We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Lahaina Resort
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Warren, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

A great place to stay. Relaxing. Beautiful and just all around wonderful. We were celebrating our 50th anniversary and managment had a card in our room for a complementary photo. A very nice touch, and much appreciated. The bed was comfortable. The view was refreshing and soothing. We could see both ocean and mountains. The breakfasts were great,as was the service. The flowers were absolutly gorgeous. We had a wonderful time and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvetteK2780, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Happy 50th Anniversary!! We wish you many mores years of Love & Aloha. Until we meet again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,514
    1,404
    509
    261
    195
See reviews for
725
2,037
87
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (955)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here during our honeymoon, though, so it was a pretty memorable vacation.
The pros--the view from our "partial view" room couldn't have been nicer. We saw both the mountains and the water. We also loved that the hotel is towards the end of the line of hotels. It is therefore a little more secluded, and you have fewer passerby from other hotels wandering by you at the pool.
The cons--Parking during a luau was difficult. You really need to time your arrivals well before or after them, or expect a crazy lot and a walk. The hotel also lacked some amenities--the tennis courts are fine, but we don't play tennis. A gym would be nice. So much of the hotel space is also taken up with activities desks or other various ways to sell you something, and the emphasis on this was rather offputting. We even tried to get stamps at one of the shops, and the clerk told us there was a "service fee" "for our convenience." It was only a few cents, but very indicative of our whole experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PackerFanAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvetteK2780, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Aloha and thank you for your review. We are happy to see you enjoyed your vacation with us. Our luau is 6 days a week and parking does get a little full during the hours of 5:30p-8p. Our Bellman in the lobby are always available to follow you with a golf cart and assist in finding a spot and bringing you back to the lobby or cottage area. Our Royal Trading Co. does supply our guests with and many shop items for easy access, it is my understanding the post office charges us a fee when we order stamps through them. I hope you will return in the future and enjoy our beautiful resort and Island of Maui.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I did a tour of the Hawaiin Islands in October and this was by far my favourite hotel of the tour. The rooms are gorgeous and very comfortable with a side sea view of the beautiful Kaanapali Beach which was an added bonus. The only issue is having to queue for breakfast which I think is very unnecessary but other than perfect. I would definately return if the opportunity arose in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvetteK2780, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for your great review! We hope to see you return to our beautiful resort. Please follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook to watch for great deals and events going on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Great hotel for pure quiet and relaxation as it is away from main resort by about 10 minutes! One restaurant on site with good food and nice entertainment - if staying in Maui recommends hiring a car and driving the road to Hana - amazing!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Essex18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvetteK2780, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words and please follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook to watch for great specials and exciting events. Aloha................
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I purchased a package on Groupon for The Royal Lahaina's other property, Kaanapali Ocean Inn (detached from the main resort) and it was AWFUL! When I complained to the front desk a manager came out to inspect the room and was more than happy to upgrade us to the tower the following night. We were moved to a more livable room for the night then upgraded the following day. The room was lovely, the bed was incredibly comfortable and we were within walking and driving distance to many activities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhiannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvetteK2780, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Aloha & Mahalo for your review. We hope you come back and visit us soon. Please like us on Facebook and look for upcoming special in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We initially stayed in an ocean view room, it was a little small but had a decent view. We then upgraded to a corner suite on the 10th floor. This was the most amazing view we have ever seen. You are able to look to the left and see black rock and Lanai then turn to the right and see Molokai. The beach is the best thing this resort has going for it. It is never close to being crowded. Their is an excellent snorkeling spot about 200 yards to the north, I think infront of the Westin Villas. The reef is great, don't step on it. We swam with a massive turtle and saw so many fish. I think the snorkeling is better right off the beach than in Molokini crater. Make sure you do lots of snorkeling when in Maui. The pool is small but don't go to Maui if you want to just sit at a pool. You are able to take a 20 min walk to whalers village, a small portion of the walk is not well lit. We never ate at the Hotel, the food ratings are very low, but their is so much excellent food around. Our favorite part was coming back to the Hotel and hearing the gatekeeper say "Aloha welcome back home" in a Hawaiian accent. A word of warning they will be beginning construction on condos in place of the cottages so look for the constrution start date.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Ocean front or suite the view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skippington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We liked this hotel as it is so peaceful and set well back from the main road. Our room had a comfy bed and modern fittings whilst the bar looks out onto open seas and knocks up some of the best frozen piña coladas we have ever tasted! The beach is just seconds away down some wooden steps and almost feels like your very own private stretch of sand as hardly anyone is around. They also have a free lighting of the lights show every evening at sunset with hula dancers and music. Our only grumble is that there was no free wi-fi in the rooms. This was our second visit to Maui and I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddy041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvetteK2780, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Aloha & Mahalo for your review. We agree that we are a "Hidden Gem" in Kaanapali and that's what sets us apart from the large brands around us. We want you to fell like "Ohana" and enjoy everything Maui has to offer. We are looking into the free wi-fi for the upcoming year, but nothing has been finalized at this time. We do have free internet access in out Guest Relations office that allows our guests to utilize for 15mins. at a time. We look forward to having you stay with us in the near future. Please follow us on Twitter and like us in Facebook for upcoming specials in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,888 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.0 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,468 reviews
0.8 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lahaina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lahaina Resort

Property: Royal Lahaina Resort
Address: 2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1992
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Lahaina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Lahaina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Resort Maui
Royal Lahaina Maui
Royal Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Hotel Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing