We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snorkeling Haven”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lahaina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Honokeana Cove Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We've stayed at this darling place on several occassions. The "COVE" is wonderful for spotting sea turtles, and the waves during the day are small....great for beginners.
Most beautiful sunsets, friendliest people.
The pool is beautiful, right off the ocean., chairs ...comfortable. Beds are great too.
Grounds are manicured beautifully.
Quiet and relaxing. Great location on Maui, close to all the great golf courses.
Every unit offers an outstanding view. Listen to the waves crashing into the shore at night. Beautiful birds, palm trees on the property. Had a great stay. Encourage other to stay there too.... you won't be sorry!

Room Tip: EVERY room on this property offers a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pinsey60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 218 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

This was our 5th or 6th trip to the Cove. We love it here, I don't think there is a "bad" condo on the site. Some are better (more modern) than others, but they are all good. The grounds are beautiful, but small. The one thing I wish is that they would make the Cove for adults only. There is really nothing for children to do here! The grounds are small, the pool is small, and it is a quiet place. And that is the way I wish it would stay. Take your children up to Lahiana, at one of the bigger resorts where there is stuff for them to do. And I do think this is more oriented to older adults. Just my opinion...... But I do love it there!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Winegirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

We absolutely loved our stay at Honokeana Cove. It is very intimate, and low key, which is excatly what we like to have when we vacation from our hectic schedule and lives. Yes. the property is older, but the grounds are well cared for, and the units are certainly well equipped. Ours had snorkeling gear, and beach chairs in one of the closets. The units don't have washer/dryers, but there are two laundry rooms with several washers and dryers and there was nobody using them at all when I needed to do the wash.

The setting of the hotel is very tranquil and private. The fellow guests and staff were warm and welcoming to our family of three children, ages 10,13,17. The setting of the pool is exquisite, with a view of Molokei and the ocean. All the units have an ocean view, and sunsets were a daily highlight. From our lanai we could see the turtles popping up for air, and whales in the distance flapping their fins. This condo is ideal for snorkelers, as it is set on a quiet cove that many turles live in. I snorkeled there every day, and always saw turtles on my excursions, as well as a bevy of other tropical fish and sea creatures. Turtles also sun themselfs on the pebbly beach of the cove, so even if you are not a snorkeler, you will have a great opportunity to see these graceful creatures.

The location of the hotel is ideal. It was easy for us to have a morning excursion to a nearby beach, back to the condo for lunch, and then back out for another adventure in the afternoon. Usually I'd top off the day with another snorkeling jaunt in the cove. It is a very short and scenic walk around a rocky point to our favorite beach, Napili Beach, and just a few steps farther to Kapalua Bay. Kaanapali is only 10 minutes south with its beaches and shops. Other outstanding beaches for snorkeling and boogie boarding are also within 10-15 minutes north . We enjoyed Fleming Beach for the waves, and enjoyed Honolua Bay, Old Airport Beach, Kapalua Beach, Sheraton Black Rock, and our own cove for snorkeling. Napili Beach occasionally has great waves for boogie boarding. Lahaina was 15-20 minutes away with all of its restaurants and historic sites.
Grocery store is just 2 minutes away, along with some restaurants, dive shops, coffee shop, and anything else you might need.

Each Wednesday propoerty organizes a pupu party where you have a chance to meet fellow guests at the property. Contrary to other reviews, I thought this was a GREAT place for kids, due to all the interesting creatures in the bay to see. There were several families there during our trip, and they all appeared to have a wonderful vacation. It rained one day of our trip, and we found sun just 15 minutes south. We have stayed at several condos along Napili Beach and also at the Napili Point, and we certainly found this one to offer the most for the price, and that is why we chose it. As with many condo properties, each unit is individually owned, and can vary in condition. With pictures of units on Utube, you will likely find a way to preview the unit you are considering, and decide if it is right for you. The only negative to this property is the road noise from the back bedroom, but the noise did not reach any other part of the unit. Chances are if you've been at the beach and in the sun all day, you won't notice it when it's time to sleep which for us was always around 9:00PM. I believe the road noise diminished around that time also.

This place felt more homey than most we've stayed at, and I did not mind at all not having daily maid service, and in a way it was nice not worrying about being out of our unit at a certain time every day for cleaning.. The management does provide essentials such as soap, dishwashing detergent, paper towels, etc., but bring your shampoo and lotion. Our unit also had a blow dryer. All in all, we were extremely happy with our choice of Honokeana Cove for our family vacation, and I would happily return, the sooner the better!!!

Room Tip: VRBO offerings, or call property and check Utube.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LolaKlug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

We stayed at Honokeana Cove last year for our annual vacation, having been to Hawaii every year since November 1991. We "used to" stay next door at Napili Point, but after a very Rude encounter after we had booked with a private owner. We then found out the Hawaiian Hospitality of Napili Point. The Maid we had most every year didn't seem to know us, the Office personnel was not helpful and reminded me I was not a paying guest! We had snorkeled out in front in the cove for many years, taking the short cut through Honokeana Cove back to N.P. After that very negative experience in May of 2007 I booked a vacation at Honokeana Cove. Yes, H.C. is different than N.P.no maid service, no washer and dryer in condo and the access to the lower level condo were fine. I am handicapped, but found walking up those few stairs fine. There are side rails. We were saddened by the loss of the cement walk path down to the ocean,but I found walking slowly down while touching the rock was just fine. We would recommend Honokeana Cove to anyone who wants a beautiful, quiet vacation. You can just stay all day, while taking dips to snorkel with the turtles and fish. Aloha!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mauimary_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

We just spent 15 days at Honokeana Cove. The property itself is about 40 years old and the buildings show it. In fact they are sinking (our unit has a 1" gap at the top of the lanai door caused by the building settling). But the location in Napili is excellent as far as sitting on a beautiful little cove with a superb view of Molikai. There are only 38 units so for Maui standards, this is a very small initimate property. The pool is nice and it is heated, which is a rarity in Hawaii. Snorkeling in the cove is very good as it is shallow and has good coral reefs for fish and Green Sea Turtles. This resort is walking distance to Kapalua and a short drive to all the action in West Maui. Su and Greg are very gracious hosts and work to help out vistors.

The negativesof Honokaeana are that all units have their bedrooms facing Lower Hohoapi'ilani Road which is very busy. This causes lots of traffic noise at night and early in the morning. Luckily when we were there it was cool enough at night to close bedroom windows to lower noise level (there is no AC). It is also sometimes a suicide mission to get out of the property and onto the road due to traffic. Some of the units need major work. We were in #108 and its has not had anything done to it for years. Others, we understand, have been updated nicely. In fact the two units next to us were being worked on (another negative as far as the noise). This is NOT a family resort. It does not have the room for kids to race around nor is the pool conducive to kids playing. The owners don't go out of their way to make kids welcome. It is a nice place for couples.

The Honokeana Cove is not the Ritz. But it is a nice place to relax in Maui with a convinient swimming pool and very good snorkeling with green sea turtles just steps from your lanai. Just ask a lot of questions about the particular unit you are looking to rent.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sage102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

This was our second trip to the "Cove" as we stayed here in 2002. Now I must be honest, we've got a good friend who owns one of the units and we rent this from them, but it's not the reason I'll boast of the "Cove". What I truly like about the cove is the amazing snorkeling right out your back door and the amazing views of the sunset from the units. The complex is an older one next to Napili beach (close walking distance) and has 1,2 and 3 br units. Each one is individually decorated by the owners, but are fully stocked for everythging one needs, great grills (3) facing the cove and the sunset and a nice pool and grounds. The staff here (Su Campos) is very helpful and friendly and the new Resident Manager is extremely nice and helpful (the other guy before him not so much, so disregard the previous comments about him). There is quiet hours, so don't expect to be loud and partying, but was perfect for us, our friends and their 10 year old. Again - you'll be amazed at the snorkeling! I almost feel guilty writing this as I'd like to keep it my secret!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank SWAUSHORN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alohaturtle, Manager at Honokeana Cove Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2010

I was glad to read this review regarding our new Resident Manager, Greg. Our last manager, Dave was not quite in tune with public relations. Our property is definitely now kid friendly. In fact, my return summer guests this year said it was their best trip ever with Greg now on staff.Thank you for your great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

We had a fantastic stay in room 203 at the Honokeana Cove Condos. The office staff were very friendly and upon arriving at our room, it was very nice and inviting. The condo had everything we needed for our stay and was a perfect location for sitting out on the deck and watching the turtles and surfers in the bay. We snorkeled with the turtles one night (and they were big guys). The condo is really close to attractions both North and South and we took day trips to check out the great banana bread at the green house up north - and to go snorkeling far south by the lava fields. I would highly recommend a stay in Room 203.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelingT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
4.9 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.3 mi away
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
2.0 mi away
Noelani Condominium Resort
0.3 mi away
Napili Sunset Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honokeana Cove Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honokeana Cove Condominiums

Address: 5255 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9158
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range: $118 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Honokeana Cove Condominiums Hotel Lahaina
Honokeana Cove Condominiums Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing