We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Lahaina Resort
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Luxurious and comfortable”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

LOVED this hotel! It felt very luxurious, but not at all overdone. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, with very comfortable beds--and they even provided soft pilows (a rarity, even at good hotels).The hotel staff is helpful, and the atmosphere is perfect. The location is ideal--wonderful beachfront, but close enough to Whaler's Village and Lahaina to make those outings easy. I was happy I could get coffee and a muffin to go each morning at the Royal Scoop--it was so pleasant to take that outside and watch the ocean. One morning I went to a short presentation by the Pacific Whale Institute. An enthusiastic biologist told us lots about the sea life and the islands. My onlyl complaint is that the wi-fi signal didn't work at all in our room, but it really didn't matter too much--I could pick it up in the lobby, and it was good to be unplugged for a few days. I'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurag3023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Mahalo for the 5-Star review! Glad that you loved your experience with us. We have just installed additional routers/modems in our Tower this past week so the wifi signal should be better now. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,565
    1,455
    541
    271
    198
See reviews for
778
2,110
88
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (996)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed at the resort for 4 nights and got married there before jetting off to another island. We arrived late on our first night and staff were wonderful to us. After reading other reviews, I realized that we did not receive a layout of the hotel during check in either but that gave us an excuse to wonder around during our morning walk. The beach out front is great, not to crowded and if you want to enjoy the pool there's two of them with a great view.

We had a ocean view room in the tower on the 8th floor, excellent!! The room didn't have a microwave so that was a little bit of a bummer. My husband and I plan to go back and maybe get a condo for a longer stay. Overall stay, very wonderful. If you are getting married at the resort, Geraldine at the Romance Center was great! Nothing like getting married and not have to worry about a thing!

Room Tip: Don't get a room below 6th floor if you want a good view of the ocean if staying at the tower :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Congratulations! Happy to read that you were pleased with the resort and that all was great for your wedding. I will be sure to pass along your review to Geraldine. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Be sure to go for deluxe ocean view. Be aware there is no microwave but there is a refrigerator. Take the trolley to Whalers Village. The Trading Company good place to buy souvenirs. We shipped presents home. Went through Costco travel- good deal!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ddd1491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for the positive review! Glad that you enjoyed our location and were pleased with the value we offer. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at this resort for 7 days. When we first checked in, we were not given any information on the lay out of the hotel. We did not get Internet as it was an extra $10 charge per day, but they actually give you an hour complimentary wifi, we just didn't find out about it until the very last day. With that being said, the wifi was impossible to get on! Most of the time, we just used the computers at the Guest Service. We were told that we could exchange towels at the concierge as the towel place was only open 8-5. But when we left on an early morning to Paia, I was told they didn't give out towels at the concierge. The first time we went to get towels, the girls just started talking to us about booking trips and tours for 20 minutes even though we never asked. At first, we were being charged for valet parking for a couple of days, even though I specifically asked for self parking. But they were able to correct it for me quickly. When I booked through WestJet, I specifically asked for a room at a higher ground, however I was assigned a room only on the 4th floor. There is definitely some miscommunication going on here and wrong information are being given out. Even though it was confusing at times, our stay was great. The rooms were so comfortable! Housekeeping was consistent. The view was amazing and the beach was gorgeous! Just be aware, they don't actually have fridges, they have "mini bars", which are basically cooler that will keep cold foods cold. If you need to make something cold... Good luck!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cowina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Aloha! Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. Sorry for the confusion and miscommunication you experienced, but glad to hear it didn't keep you from having a great stay. We have just met with our Internet Service provider and additional modems have been added in our tower to boost signals. Moving forward free wifi will be available in our lobby areas and we will continue to offer free internet access, computer and printer usage in our Guest Relations office. In-room internet access will continue to be charged at $9.99 per day. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I decided to go to Maui alone to celebrate my 40th birthday on March 30th. I enjoyed the 5 nights i spent at the Royal Lahaina.. Staff was very accomodating and helpful.Beautiful view and very clean surroundings. Had my room upgraded on my arrival which i deeply appreciated and an upgrade to VIP seating at the Luau. If I had to do it all over again it would certainly be the Royal Lahaina Resort in beautiful Maui

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Aloha! So glad that you enjoyed your 40th Birthday stay at the Royal Lahaina. Mahalo for the 5-Star review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Royal Lahaina on our recent honeymoon, and we were very impressed with the accommodations. It was our first trip to Hawaii, and we definitely got the welcoming "aloha" spirit from everyone we came in contact with at the Royal Lahaina. My husband especially liked that the person at the gate always said "welcome home" when we drove in. We definitely felt at home during the 10 nights we spent there. It's on a great beach, the grounds are beautiful (with lots of exotic plants and flowers), and we especially liked the evening entertainment by the pool (a guitarist and a Hawaiian dancer most nights).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Aloha! Thank you for the kind review. Very happy that you were pleased with the resort and had a nice Honeymoon stay. We hope we can welcome you back in the future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We only stayed one night while extending our vacation before our condo was ready. Very nice location on a great beach and if it is your thing, shopping. Room could use some updating but very comfortable. Staff was accommodating and helpful in suggestions of places to visit during our stay. Concierge on property was not helpful for our needs. Breakfast was very good buffet but one had to always stay back to guard against birds absconding with your food while returning to buffet. That being said, the outdoor dining with an exceptional view, more than made up for that inconvenience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Aloha! Thank you for the positive feedback. Happy to read that you enjoyed your brief stay. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,073 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#15 of 32 in Lahaina
2,534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lahaina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lahaina Resort

Property: Royal Lahaina Resort
Address: 2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1992
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Lahaina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Lahaina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Resort Maui
Royal Lahaina Maui
Royal Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Hotel Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing