We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Lahaina Tennis Ranch- great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Lahaina Resort
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Royal Lahaina Tennis Ranch- great experience”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

I took a lesson, a clinic, and played a match at the tennis ranch during a recent stay in Maui (I did not stay at the Royal Lahaina Resort, so am only reviewing the tennis ranch) and had a very good experience. Kaz, the head tennis pro, was professional, knowledgeable ( and fun!) and quickly addressed (and hopefully solved) some issues in my game. The clinic was equally good, with 3 of us participating. Afterward, the pro shop staff arranged matches for me with some locals, which was a really great touch. Apparently, they watch you during your lessons and clinics and get "a feel" for who you might pair well with in a match. I would definitely come back here for more matches and lessons.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toastytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,553
    1,449
    533
    269
    197
See reviews for
763
2,100
88
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (986)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

My wife booked a cottage, thinking about some of the reveiws and we figured they couldn t be that bad. " Wrong" Told them we could not stay there and they told us there was nothing available. So they put us in there Inn which was worse than the cottage. It was a very long flight and our first trip to Maui, needless to say it was our anniversary also. No champane to make things feel better. We were then upgraded to the tower and loved it, other than four out of the eight days had to ask for wash cloths. Figured maybe there was a shortage or something. I suggest to save time since it is limited to book in the tower from the start. Althought some people seamed to enjoy the cottages it wasn t for us. As far as the staff some people were very nice others just a job.We had fun and enjoyed the tiki bar and the nice view.

Room Tip: Stay in the tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dale788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

My husband and I honeymooned here August 2009. Our room in the Main Tower was bright, clean, and had contemporary, Hawaiian decor. We were upgraded to a partial ocean view that just made you go 'ahhhhhh'! View of Molikai was amazing.

Room service breakfast on the lanai kicked the days off right. At the poolside hut they gave us good snorkeling tips—walk up to the Westin, and it's pretty cool. Pool bar is a fun afternoon stop, bartenders will share fresh pineapple as they slice 'em up, mmm. Most of the 'entertainment' we did was off the resort, which was perfect as we were looking for a stunning, relaxing beach to explore (check!).

Loved walking to Whaler's Village to check out Black Rock along the way to eat and check out the shops. Cocktail catamaran cruise leaving from Whaler's was AWESOME (Teralani). Trip up to The Plantation Course - Kapalua was gorgeous and very exciting for my golf-loving husband. Fun to have drinks and apps overlooking the course, stunning views. SANSEI is awesome for sushi, we also loved a romantic, beachside dinner at Pacific'O at sunset, highly recommend both restaurants.

Would come back to the Royal Lahaina!

Room Tip: Definitely stay in the Main Tower, and request a higher up room. Obviously ocean view is fabulous, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrisEliz39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Great hotel in terms of location and surroundings. The rooms were great and so were the overall staff. The only staff we had a concern were the three women that were at the counter when we checked in on New Year's day in the morning and the young girl who seated us at breakfast on the second morning. The one who dealt with us was rude, did not give us a lot of time of day and when we asked if room was ready her response was "No...you are too early.....you have to wait until 3 pm". When I asked if I should check back throughout the day her response "do what you want". It may not appear negative written but it was the tone and body expression that completely turned us off. It is so unfortunate that such a beautiful resort get negatively tarnished by the front reception staff. On the second morning we decided to go to the breakfast at the restaurant when we were being seated we asked the girl if we could sit outside closer to the pool. She rolled her eyes and proceeded to walk towards that area without saying anything. She was utterly RUDE!!! I was disgusted!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Location is great and so is resort just ignore the front reception staff...they are RUDE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edward F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

You cannot beat the location of the Royal Lahaina -- looking out to Lanai and Molikai, as well as the channel most frequented by visiting humpback whales who put on a show every morning (at least during Xmas week) around 9:30 am. Just up the beach to the north is a reef than begins almost at water's edge which offers nearly as good snorkeling for free as you will get on your $60 trip to Molokani. Also, there is good snorkeling just south of the Ryal Lahaina's beach, around the point, where you can also see an occasional giant sea turtle. We stayed in one of the cabins which was very convenient; you literally step out onto the lawn and then the beach; it avoids having to into the hotel and bother with elevators. The room was adequate for 2, a bit tight with two children, but manageable for a week; there is a small but useful deck on the seaward side. Staff was friendly and helpful; the Guest Services people were able to book us an inexpensive rental van that gave us great flexibility for a couple of days; the car rental office is a mile up the road with a free shuttle. NOTE: I wouldnt recommend renting a car for more than a couple of days -- one to go to Hana, one to go to to the top of Haleakala volcano; week rental are long and you don;t really need the car; you can always bus or cab in Lahaina for a fraction of the cost. One reason to visit Lahaina is for meals; we found the hotel restaurant barely passable. We avoided the overpriced buffet breakfast and bought bagels or pastries and fruit at the coffee shop. Basil Tomatoes -- a restaurant about 200 feet from the resort -- is very good; from 5-6pm, their prices are 50% off, an incredible bargain. There are some good restaurants in town that offer reasonable alternatives to the Royal Lahaina. The resport isn't luxurious and may not offer all the amenities sought by some who stay at a "resort," but its location (Kaanapali is the best beach on Maui, and there are those whales...) and affordability make it a very reasonable choice.

Room Tip: Try to book one of the cabins facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed in the recently renovated main tower at the Royal Lahaina Resort in December 2011. Our check in story is pretty similar to a review that I had read about the resort prior to our vacation.They made us wait for 1 hour after we checked in saying they were overbooked and were waiting for check out from a room.Then the cleaning services took some time to get the room ready.The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful though and gave us free upgrade.Hence worth the 1 hour wait.We were upgraded to the partial ocean view but still had very nice view from the room on 7th floor.
The room was very modern with some tropical Hawaiian artistic touches. The hotel is located right on Ka'anapali Beach . The beach walk is right outside the back of the hotel and can walk on either side.The watre is clear and the beach is well maintained.There is nice Italina hotyel Tomato Basil on the other side of hotel.The internet has poor connectivity and they charge 10$ a day.The guest services has usage of computer limited to 15min and also most of the times the server is down.Also one thing which annoyed me was they charge 10$ a day for parking even when you stay at the hotel.This does not make any sense to me.In the vening they have a seperate Luau parking but it still becomes difficult to find a parking spot if you come back late to the hotel.
The whalers village is closeby and the hotel has free buses to and fro.The travellers help desk is ok ,depends on who is there.Sometimes they are friendly but a couple of them just ignored us and kept talking on the phone while we were ther for 15min and just ignored us.
All in all with few good and few bad things I will give 3 stars for rating this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay at the main towre and ask for partial or full oceanview only.Be prepared to wait when u check i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank explore_enjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beloit, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We went to Hawaii for our first time in November. We booked on-line and chose the Royal Lahaina as our hotel. We were very pleased. The staff was friendly and accomodating, the room was updated, large with plenty of room for everything. We liked the option of having a refridgerator in the room and a large counter to make up lunches etc. When we arrived we were able to upgrade to an ocean front room which was very nice. The restaurant was good with a nice variety. The nightly entertainment was relaxing and we enjoyed sitting on the balcony and listening to the music We didn't do a luau but heard the Royal Lahinia's was considered first rate. The resort is small but what we liked is it was quiet and peaceful and well kept. You have everything you will need right there. If we go back we will stay again at the Royal Lahaina Resort.

Room Tip: Choose the tower with an Ocean Front if you can but all Tower hotels do have views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mad666181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,032 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.3 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.0 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lahaina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lahaina Resort

Property: Royal Lahaina Resort
Address: 2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1992
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Lahaina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Lahaina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Resort Maui
Royal Lahaina Maui
Royal Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Hotel Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing