We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly nice, but parking surprises.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Lahaina Resort
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fairly nice, but parking surprises.”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Our room was nice with the view being what we expected. The room was clean and quite plain (no little added touches). There was a nice restaurant and also fairly nice pools with water a bit colder than expected for a tropical climate. The beach was right there and a beautiful beach that stretched for a long way. The parking was terrible: no assigned parking, which is fine, but very difficult to find a spot, if not impossible on luau night, which seemed to be every night. The spaces were so small that there might have been one foot on each side to get out. Many people with nice cars parked way over the line and who can blame them. All that for a fee of $10 per night. We would not return as the 2 condos we had before were way above what was expected.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room on the west side in order to get some sun and sunset views; our room was on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your stay. Glad that you enjoyed the resort. Sorry that you found parking difficult. The lot does get busy in the evening when our popular luau is taking place and particularly when we are running high occupancies. All of our hotel guests are guaranteed a parking spot in our self parking lot (our bell/valet attendants can assist in locating a parking spot if you are having difficulty finding one) and we also offer valet parking for those who prefer this service. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,541
    1,436
    523
    268
    195
See reviews for
747
2,085
88
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (975)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Royal Lahaina is a beautiful resort; friendly staff, well maintained rooms and facilities, the staff at the tour desk are really helpful and the outlook from the ocean view rooms is spectacular!

As a young single (32) though I found this resort geared more to older couples. Whilst everyone is still super friendly you probably won't find a drinking buddy here to go bar hopping with through Ka'anapali & Lahaina. On the flip side, if you want to be close to the beach and have a really relaxed holiday this is the place to be!

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are great on the north side of the tower, I was on the 11th floor. There are un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trc80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Mahalo for the positive review! Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Springs, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Lahaina resort while in Maui, and it was beautiful. The rooms were spacious and the amenities were very good. The only complaint I have is the staff. We arrived very late around 9PM. We were greeted with a cranky front desk staff and told the room we had booked, partial ocean view, had been sold out. We were offered another room in a hotel 3-4 minutes away. Because it was late and we had been traveling all day, we declined. Suddenly, there was a room available for us. I really had to wonder what happened to change the availability of the room in the 5 minutes we were standing there. The following morning when we went down to breakfast, the hostess for the hotel was very curt, bordering on rude. We were told to go stand against a wall, and she would not answer how long the wait would be.

All in all, I would recommend the hotel, but would encourage the management to give the staff some lessons on customer service and politeness. The rest of our stay has been very nice however.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lfeagle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you very much for the feedback on your visit. The Royal Lahaina prides itself in sharing the aloha spirit and in assisting all of our guests in making the most of their Hawaiian vacation. I am sorry to hear that we did not provide the level of service to you that we are normally praised for. I will be sure to share your review and experience with both our Front Desk and Restaurant Managers and Associates, so that we can continue to strive for complete guest satisfaction. Glad to hear that you enjoyed our facility, and that the rest of your stay was very nice. We hope you will allow us a future opportunity to offer our services to you. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
310 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had an ocean view room and it was a show stopper. They tried to get us to upgrade to an ocean front, but our view was pretty incomparable, so no need to spend the extra money. The restaurant had a torch lighting ceremony every night at sunset that was unbeatable. And the musician and dancer were top-quality--so smooth and soothing. And the food was good and reasonably priced. There's a fabulous ice cream shop on the grounds as well. The pool is a nice size and the hotel is right on a beautiful beach. There is a boardwalk for a longer stroll along the beach, but walking in the sand

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room as close to the ocean as possible--no need to spend the extra cash for an oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spanishpeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Mahalo for the Five-Star review! Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2013

My wife,daughter and myself stayed at this wonderful resort from Jan 29-Feb 6. we were greeted as family every time we returned from an outing. We stayed in an oceanfront cottage near the Tiki Bar and swimming pool and we were amazed at how wonderful the grounds are kept and how warm and inviting the staff are. This trip was long in the planning (for my 50th birthday)and worth every penny. You can infact make it a package deal through AATPA Travel, which takes the worry out of planning much of your stay. I can't wait until the next time I can enjoy this excellent resort again.

Room Tip: Cottage A is next to the restaurant/bar and can be a bit noisy, but is quiet by 9.00pm. A/C for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for selecting the Royal Lahaina to celebrate your 50th with your family and for the favorable review! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit! Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed Jan. 30 through Feb. 7. As we drove into the resort we were met by an employee at the gate. He asked us how he could help and when we said we were checking in he gave us a warm and friendly smile. He explained where to go and park and in parting said, "Welcome to your home". Everytime we returned that week we were greeted at the gate by a smiling face and a warm "Welcome home". The staff was top notch and everywhere you looked you found a smiling face willing to help. The bar staff was great and we were able to see breaching whales from the Lanai. The room was clean and bed was comfortable. We did need to request an additional blanket. The hotel is beach front and the sand and water was clear and clean. A great trip. The Luau on property was excellent as well. There is no spa or fitness center on property. They do recommend a massage business and gym nearby. The massage business was great as well.

Room Tip: We booked an ocean view but it was a partial view of the ocean and golf course. If you want a full o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for the review. Nothing pleases us more than hearing from our guests that they were happy with the service received from our family of associates and felt our Aloha. Glad that we could help you make the most of your time here on Maui!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
176 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Have been to several Hawaiian islands and resorts over the past few years,and the Royal Lahaina was recommended by friends who go every year. Based on previous reviews we were concerned about this being a worn-out property. Upon arrival we were delighted with a newly updated oceanfront room in the tower. The room did not have much lounging area, other than on the balcony, but was fine for us as we are not in the room much during the day. They don't allow beach chairs to be taken to the beach, but there are plenty of lawn and pool areas for relaxing. The beach worked great for morning swimming, but while we were there the waves and current got strong in the afternoons. Our main complaint was the parking situation. When the luau crowd was there, parking was difficult. We did walk to Whaler's Village several times, which is about a 15 minute trip. For the cost and location we will return here.

Room Tip: If you want a full ocean view, choose oceanfront. Our oceanfront corner room had an additional set...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Mahalo for the review. So glad you took your friends advice and selected the Royal Lahaina, please thank them for us! Parking can get busy during the evening luau and particularly when the hotel is running at full occupancy, however all of our hotel guests are guaranteed parking availability. For those who prefer the convenience, we do offer valet parking for $5 additional. We look forward to your return! Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,988 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.0 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,491 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.8 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lahaina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lahaina Resort

Property: Royal Lahaina Resort
Address: 2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1992
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Lahaina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Lahaina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Resort Maui
Royal Lahaina Maui
Royal Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Hotel Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing