We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If home was paradise, this would it”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lahaina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Honokeana Cove Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We have been vacationing at "The Cove" for 40 years. We keep coming back because we feel at home there. The unit we stay in, unit #103, is just secluded enough, beautifully decorated with a well stocked kitchen and you can't help but relax as you eat, read or just stare out over the water at the snorkelers, turtles and Molokai from the lanai. The new grounds are looking very nice and the staff always makes you feel welcome! Can't wait to get back "home"..

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 32825Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 221 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

Honokeana Cove Resort Condos are located on a beautiful small cove, filled with turtles and tropical fish, literally right off your lanai. We are regular visitors during the winter months because we also enjoy the many whale sightings that we can see from the cove. You are within close walking distance of Kapula Bay which is our favorite public beach on Maui. In the same area you have the Kapalua Resort Hiking Trails which are open to everyone. Honokeana Cove has a warm and inviting environment which is missing in your larger resorts. Many people our repeat vacationers, who come back for the LOCATION, the friendly reliable staff, and the clean comfortable an affordable units.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is our favorite spot in all the islands. The cove just steps away is filled with turtles, fish, beautiful coral, octopus...and is always an adventure. The property has recently been renovated and is beautiful. It is away from the hustle and bustle of the large hotels and offers a quiet, intimate experience. Eating on the lanai, watching the turtles and sunset with Molokai across the channel is truly paradise.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have been coming here every year for the past four years. Previously we've stayed in rental houses on Maui and at the fancy resorts, but this place is the best as far as we're concerned. "Our" apartment has been nicely updated recently, and the apartment is very comfortable, but we never have come for a fancy kitchen. We come for the snorkeling (and the turtles!), the fabulous view, the convenience to get to Lahaina, the laid-back vibe, and the nice people who run the place. If you like Hawaiian music, there's a slack key show each Wednesday evening at Napili Kai just up the road.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We've been coming to the Honokeana Cove every year for the last quarter century, and plan to do the same for the next 25 years..... The place is wonderful, the location is amazing and the staff is extremely nice, helpful, attentive and responsive. All of the units are in excellent shape, the grounds and the common areas (Laundry rooms, BBQ's, the pool and the grounds) are always neat, and cleaned daily. If your visit is the first time, you'll feel lucky. From the second time on, you feel as if you're home again. Hope you'll enjoy it as much as we do. Oh, and there's a weekly "Poo-Poo Party" on the grounds. If you wonder what it is, go and check it out....
Sam and Dalia

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dalia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We have stayed at HCC at least 15 times. Minimum stay ten days and up to two weeks. We keep returning because the units and grounds are very well maintained. The staff is wonderful. Sorry the ramp is gone as the snorkleling is wonderful.

Room Tip: Make your reservations a year in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My wife and I first visited Honokeana Cove on our first trip to Maui in 2000, and we've been back almost every year since, sometimes more than once, usually for two weeks in April. We have stayed a few times in other places in Hawaii - on Maui and two of the other islands - but "The Cove" remains our favourite.

We like the fact that it's a small, friendly and mostly quiet resort.

Although we now have our favourite room here, we have stayed in several over the years and they've all been very nicely furnished and well-equipped, although of course they're all different, according to the tastes of the individual owners. The location is beautiful - overlooking the cove, where turtles are always swimming, and out across the water to Molokai. In the early months of the year, whales inhabit these waters, which you can see easily from here.

The grounds are very attractive - lawns and colourful tropical flowers, with a nice pool area and just about enough shade from the various trees. The atmosphere is generally quiet and very relaxing, although the peace can be shattered by an occasional noisy group, especially in the summer when there are more children around. I would say it's not an ideal place for children to stay - the pool is small and there's really nothing else to entertain them.

We like to have a ground-floor room in the building that faces straight out (units 111-117). From these you have the best view out and also you can step straight from your lanai into the grounds. However, the afternoon sun does shine directly onto these units so in the hottest weather in the summer, you may prefer a unit on the side (which still have a sideways view of the ocean), which will be in shade in the afternoons.

But the thing we like most about Honokeana Cove is the friendly feel - the welcome we feel from "regulars" who we see every year, Su, Greg and the others who run the resort, but even people we've never seen before are always friendly and sociable - sometimes interested and surprised that we travel all the way from the UK to come here. Coming here always feels - as others have commented - like coming home.

Please don't come here expecting a glitzy, air-conditioned, super-luxury resort - there are plenty of those at Kaanapali, Kapalua and Wailea. This is better than all of these in that you will feel genuinely relaxed and welcomed here and will probably find you want to return year after year, like we and so many others do.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alan_from_Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.2 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
4.9 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4,330 reviews
8.6 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
8.3 mi away
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Best Western Pioneer Inn
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
971 reviews
3.2 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
2,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honokeana Cove Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honokeana Cove Condominiums

Address: 5255 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9158
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range: $118 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Honokeana Cove Condominiums Hotel Lahaina
Honokeana Cove Condominiums Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing