We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Lahaina Resort
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic View”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Valet service excellent. Staff very friendly. Suite was wonderful. Had a fantastic view fron the two decks. Very comfortable. Maid service had problems. Floor was very sticky, maids came up and cleaned resdue left from double side tape on marble floor left feom previous guest in a wheel chair. Towels and coffee were not fully restocked. When I called the front desk the problems were resolved.
Except for the maid service everything else was very good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank limobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Aloha! Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. Glad to read that you enjoyed the resort and accommodations. I will be sharing your review with our Housekeeping Department, so that we can continue to strive for improvement and excellence in all areas of service. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,539
    1,436
    522
    268
    195
See reviews for
746
2,083
88
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (975)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was told to check out TripAdvisor about the hotel I had booked, Royal Lahaina Resort. I read alot of negative remarks and was so worried traveling so far away and saving for our dream vacation. We arrived and It I said to myself, "ever again will I believe everything I read"....I am convinced there are just negative people and nothing is every going to please them. Royal Lahaina was just wonderful, wonderful service, very quiet (we were on the 9th floor, ocean view). How amazing to leave our balcony door open at night and awake to only the sound of the waves hitting the shore. We had asked for more towels to be put in our room every day and I never had to remind them. they were great towels by the way. The beds were awesome, so very confortable! The breakfast buffet was one we looked for each day, it had a wide variety of things for everyone. We paid for valet parking and had prompt service. I thought very reasonable, $21 per day gave us valet parking and 2 mai tai each day. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. The only thing I was displeased was the day I had to leave!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newcomer1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you so much for the 5-Star rating and the very kind review. We are thrilled every time we hear that we helped our guests fulfill their expectations of a dream vacation. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future! Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The best feature about this hotel is that it is situated on a spectacular beach in Maui, where you can walk for miles and miles, watch the sunset from your balcony. Modern hotel with all the amnities comfortable beds and ok breafast. the best way to get around is to rent a convertable mustang and ride around the island, no trafic jams, very friendly people greeting you with lei's, truly a pradise in the middle of the pacific ocean.

Room Tip: oceanview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Mahalo for the positive review. As you note, Kaanapali Beach, which fronts our resort, is spectacular. In fact, it was named the #1 beach in America and #15 in the world in the 2013 TripAdvisor Traveler's Choice Awards. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Upon arriving at Royal Lahaina we were greeted by friendly staff ready to welcome us! We were brought to our cottage that had an ocean view if you looked out the right window at the right angle. The very outdated cottage was disappointing. Although recently renovating their hotel tower the cottages are clearly left neglected, the kitchen was small and didnt even have basic necessities a hotel would typically have available such as dish soap, or salt and pepper. The beds were the same mattresses from the 1960's and so were the pillows. The bathtub shower combo was cracked and the wall sprayed water at you while you showered. Despite the rooms lack of luxury, or style the beach was great, the view was great and their Luau was amazing! Don't stay here for the room stay here for a place to rest your head while you enjoy the amenities Maui has to offer.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fleurysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Aloha! Thank you for the four-star review. Glad to read that overall you were pleased with your visit. As you mention, our cottage rooms offer a moderate level of accommodation as compared to the deluxe guestrooms and suites in our Tower and provide guests with a unique and value-oriented option in which they can enjoy our world-class location. I can advise that the furnishings and beds in our cottage rooms and suites have actually been refurbished and replaced many times over the years. At this time we are currently updating our cottages with a fresh new exterior color that we are receiving very positive comments on. I will review your comments regarding the dish soap and condiments with our Rooms Director, as these items definitely should be provided in our units with kitchens. Thanks again, we hope we can welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The Royal Lahaina was the 3rd hotel that we stayed in during our 3 island stay in Hawaii. We arrived around 12:00 to find out our rooms were not ready as check-in time was 3:00PM. That was understandable, but we were told to leave our luggage right inside the lobby doors and the luggage would be secure there. They didn't have a room or any way to secure our belongings. We were assured that someone was watching our luggage, but during our 3 hour wait, it was quite evident that nobody from the hotel was paying attention. Several other guests luggage was also there and anyone could have picked up anything at anytime.

Our shower had mildew in the grout. Gross! No fresh ice bag ever. Even when I threw the old one in the garbage after the 3rd day. I had to track down housekeeping to get one everyday.

We left our room very early on the 3rd. day for a morning of mountain bike riding. Upon returning to our room at 3:30PM, we found that our room wasn't cleaned yet. No fresh towels after a good workout was disappointing. When we reported that to the customer relations desk, we were told that housekeeping had until 4PM to clean our room. It was that late everyday. There were no cards that would let housekeeping know that we were out of the room and ready to be cleaned.

The total lack of bar service at the pool continued throughout our 6 day stay. We have stayed at all-inclusive resorts that had remarkably better service, and the drinks were included in your stay price. At $6 for a beer and $12 for a mixed drink, you would think they would give better service.

We had to pay $10 per day for parking; although the parking lot was so crowded, we had to park the equivelant of 3 blocks away from the lobby everyday.

If you wanted wi-fi, you had to pay for it. Really? Burger King has free Wi-fi.

To get to the pool/beach area, you had to walk through the restaraunt. It was great to see people walking through the restaraunt in wet swim trunks and fat bellied, bare-chested guys.

The hot tub is in the tennis area. Its big enough for about 4 people. With a hotel that holds probably 1,000 guests, thats prettyinadequate. Also, I could not find a restroom near the hot tub, so where do the people go? Yuk!

The staff was not really friendly either.

For our next stay in Maui, it will not be at the Royal Lahaina.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms still offered a good view of whale watching. I bet the ocean front rooms were a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesMoinesDudz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Very sorry to learn that our resort did not meet your expectations, as we truly desire to assist all of our guests in making the most of their Hawaiian vacation. I can advise future and potential visitors that there are restrooms located at our Tennis Ranch where guests enjoy the hot tub. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coaldale, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The hotel is very clean and most staff friendly , however if you have any dietary needs or any allergy this is the last place you want to go .

Before our trip I personally contacted the hotel to let them know about my allergy ,
the Manager himself replied that there would be zero problems, that they are used to deal with all kind of allergies and other food related needs .
That was not the case at all , all food contained garlic / seasoning salt and other spices .
Even when I ask the waiter/ waitress no garlic / seasoning salt on my food it all came with .
I got very tired of always having to go out to eat . Very disappointed . I even left a note to the manager few days before leaving the hotel , you would think He would do something about it nope not at all .He already had our business so He did not care.

Room Tip: The higher your room is the better less noise , we had a room on the 10 th floor . If you do book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tantesyl40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Aloha. Thank you very much for the feedback. Glad to find that you were happy with our location and rooms and that you found most of the staff to be welcoming and friendly. Very sorry to read that we let you down with regard to our servicing of your special needs as related to your food allergies. Normally we are able to assist with requests of this nature very easily, so I sincerely apologize for the disappointed you experienced. Our Director of Food & Beverage will follow up with you personally to review your experience in more detail and hopefully regain your confidence. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
192 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We visited Maui after Oahu with a family group of 10 people. We were extremely impressed with the newly refurbished rooms, and our "partial oceanfront view" was great - in one direction, the mountains; in front of us, the golf course; and the other direction, the ocean. Sitting on the balcony you could enjoy it all. The pool area is smallish but very nice and convenient to the bar, restaurant and beach activities area. In fact, while we were there we were having such a good time that we decided to extend our trip, but this hotel couldn't take us, so we ended up at the Hyatt; and we preferred the pool area at the Royal Lahiana. We also preferred the location, much quieter and away from the bustle of the Kaanapali Beach resort area. The food was good and not quite as expensive as elsewhere on Maui, and ditto for the cocktails. I really loved the lobby area and the grounds, also. The only downside, as noted by many other reviewers, was the parking for $10 per day. We always ended up a few hundred yards from the hotel at the back of the lot, but it really wasn't a big deal. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All of them are fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uptowngirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Mahalo for the 5-Star Review! From your profile ("Top Contributor" with 68 reviews to date) it looks like you are well traveled and it is definitely nice to see us making the top grade with you. As you note, our exclusive location and value are two of our key selling features that distinguish us from the larger resort hotels on Kaanapali Beach. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,987 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.0 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,489 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.8 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lahaina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lahaina Resort

Property: Royal Lahaina Resort
Address: 2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1992
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Lahaina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Lahaina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Resort Maui
Royal Lahaina Maui
Royal Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Hotel Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing