We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Ka Oi (The best)”
Review of Maui Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maui Guest House
Ranked #2 of 11 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 20, 2010

This is my 10th stay at the Guest House, and just that alone should tell you that I love it. I travel solo, and being a single female, find that this is the safest place to stay. I have seen the renovations over the years, and it just gets better and better! There is nothing like waking up to a breakfast of fresh fruit and English muffins, bagels or cereal. Great place to meet others, too, that you would never meet staying at a hotel. Have met folks from Australia, Norway, Germany, Canada, and the good old USA. The addition of a saltwater pool has been wonderful. There is always someone at the Guest House, and they will offer discounted activites, too. The owner is on premises, and the amenties in the rooms are the best--tempurpedic beds, hot tub in the room, dvd player, 42 in flat panel TV's, private bath. It truly feels like home! You can do as much as you want, or as little--and I really like the fact that I can stop at the local store and make my own meals if I so choose. Just have to ask about what things are good to do, if you want to see the sights, or where the best bargains are, or what type of activity is good to do. The Guest House embodies the true aloha spirit! We have had family potlucks, card games, movie nights, co-op puzzles--there is a true sense of what it is like to be welcomed as family here, and I would not trade it for the world.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mauibabe9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
There are newer reviews for Maui Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 406 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2010

The Maui Guest House is right next to all the action of Lahaina: resorts, shopping, beaches, restaurants; but is far enough away so that you can retreat to quiet, easily park for free, and avoid being overcharged for everything. The House is lovely, well-appointed, colorful, comfortable, friendly, private, with large rooms with all the comforts of home and more. The snorkeling recommendations and fin lending were particularly considerate. We liked Maui even more than we thought we would after staying at the Maui Guest House.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caryanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the Maui Guest House in Lahiana. It was an incredible experience, a comfortable, quiet room with our own in-room hot tub, a comfortable bed and a large bathroom. Sitting on the private patio at night was a delight as the fragrance of tropical flowers drifted on the evening breeze. In the morning we were offered fresh tropical fruits, tasty pastries and a bounty of every type of breakfast item you could desire. Our hostess was delightful, entertaining and knowledgeable about activities to do on the island. Each day became a new adventure. The free-to-use snorkel equipment, beach chairs and boogie boards were a welcomed surprise and better quality than ones we previously rented at local shops. The front patio offered several comfortable lounge chairs situated around a clean, pristine pool. We feel we have found our Home-away-from-home on Maui and look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrellandJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

Only few blocks away from Front Street in Lahaina, the rooms are beautiful with stained glass windows and is very very clean. The continental breakfast is fabulous with fresh fruit and bread. A deck with a new pool.Very accommodating! To us this is top shelf and we always come back here for our stay! Why stay at a fancy Hotel and spend allot more money and lug your belongings to room via the elevator and tipping the valet every time you come and go?The staff is awesome and will help you with activities available on the island.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobandCarol11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

Upon our arrival, we were warmly greeted by JJ and immediately taken on a tour of the home. She pointed out to us what was available for our use, and that was just about everything! There’s a washer and dryer, all the kitchen amenities which included dishes, pots and pans, appliances and whatever was in the refrigerator. They even provided snorkels and fins for those who ventured into the beautiful ocean! There’s a small but very nice outdoor pool AND a hot tub in our room! I loved the private enclosed patio attached to our room (this was where our hot tub was located). It opened up to beautiful landscaping that we could admire as we soaked in the hot tub. We could sleep with the sliding patio door open and get the cool Hawaii night air, or we could use the air conditioner should we choose to go that route. The home is immaculate and we felt very comfortable whether we were sitting at the dining table chatting with fellow visitors or at the lounging area by the pool or indoors. Key words to describe this home are “private”, “immaculate”, and “comfortable”. Truly, it was like a home away from home!

Because of the Hawaii law that prohibits bed and breakfasts to cook meals for their guests, we were served a continental breakfast each day; however, they do provide oatmeal that you can prepare on your own or whatever else you desired to cook, and the fresh tropical fruits were great!

One suggestion: When coming from the Whaler's Village direction, also turn on Fleming or the street just before Fleming.

They do need to update the picture on their web page. The pool had to be made smaller to fit some modifications to the site required by the local government.

Also, they are suffering the effects of the slow economyl. So please support this small business operation. Already some local B&Bs have gone out of business.

My wife was born in Hawaii and lived in Hawaii for 35 years. She was reluctant to stay at a B&B thinking it might be some personal home where you rent out a bedroom for a few days. But instead, this place is constructed so you feel like it is YOUR home that you are sharing with up to 4 other friends. Although, depending on your schedule, you might not run into some guests for several days before you meet them.

The décor and warmth of The Guest House with its managers, truly exemplified the ALOHA to our visit!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlackBerry_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

Do not miss the opportunity to stay at this imaginatively decorated, friendly, clean B&B. From our tour upon arrival from Tanna, to the ongoing hospitality, informaition, guidance on activities and fun, these folks hit the mark at every interaction. In addition to runnig a squeaky clean, lovely B&B, they prepare platters of beautiful fresh tropical fruit every morning, yogurt, baked goods-an extend an invitation to use the kitchen. We were able to use snrokle gear, beach chairs & towels, get directions to the best snorkle spots, and didn't have a single complaint in our four days there. Before our arrival, they helped us book activities in advance.

Each room has its own hot tub, flat screen, and gorgeous stained glass throughout the home provides both decoration and privacy. Spectacular thermarest mattresses, fresh linens, and more help than we usually see in B&Bs of this size. Of four places we stayed on three different islands, this is the one we'll return to. Mahalo to all at Maui Guest House!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WandJ75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

We could not have asked for a better experience. Tanna and staff provide service beyond compare and accommodate in every way they can. Their knowledge of the area and don't miss sites is invaluable. They even have complimentary water sports gear and an underwater camera to rent for less than many disposables. Our room was immaculate, spacious with lovely island decor. The common saltwater pool and saltwater tubs in each room help you forget you are not oceanfront. I'll post a few photos of some of the local area and sealife they sent us to. Thanks ladies this is an adventure we hope to repeat again and again. Aloha and Mahalo from Oregon.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CruisinThePNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
2.0 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4,119 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
2.6 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Plantation Inn
The Plantation Inn
#1 of 11 in Lahaina
451 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
2.4 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#19 of 32 in Lahaina
4,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Guest House

Address: 1620 Ainakea Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1806
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range: $211 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood between historic Lahaina and the beach resorts of Kaanapali, The Guest House is the perfect location as your “home” to explore the island of Maui. Just a block from Wahikuli Beach, enjoy phenomenal snorkeling.Guest rooms are setup for maximum privacy, each with their own hot tub, yet there is plenty of space to mingle. Full breakfast, kitchen, laundry, internet access, salt water pool, discount car rentals and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Maui Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Guest House Hotel Lahaina
Maui Guest House Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing