices were comparable to most restaurants on the island, except for the Italian restaurant. It was overpriced for the quantity of food your received in the other restaurants on the grounds. The food was mediocre but wayyyyy over priced. Don't waste your time or money in this restaurant.
The pools were always clean. The luau was very fun and all of the food was great. The ice cream shop, main restaurant and buffet were very good. The parking is a bit of pain in the butt, especially when the luau is going on. Paying to park your car $10 nightly in very small spaces is head shaking. The spaces are so narrow and so many park over the lines be prepared to have at last one door dink from the tight parking.
One thing that was always constant was great service and quick response! We tried to speak with the manager upon check out to tell them of how well we thought their service was but we were told he manager was unavailable. I do see that the manager does read these reviews, so we offer our compliments to your staff!

One last thing that does not pertain to this wonderful hotel or its great staff, beware when going to Lahaina, more specifically near the banyon tree. We saw no less than 2 drug transactions take place in broad day light. One took place in the bathrooms near the tree and the second was in the ABC store. We saw minimal police presence so it appears that drug dealing is an accepted practice here. Most of the benches under the tree were filled with bums sitting or sleeping on them so don't be surprised by this site. Not a really good place to take young children.

I would highly recommend the Royal Lahaina Resort for your stay!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BMOCPittsburghPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Aloha! Thank you very much for the detailed review, it is very helpful to us and to potential visitors. So glad that you enjoyed the resort and the service you received at the resort. I will be sure to share your review and observations about your experience at the Banyan Tree in Lahaina Town with our contacts in the community and also law enforcement. The Banyan Tree Square is a wonderful and historical area for visitors to enjoy, many days featuring local displays of artwork and music, and we need to insure that we are all pro-active and vigilant in maintaining this special site. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,228 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,617 reviews
21.4 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
4.6 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lahaina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lahaina Resort

Address: 2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1992
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $208 - $578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Lahaina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Lahaina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Resort Maui
Royal Lahaina Maui
Royal Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Hotel Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing