We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“25th Anniversay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Lahaina Resort
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We traveled to Maui for the first time and stayed at the Royal Lahaina for 10 days. We couldn't have been more pleased with the resort and the staff. Everyone was very friendly and helpful.We renewed our wedding vows and the coordinator Jen was simply the greatest. Whenever we had a question prior to our travel she got right back to us. We can't wait to return. Close to everything but far enough away to be peaceful.

Room Tip: We had a partial ocean view room . Views of both the ocean and the mountains. Stayed on the 8th floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,181 - 2,187 of 4,173 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were celebrating our daughters 18th birthday with her first trip to Hawaii, so we wanted it to be special for her. We picked the Royal Lahaina Resort because of the location and the value. Driving up to the resort was beautiful, the grounds are perfect and really gave us that welcome to Hawaii feel. The staff greated us with a very warm welcome and were very helpful. We chose to stay in the tower and booked a garden view room. Once we arrived for check in they upgraded us to a partial ocien view room on the sixth floor, facing south, for free. The room was very nice, with beautiful wood accents, nice furnishings, great decor, and the view was unbelievable. From our room we could see the beach and ocean, with the island of Lanai in the distance and the Maui mountains in the other direction with the tropical resort grounds in between, exactly what you want to wake up to every morning while in paradise! The resort restaurant/bar was perfect for sitting by the pool in the evening having a drink and listening to live music, very relaxing, and great for meeting other guests or chatting with the bartenders. And the flat bread pizza was increadible!! We went to the on site ice cream/coffee shop for a light breakfast of bagels and pastries most mornings and returned for a light lunch of sandwich's and fruit on a couple days. The grounds are beautiful, with two pools to lounge around or sit on the beach and swim in the ocean. The location of the resort is perfect, being on the paved beachwalk path that goes down past black rock. We walked the path everyday, often times stopping to snorkel at black rock and going to dinner or shopping at whalers village. One of the great moments for us, was when we drove to Lahaina for a day, upon returning to the resort, the gentleman at the entry/guard building smilled at us and said "welcome home" as we drove in. That was exactly how we felt and he made us feel so welcome and relaxed. We had planned to take our son to a different island when he turns 18, but after staying at the Royal Lahaina Resort, we have decided we will be coming back to this resort so that he can enjoy the same amazing experience that we did. Everything about it was what we wanted our Hawaiin vacation to be.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in a tower suite with our two teenage children. Nice room but small. Tight fit for four on two double sized beds which were uncomfortable. Pool and beach were wonderful. Lots of beach to walk on and great snorkeling 1/2 mile down the beach. Food was OK and pricey. We went to Front Street in Lahaina for breakfast and dinner everyday. Fun place to walk around and people watch. Wifi was $10 a day and was horrible. My husband had a hard time connecting most of the time for work purposes. Staff was not overly friendly.

Room Tip: Oceanfront tower room your best bet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hschmidt67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvetteK2780, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your candid feedback. We are happy you take the time to let us know how we can improve and we are currently trying to correct the issues you have brought to our attention. We do have a beautiful resort theat has 511 rooms. We are more then 85% full year round and sometimes makes it a little more difficult to continue our perventative maintenance program that we do through out the year. Our Wi- Fi is an open network that is handled by an outside company. There is a 1-800 number in the desk drawer that a guest can call (free of charge) and they speak to a pleasant tech that will help them connect right away . We are currently in the process of adding more than 20 new modems to help speed this process. I'm sure you would be pleasantly surprised on your next visit if you decide to let us regain your confidence in our wonderful property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed 9 nights in a tower suite, facing the ocean and the West Maui Mountains. Able to catch sunrise over the mountains AND sunset over the island of Lanai from the corner wall of windows in the master bedroom. We turned off the ac and left the sliding doors open all day and night to the air and sound of the waves. The one-bedroom suite was fine for our family of 4 (2 teens, on a roll-away and a pull-out), with 2 lanais and 2 full baths--the master bath is huge, with a dressing area, and wonderful double raised sinks. The on-site restaurant was great for meals in the dining room, around the pool, or upstairs in our suite; the restaurant/bar staff very friendly and warm, the food thoughtfully prepared. Eventually we settled into buying light breakfast at the on-site coffee/ice cream shop (fruit & yog parfaits!). Loved the iced pineapple water in the lobby, which, like the rest of the RLR, is elegant, understated, comfortable. Beach Activities people were helpful with suggestions and could answer all kinds of questions about wildlife, recreation, even restaurants. Gift shop was full of great stuff, as well as handy for convenient groceries and drinks to buy for our in-room fridge. (POG!) Yes, parking was tight, but we found a spot every night, even when the hotel was full. Grounds were lovely. I can't think of a single hotel employee who was not friendly or helpful. I suspect this is not a hotel for those who appreciate glitz and glitter, as the RLR feels more like the old Hawaii; quiet, dignified, understated, and easy. We will return.

Room Tip: Corner ocean-facing suites in the tower are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauriemiok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Wow Maui is really a paradise! My wife and I made our first trip to Maui this Christmas and stayed at the Royal Lahaina Resort. Friends of ours who have made the trip to Hawaii three times recommended the hotel and even though they were not as bleak about the cottages as many reviewers are we elected to stay on the 5th floor of the towers in a room with a "partial ocean view". We had a great view of the ocean from our balcony and didn't miss the serious up charge for a room with a full west exposure. The room was well appointed, clean, and quiet. There is a nice small refrigerator and room safe included in the basic charge. We did find that most of Maui is "ala Carte". There is a $10 per day charge to park your rental car and an additional $5 daily fee for valet service. We loved the valet service. The attendants were great and had intimate knowledge of the local surroundings. We would have missed two wonderful mountain drives without their recommendations. Food and drink are pricy all over the island but we found the Restaurant and bar charges similar to those at places outside the resort. There is a gem of a place on site that is promoted as an ice cream parlor but is more a "Starbucks" that sells ice cream on the side. There you can purchase coffee, tea, breakfast rolls, and deli sandwiches at very reasonable prices. My wife and I like to eat at least one lighter meal a day and found this shops food excellent and reasonably priced. The beach in front of the hotel goes for miles in both directions and is truly beautiful. There was a daily charge for a "sand chair" (again the "ala carte" issue) so if we return I plan to stop at the Kmart near the airport and buy two folding chairs that I won't feel bad about leaving at the end of our stay. The hotel does provide a very adequate number of free lounge chairs but they are restricted to the lawn area off the beach itself. There are three activity centers on site and you can book any kind of day trip you are looking for at any one of them. We booked whale watching, a helicopter tour, and diving and snorkeling from the hotel and had no problems with any of the reservations or experiences. The trips were all great and lived up to the agent's descriptions. Another neat feature is the paved "beach walk" that runs from the hotel in both directions. There is a very nice retail area called "Whalers Village" that is an easy 15-minute walk from the hotel where you can find nice shops and some great restaurants. After dinner we jumped on the free trolley and rode it back to the hotel. We had a good experience at the Royal Lahaina and were able to give honest thanks to our friends for recommending it to us.

Room Tip: I really felt that we got a great "ocean view" from the 5th floor partial view room and sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALLENRHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed in the main building. Nice room although slightly outdated. Parking is a real problem Eventhogh you paid for parking you can find yourself driving around for a long while to locate a vacant spot. Evenings are the most difficult.
The staff is the most sour faced unsmiling bunch I ever encountered at hotels. Had problem with bedside lamp that took more than 24 hours to fix.
Breakfast was nice and varied.

Room Tip: Take valet parking or do not use a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafib1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvetteK2780, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Our Lahaina Kai Tower is a beautiful 12 story tower that was renovated in 2005. Furnishing are a beautiful dark wood and a very modern feel. We are located right on the Kaanapali beach. Whale season has arrived and our friends are seen daily. We do pride ourself on our associates and their ablility to make our guest feel like part of their ohana. The Aloha spirit is still alive at our resort :0)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We got there a bit early and they offered to give us a "free upgrade" from our ocean front rooms to a cottage. Little did we know that it was actually a downgrade, it wasn't what they made it seem. The rooms are old and poorly maintained, the outdoor facilities were ok. Way over priced for the type of hotel.

Room Tip: Do not get the cottage!! Ocean view rooms in the tower seem like a better option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UndrCvrTalent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,284 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,633 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,184 reviews
4.6 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lahaina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lahaina Resort

Address: 2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1992
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $236 - $724 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Lahaina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Lahaina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Resort Maui
Royal Lahaina Maui
Royal Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Hotel Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing