We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for Snorkelers!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lahaina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Honokeana Cove Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
Elk Grove, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for Snorkelers!”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is an excellent location for exploring the area near Lahaina, especially if you like to snorkel, as the cove is just steps from your patio. Each condo is unique, and some are more recently updated than others, so check the videos of each one before booking. The only drawback is the condos nearest the street are noisy at night, as there is some truck traffic along the road. Had to keep the window shut. There is a grocery store just up the street, along with a few restaurants and a dive/snorkel rental shop. (What else do you need for a Hawaiian vacation?) Overall we liked this spot and are likely to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    30
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
90
86
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corona del Mar California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Honokeana Cove is one of those little hidden gems in life that when you find them they massage your senses. You quickly succomb to Polynesian parallysis as you gaze out over the beautiful blue Pacific and the cove which is full of undersea wonders. Green Sea Turtles abound along with all the tropical fish you would find in an aquarium. The amenities are perfect for that ocean front BBQ or cooking in the kitchen of the well appointed units. Su Campos, the manager, and her staff make sure that your stay is hassle free with lots of the Aloha Spirit. If you want a genuine Hawaiian experience, Honokeana Cove is the place to stay!

Room Tip: Units along the south side get less direct late afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdmking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

After reading some of the reviews, it's hard to come up with something different, but I'll give it a shot. I don't remember when we started coming to the 'Cove' but we were welcomed by Su as if we were old timers and we still are. Not only by Su, but all the workers are friendly and helpful. They act like they enjoy working here and it shows in the landscaping and the cleanliness of the property. We like to travel light, but then we have to wash clothes and the 'Cove' has great laundry facilities and in each washroom is a small library, plus most of the condo owners have a nice selection of books. The Olympic size pool (just joking) is all that's needed, jump in, cool off and hit the lounges and the sun or shade. So you won't get tired of eating out, there are 3 nice gas fired BBQs to cook at, and have a drink while watching the sun set over Molokai. The condos are all equipped with pots, pans, utensils and dishes to cook most anything you desire. The best thing they have done is to put up a fence with 3 combination gates. This stops people from walking in off the street and using the shower, the pool, the chairs and lounges, which have been a problem in the past. The 'Cove' is close to everything except Hana and Haleakala, but they're a long way from any place on Maui. As for shopping, you have within 12 miles or closer, Safeway, Times and Napili market. Restaurants; The Gazebo at Napili Shores, Mamas Ribs at Napili Plaza, McDonalds at Kahana and there are 2 new ones in the area that haven't opened yet. Come to Honokeana Cove and we'll share our little bit of paradise with you.
Wayne and Dorothy Allee
Calif.

Room Tip: All the rooms are ocean front with lanais looking out across the cove to Molokai. We like #114.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dale1930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This complex is a a set of 3, 3 story buildings all on the edge of Honokeana Cove; a rocky beach with a protected, spectacular and safe snorkeling haven for turtles and other underwater sealife. The grounds have recently been redone and are immaculately and lovingly cared for by the cove's gardener and on-site care-taker. If you are looking for a quiet, lush environment with an almost private undersea aquarium at your doorstep, this is the place for you.
Each of the 36 suites (1/2 are 2 story/loft) face the bay with floor to ceiling windows all across the front and each have private lanais for all day viewing of the ocean and across to Molokai; whales, porpoise, sunsets and turtles ....

Room Tip: Every room has a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, BC Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This condominium is situated in the beautiful & tranquil Honokeana Cove in Napili. Unit #111 is a newly renovated 1 bedroom/1 bathroom condo. It is nicely furnished & has a gorgeous kitchen with granite counter tops. However one of the best parts is the Lanai/Patio which has a magnificent view of the ocean & overlooks the gorgeously maintained gardens & swimming pool. It’s a fantastic place to relax & truly enjoy the beauty of Maui. The Cove is known for its abundance of sea turtles. During our stay we went snorkeling & had an amazing experience viewing these gentle creatures. It was one of our highlights of our trip. Just a short walk away from this condo is a small store, Boss Frog’s as well as some restaurants. A short drive away is Napili Plaza Shopping Centre as well as The Kapalua Golf Course. Our travel plans in the future definitely involve another visit to this unit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
327 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The property is just spotless. A gardener works all day making this complex a gem.
We picked this complex as it was small, quaint and you can within minutes be swimming with turtles. If we saw less than 10 that was a bad day. lol Plus there are fish to enjoy, eels to see, eagle rays to admire as they 'fly by' and then of course why we came here, the turtles. The turtles will even beach themselves on the cove to see up close and personal. What a treat. It is just amazing.
The unit that we rented for two weeks itself was good. (211) It was clean and fairly comfortable. Since we stayed for 2 weeks, half way through, a maid came and cleaned the unit and changed out the towels. Nice touch.
The only negatives in the unit (and we have rented a lot of condos over the years) was only salt and pepper where the condiments provided. No sugar or anything else. There was not even saran wrap, or tin foil, a sharp knife,or any sort of containers for leftovers. Would this be a deal breaker? Probably not, it would have just been nice to know. But after experiencing this unit and reading others that had written in the book they left to write comments, saying how the unit is not being 'updated' even a little, we would look at another unit within this complex, as we will be back. Our grandson would love swimming with the turtles.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Misty58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPB
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a wonderful place to hang and enjoy the simple things of life. We are here for ten days swimming with the turtles and tons of fish. Easy access to the cove allows old and young to snorkel many times a day. The resort looks fab after all the renovations. Views for breath taking. Each time we come I hear many stories of couples who have come here every year for 20 or so years. Once you come you'll never choose another resort.

Room Tip: Ask for Su when booking. She will hook you up for a great unit. Aloha
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.3 mi away
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.4 mi away
Napili Kai Beach Resort
Napili Kai Beach Resort
#4 of 32 in Lahaina
838 reviews
0.1 mi away
Napili Point Resort
Napili Point Resort
#23 of 32 in Lahaina
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honokeana Cove Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honokeana Cove Condominiums

Property: Honokeana Cove Condominiums
Address: 5255 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9158
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Honokeana Cove Condominiums Hotel Lahaina
Honokeana Cove Condominiums Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing