We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful hotel, lovely beach location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Lahaina Resort
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Great hotel for pure quiet and relaxation as it is away from main resort by about 10 minutes! One restaurant on site with good food and nice entertainment - if staying in Maui recommends hiring a car and driving the road to Hana - amazing!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Essex18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvetteK2780, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words and please follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook to watch for great specials and exciting events. Aloha................

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,066)
There are newer reviews for Royal Lahaina Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,141 - 2,147 of 4,066 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

I purchased a package on Groupon for The Royal Lahaina's other property, Kaanapali Ocean Inn (detached from the main resort) and it was AWFUL! When I complained to the front desk a manager came out to inspect the room and was more than happy to upgrade us to the tower the following night. We were moved to a more livable room for the night then upgraded the following day. The room was lovely, the bed was incredibly comfortable and we were within walking and driving distance to many activities.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhiannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvetteK2780, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Aloha & Mahalo for your review. We hope you come back and visit us soon. Please like us on Facebook and look for upcoming special in 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We initially stayed in an ocean view room, it was a little small but had a decent view. We then upgraded to a corner suite on the 10th floor. This was the most amazing view we have ever seen. You are able to look to the left and see black rock and Lanai then turn to the right and see Molokai. The beach is the best thing this resort has going for it. It is never close to being crowded. Their is an excellent snorkeling spot about 200 yards to the north, I think infront of the Westin Villas. The reef is great, don't step on it. We swam with a massive turtle and saw so many fish. I think the snorkeling is better right off the beach than in Molokini crater. Make sure you do lots of snorkeling when in Maui. The pool is small but don't go to Maui if you want to just sit at a pool. You are able to take a 20 min walk to whalers village, a small portion of the walk is not well lit. We never ate at the Hotel, the food ratings are very low, but their is so much excellent food around. Our favorite part was coming back to the Hotel and hearing the gatekeeper say "Aloha welcome back home" in a Hawaiian accent. A word of warning they will be beginning construction on condos in place of the cottages so look for the constrution start date.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Ocean front or suite the view is amazing.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skippington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We liked this hotel as it is so peaceful and set well back from the main road. Our room had a comfy bed and modern fittings whilst the bar looks out onto open seas and knocks up some of the best frozen piña coladas we have ever tasted! The beach is just seconds away down some wooden steps and almost feels like your very own private stretch of sand as hardly anyone is around. They also have a free lighting of the lights show every evening at sunset with hula dancers and music. Our only grumble is that there was no free wi-fi in the rooms. This was our second visit to Maui and I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddy041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvetteK2780, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Aloha & Mahalo for your review. We agree that we are a "Hidden Gem" in Kaanapali and that's what sets us apart from the large brands around us. We want you to fell like "Ohana" and enjoy everything Maui has to offer. We are looking into the free wi-fi for the upcoming year, but nothing has been finalized at this time. We do have free internet access in out Guest Relations office that allows our guests to utilize for 15mins. at a time. We look forward to having you stay with us in the near future. Please follow us on Twitter and like us in Facebook for upcoming specials in 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The grounds are beautiful, the tower rooms are nicely updated, and the view from our balcony was amazing. We were greeted well by the staff at the front gate and in front of the hotel. The reason for the 3 stars is for the front desk staff and the fumigation experience. There was no acknowledgement that we were on our honeymoon (or any pleasant talk) when we checked in, even though our travel agent noted it on our paperwork. During the middle of our trip, our room key no longer worked. Instead of apologizing, we were grilled about what we did to make the key not work. Then she gives us a new key and goes right back to typing. No goodbye or apologies. I also think it was tacky for them to schedule our room for fumigation during the middle of our honeymoon. Their excuse was that it is regularly scheduled maintenance since it is a tropical area. Seems like better management could schedule bug bombs in between guests' stays. Parking is difficult to find (even in the off season) and small for even a compact car. We always timed our returns either before or after the luau since they take all the self-parking spaces. I would only stay here again if we were on a budget and got a good package deal.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank roashann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at the Royal Lahaina once again. Our experience was excellent the 1st time so we had no trouble deciding where to stay when travelling to Maui for our 2nd and hopefully not our last trip.

My husband and I stayed there from Sept 23-Oct 6, 2012. We booked our entire trip through Expedia. After a LONG day of flying and at least 24 hours with no sleep, we arrived at the RL. The partial ocean view room in the tower where they placed us was no where near as wonderful as the 1st time. My husband went to the hotel desk and reported that we really weren't satisfied. Giovonni was more than happy to try to change that situation. He spoke to the manager on our behalf and they placed us in the Lanai Suite. It was beyond our expectations!

The Lanai Suite is aptly named. It has 3 lanais. The suite had 2 rooms with beds - 1 was a sofa bed the other a luxurious king size. There are 2 showers and one of the bathrooms had not only a shower, but a soaking tub as well. 2 beautiful vanities in the large bath and a nice walk in closet. The room was excellent - beautifully decorated as well. We did have to pay a minimal upgrade fee per night but upon seeing this suite it was no problem. They had other choices for us as well, but this most likely was the "best room in the house" and a bargain too good to pass up. Did I mention it is ocean front?

The staff at the Royal Lahaina were as accomodating as they were on our first visit. The housekeeping staff were always extremely pleasant and did a wonderful job each day. Each time we passed a staff member we were greeted with a smiling face and an "Aloha."

I honestly cannot think of one negative thing to say about either stay at the Royal Lahaina. I only hope we are able to visit again one day. If I could pick at one issue it would probably be the parking spaces in the lot are tiny and are very scarce especially if you arrive when people are attending the luau. But other than that - our dream vacation was heavenly. We were so pleased with our room we hung around the resort and the nice beach for a great deal of our trip instead of sightseeing. We did sightsee a fair amount but relaxing was the goal of this trip and we certainly did that.

The part of Kaanapali beach in front of the Royal Lahaina is never crowded, another plus! It is also very clean. The staff around the pool area were very kind and went out of their way to please us. The only name I can remember is Austin. He was a pleasure as were the others working outside.

I know I am leaving out many more complimentary details. But as I said it was a relaxing and very pleasant experience. The "Old Hawaii" feel of the decor in the lobby is beautiful and inviting.

Do not be apprehensive about booking a room at the Royal Lahaina. You will love it. If you can afford it, I highly recommend the Lanai Suite. We can't afford it as a rule but the staff took a chance on perhaps no other requests for it during our stay.

Thank you Royal Lahaina for a memorable 2nd visit! Beautiful memories.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KYLamplady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvetteK2780, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Aloha & Mahalo for your wonderful review! We are happy to see you enjoyed everything Maui has to offer. Whale season is coming soon and the Lanai Suites is the perfect location to sit on the lanai with a nice glass of wine and enjoy the view of the whales passing by. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I picked the Royal Lahaina for our 20th Anniversary. We didn't want to stay in one of those mega-resorts, so we took the word of several reviews we read on Trip Advisor and booked here for a more traditional Hawaiian feel. I'm so glad we did! The beach was beautiful, the rooms in the tower lovely and though it said partial ocean view, we had a full ocean view from our porch. We also had the pool to ourselves most mornings. The Royal Lahaina is a very relaxing place to stay. The staff in the patio restaurant were delightful as was the live music and the torch lighting ceremony. We also found the valet parking attendants very helpful. The only reason I didn't give the resort a five star rating was the fact that the front desk staff was very indifferent, almost off-putting. This said, I would still highly recommend staying here if you want a lower key vacation.

Room Tip: Stay higher up in the tower and ask for partial ocean view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aleta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvetteK2780, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Aloha, we appreciate your recent review. We take pride in our customer service and making our guests feel like part of our Ohana. Please follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook to watch for upcoming specials in 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4,119 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,559 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lahaina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lahaina Resort

Address: 2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1992
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $203 - $508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Lahaina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Royal Lahaina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Resort Maui
Royal Lahaina Maui
Royal Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Hotel Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing