We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Lahaina Resort
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We were deciding between the various hotels in Maui for our honeymoon and settled upon the Royal Lahaina. Our friends had offered us a timeshare at a different hotel for the same price, but we purchased the Romance Package at the Royal which turned out to be well worth the visit. The hotel was a 15 minute walk from the Whalers Village which is fine, since we're in Hawaii.

We spent a few nights in Oahu at a more high end hotel (Marriott Resort) and to be honest, I enjoyed our stay at the Royal Lahaina much much better. The restaurant at the Royal is good, the ambiance is nice, and we enjoyed the rooms. I enjoyed the roll-away wooden doors that block the windows at night. All in all if you're having a tough decision I would definitely recommend this hotel. Most of people's negatives I read in here I did not experience. The bed and sleep was fantastic, and I highly recommend getting the Romance Package if you're honeymooning. It was an extra charge but included the buffet breakfast each morning, a sunset catamaran cruise, and tickets to their luau, which I guess is considered one of the best on the island.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,519 - 2,525 of 4,147 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2011

This place was great. We stayed in a cottage which needs remodelling. The showers were OK and the bed was not great. But the resort and the cottage blended with the gardens and beach that made this the best place to stay. We also stayed in Westin, and this was more Hawaiian and more private.

The sunset and sunrise from the beach was great. Their restaurant has hula dance every night which you can watch from the pool. I believe their Luau is great since it attracts good crowd.

The housekeeping staff are very friendly. The front desk people are OK. They have a small convenience store and generally the people around are nice.

I would definitely recommend this place. It has nothing fancy, just the way Maui resort should be.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuPeru07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We really like the traditional feel of the hotel as soon as we walked in. The pineapple water when you walk in was quite refreshing. The Royal has their own beach that was never crowded. The room had an awesome view of the ocean and we heard the waves crashing all the time. No tub in room, but glass door shower. Yummy shampoo/lotion/soaps. Close but not too close to other main hotels. Walking distance to whalers (shopping, food etc) and quick drive to fun downtown Lahaina.

Pros: Quiet, secluded beach. Traditional open bar luau. Decent restaurant with live music and hula.

Cons: flat pillows, no bathtub, weak and distant hot tub.

Reccommend book package deal with AATPA. All inclusive= awesome honeymoon!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Warfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

i wasn't welcomed at all to this resort.the check in agent didn't even try to at least crack a fake smile.she demanded a credit card and i.d. and told me to read the back of the towel rental card or i would be charged a fee.felt like i was being "booked in", not checked in. we were early arriving so were told to go walk around and try back in 2 hours as our room was not ready.very surly.sat in the lobby and watched the bus load of people arrive about an hour later and all receive their rooms right away.hmm.i had booked this directly with the hotel 6 months previously. the site said to inquire about a free upgrade upon arrival.haha.i tried this when i went to see if my room was ready.of course they had no such room available but for fifty bucks more per night i could upgrade.no thanks, but nice try.valet dudes were alright,hostess at the bar/restaurant was nice.room cleaners were the most pleasant of them all.seems like staff morale is suffering at this resort???? resort as a whole was fine,beautiful setting and not terribly loud or busy.it is sad though when you arrive at a resort and are treated like you are inconveniencing them by staying there.unfortunate, but for that reason alone i will stay elsewhere when i return to beautiful maui.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

I didn't look into a place to stay in Maui until the day of arrival. I booked through a third party site and the resort I was given was The Royal Lahaina. Upon arrival I was happy with the outlook of the property. When checking in I was given a complementary upgrade to an ocean view room. The staff was very very friendly and really helpful. The hotel is kept up very well and clean.
I loved the room. The decor and set up of them were great and provided a nice beachy feel.
The room had a mini fridge so if you were interested in heading to the local grocery store there is a place to keep your items cold. The room had a opened balcony with a beautiful view.
The hotel is right on the beach and has a nice pool as well. Its a close drive to the downtown Lahaina area.
Very happy with my stay here, would stay again on a visit to Maui, I recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ctraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Well let me keep this short by saying that I have only been back for about 12 hours, so this is very fresh in my mind. The Royal Lahaina is probably in one of the best locations in Maui. It is located within feet of some of the best snorkeling that you have ever experienced. Sunsets are perfection! We have stayed here twice now, once in the hotel and once in the cottages. The cottages are rundown and in definite need of an upgrade, but the garden setting and private lanai really make it worth it. The cottages also have paper thin walls and ceiling, so it makes them more susceptible to outside noise. As far as the restaurant, it is a real "must miss" in my book. I had the worst breakfast of my life there and paid handsomely for the pleasure. If you want food, walk a couple of hundred feet up the Beach Walk and eat at the Castaways Cafe (awesome with good prices). All in all the Royal Lahaina is a good place to stay in a fantastic location.

Room Tip: The cottages are old, but nice. The garden views are very tranquil and relaxing. The upper floors do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ralfeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Royal Lahaina Resort in September 2011 for our honeymoon. Our vacation to Maui was a dream come true. Checking in was quick and the staff was always friendly and helpful. Because we were honeymooners we received an upgrade of an ocean view room (we booked a partial view) and a complimentary bottle of champagne (which was much needed after a long day of traveling). We were on the 11th floor facing the cottages and golf course. The views were incredible at all hours of day. Our room was spacious, very clean and we had plenty of towels and pillows. The bed and bedding were very luxurious and super comfortable. The fridge in the room was nice for drinks and snacks. The grounds and beach are fantastic with amazing views of the sunset. We added the breakfast buffet and are glad we did. We filled up on that each morning, ate a snack for lunch and went out for dinner. The luau at RLR was very nice. The food was delicious, the show was great and the mai tais and blue hawaiians kept on coming. We also ate at the hotel restaurant a few times. Our meals were excellent (I espeically liked the fish tacos and onion rings) and the service great. The ice cream at the Royal Scoop was almost as good as the ice cream we get in Wisconsin :) The pineapple water in the lobby was very refreshing after a day on the beach. We rented a car for two of our seven day stay. We booked a Dollar Rent A Car through RLR. A shuttle from the rental company took us to and from the resort when we picked up and dropped off the car. It worked great for us! An awesome thing about RLR is there is no resort fee (that is unless you rent a car in which it is $10/day to park). We talked with some people that stayed at the Sheraton who were suprised with over $400 in resort fees when checking out. No thanks. Royal Lahaina Resort is on the quiet side of Kaanapali Beach which made it very relaxing and enjoyable.We were so comfortable here that it truly felt like our home for the week. I do not have one bad thing to say about this place. It exceeded all our expectations and we can't wait to go back! We had the time of our lives and it was a great start to our married life!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,234 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,618 reviews
21.4 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
4.6 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lahaina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lahaina Resort

Address: 2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1992
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $211 - $717 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Lahaina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Lahaina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Resort Maui
Royal Lahaina Maui
Royal Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Hotel Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing