We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Lahaina Resort
Nearby Hotels
$407
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$335
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $372/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aston at Papakea Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
$249
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$412
$379
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $284/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$355
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$702
$536
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$386
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,406)
Filter reviews
4,406 results
Traveler rating
1,720
1,604
585
285
212
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,720
1,604
585
285
212
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagestower roomgarden cottagepineapple waterroyal scoopocean viewblack rockour honeymoonwhalers villagemain towerfree trolleybreakfast buffetbeach barwelcome homekaanapali beachbeautiful beachmai tais
Filter
Updating list...
2,315 - 2,320 of 4,406 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Upon arriving at Royal Lahaina we were greeted by friendly staff ready to welcome us! We were brought to our cottage that had an ocean view if you looked out the right window at the right angle. The very outdated cottage was disappointing. Although recently renovating their hotel tower the cottages are clearly left neglected, the kitchen was small and didnt even have basic necessities a hotel would typically have available such as dish soap, or salt and pepper. The beds were the same mattresses from the 1960's and so were the pillows. The bathtub shower combo was cracked and the wall sprayed water at you while you showered. Despite the rooms lack of luxury, or style the beach was great, the view was great and their Luau was amazing! Don't stay here for the room stay here for a place to rest your head while you enjoy the amenities Maui has to offer.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fleurysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Aloha! Thank you for the four-star review. Glad to read that overall you were pleased with your visit. As you mention, our cottage rooms offer a moderate level of accommodation as compared to the deluxe guestrooms and suites in our Tower and provide guests with a unique and value-oriented option in which they can enjoy our world-class location. I can advise that the furnishings and beds in our cottage rooms and suites have actually been refurbished and replaced many times over the years. At this time we are currently updating our cottages with a fresh new exterior color that we are receiving very positive comments on. I will review your comments regarding the dish soap and condiments with our Rooms Director, as these items definitely should be provided in our units with kitchens. Thanks again, we hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The Royal Lahaina was the 3rd hotel that we stayed in during our 3 island stay in Hawaii. We arrived around 12:00 to find out our rooms were not ready as check-in time was 3:00PM. That was understandable, but we were told to leave our luggage right inside the lobby doors and the luggage would be secure there. They didn't have a room or any way to secure our belongings. We were assured that someone was watching our luggage, but during our 3 hour wait, it was quite evident that nobody from the hotel was paying attention. Several other guests luggage was also there and anyone could have picked up anything at anytime.

Our shower had mildew in the grout. Gross! No fresh ice bag ever. Even when I threw the old one in the garbage after the 3rd day. I had to track down housekeeping to get one everyday.

We left our room very early on the 3rd. day for a morning of mountain bike riding. Upon returning to our room at 3:30PM, we found that our room wasn't cleaned yet. No fresh towels after a good workout was disappointing. When we reported that to the customer relations desk, we were told that housekeeping had until 4PM to clean our room. It was that late everyday. There were no cards that would let housekeeping know that we were out of the room and ready to be cleaned.

The total lack of bar service at the pool continued throughout our 6 day stay. We have stayed at all-inclusive resorts that had remarkably better service, and the drinks were included in your stay price. At $6 for a beer and $12 for a mixed drink, you would think they would give better service.

We had to pay $10 per day for parking; although the parking lot was so crowded, we had to park the equivelant of 3 blocks away from the lobby everyday.

If you wanted wi-fi, you had to pay for it. Really? Burger King has free Wi-fi.

To get to the pool/beach area, you had to walk through the restaraunt. It was great to see people walking through the restaraunt in wet swim trunks and fat bellied, bare-chested guys.

The hot tub is in the tennis area. Its big enough for about 4 people. With a hotel that holds probably 1,000 guests, thats prettyinadequate. Also, I could not find a restroom near the hot tub, so where do the people go? Yuk!

The staff was not really friendly either.

For our next stay in Maui, it will not be at the Royal Lahaina.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms still offered a good view of whale watching. I bet the ocean front rooms were awesome!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DesMoinesDudz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Very sorry to learn that our resort did not meet your expectations, as we truly desire to assist all of our guests in making the most of their Hawaiian vacation. I can advise future and potential visitors that there are restrooms located at our Tennis Ranch where guests enjoy the hot tub. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The hotel is very clean and most staff friendly , however if you have any dietary needs or any allergy this is the last place you want to go .

Before our trip I personally contacted the hotel to let them know about my allergy ,
the Manager himself replied that there would be zero problems, that they are used to deal with all kind of allergies and other food related needs .
That was not the case at all , all food contained garlic / seasoning salt and other spices .
Even when I ask the waiter/ waitress no garlic / seasoning salt on my food it all came with .
I got very tired of always having to go out to eat . Very disappointed . I even left a note to the manager few days before leaving the hotel , you would think He would do something about it nope not at all .He already had our business so He did not care.

Room Tip: The higher your room is the better less noise , we had a room on the 10 th floor . If you do book there remember the food is not the greatest ,and very small menu.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tantesyl40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Aloha. Thank you very much for the feedback. Glad to find that you were happy with our location and rooms and that you found most of the staff to be welcoming and friendly. Very sorry to read that we let you down with regard to our servicing of your special needs as related to your food allergies. Normally we are able to assist with requests of this nature very easily, so I sincerely apologize for the disappointed you experienced. Our Director of Food & Beverage will follow up with you personally to review your experience in more detail and hopefully regain your confidence. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We visited Maui after Oahu with a family group of 10 people. We were extremely impressed with the newly refurbished rooms, and our "partial oceanfront view" was great - in one direction, the mountains; in front of us, the golf course; and the other direction, the ocean. Sitting on the balcony you could enjoy it all. The pool area is smallish but very nice and convenient to the bar, restaurant and beach activities area. In fact, while we were there we were having such a good time that we decided to extend our trip, but this hotel couldn't take us, so we ended up at the Hyatt; and we preferred the pool area at the Royal Lahiana. We also preferred the location, much quieter and away from the bustle of the Kaanapali Beach resort area. The food was good and not quite as expensive as elsewhere on Maui, and ditto for the cocktails. I really loved the lobby area and the grounds, also. The only downside, as noted by many other reviewers, was the parking for $10 per day. We always ended up a few hundred yards from the hotel at the back of the lot, but it really wasn't a big deal. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All of them are fine!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank uptowngirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Mahalo for the 5-Star Review! From your profile ("Top Contributor" with 68 reviews to date) it looks like you are well traveled and it is definitely nice to see us making the top grade with you. As you note, our exclusive location and value are two of our key selling features that distinguish us from the larger resort hotels on Kaanapali Beach. Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The hotel was excellent. The rooms were clean and well maintained as well as the property. It's located on a beautiful beach where you can swim, sun bathe, or watch for whales as they pass by. The food was excellent and service friendly. My only objection was the fee for parking my rental vehicle there. The fee wasn't that high ($10 a day) but you would think if they wanted you to stay at their hotel you could at least be able to park your vehicle with out a fee. Oh well I guess that's how they do things in Hawaii. All and all it was a great place and we would stay there again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Mahalo for the great review. Glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope we can welcome you back soon. With regard to the parking, as you note, it is common for the hotels and resorts on Maui to have an ala carte charge for parking rather than adding it on to the cost of the room. At $10 per day the Royal Lahaina's parking charge is among the lowest you will find at any hotel in Kaanapali. Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews