We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maui Guest House
Ranked #2 of 12 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Guest House is a beautifully decorated and welcoming place to stay. The staff is friendly and helpful. They have large screen TVs in every room and a large library of DVDs to choose from. The bed was super-comfy and the sheets very high quality. I was travelling alone and enjoyed the interaction with others staying there as we sat at the breakfast table together.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    28
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
36
262
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willmar
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Not only is this b&b super clean, filled with lots of convenient cost-saving amenities, and located in a safe residential area, but the hosts, Brad, Myra, and Teresa do an exceptional job making their guests feel welcome and comfortable. They expressed sincere interest in us and our travel activities. We especially appreciated the free usage of snorkel gear and beach/picnic items, the fresh fruits at breakfast, and being able to do our laundry right there. Great beach and snorkel sites were suggested. The in-room salt-water hot tub was so relaxing. We reallly enjoyed looking at the Hawaiian decor and beautiful stained glass windows each day. Due to our very late flight, a late check-out enabled us to enjoy the beach one last itme without worrying about packing up beforehand. Brad even weighed our checked luggage before we headed to the airport. We will never forget that we saw the most amazing fireworks displays going on in all directions right from the deck on New Year's Eve. We would highly recommend this b&b to anyone going to Maui.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We arrived after Christmas and left 11 days later. The rooms are costly, but you get so much more that you wouldn't get if you rented a condo. We were five in our party - 3 twenty-somethings and parents. The kids had one room near the front left of the house (not the greatest since the jacuzzi was in the room and no view) and parents had back room with lanai w jacuzzi and a view of the minimalist garden. Downside of the rooms was a lack of natural light due to so many stained glass windows -- the plus is that it's private and no musty curtains to smell. Our AC was noisy so we just opened our door in the evening and we were just fine with outside air. The house is pretty quiet - and they have a quiet time rule after 9 PM - might be hard to observe if you have young kids (not sure if they are encouraged here).

The pluses for a group of us traveling to keep other costs down and make our experience enjoyable:
- each room with a small fridge with a proper freezer for snacks, lunch fixings etc. that we got from Costco and nearby Safeway
- use of the main fridge, kitchen, condiments and other basics for fixing meals
- coolers and frozen water bottles to take along for our daily adventures
- beach towels, beach chairs
- snorkel gear: masks, fins, snorkels - in good condition and better than what you get on snorkel tours
- rental of underwater camera (decent Canon in waterproof housing) for just $10 / day
- free wifi (reception out on the deck wasn't too great, but fine inside)
- lots of movies to choose from for the DVD players in each room
- jacuzzi in each room for relaxing privately
- pool and lounge chairs on the deck in case you get tired of sandy beaches
- ability to use the property on the day you leave - our flight was late so we hung around the pool and deck as last attempt to get sun - and we were able to clean up before our flight.
- great staff - friendly and around but never intruding on your stay in the house - we did tend to sit out in the public areas due to our numbers
- neighbourhood feel -- not a resort area. Local families - especially fun on New Year's Eve when everyone had their fireworks going all evening. That was a night when the 9 PM quiet time wasn't observed ;-)

Great experience. Would recommend a stay here and would stay again on our next visit to Maui.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeontheweekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

When we arrived we were a little disappointed to be back off the water a ways. But once we got inside the accommodations more than made up for it.
The staff is friendly and informative. The room and bathroom were beautiful. We had a hot tub on our private patio. The house has everything you could possibly need. We used an ice chest for our lunch everyday. The kitchen has all the tools to make your meals, and there's a BBQ too.
The breakfast was just amazing too. The whole place is super clean too. (I am a clean freak!)
I highly recommend the guesthouse. And we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Psalm40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The guest house is big and has different rooms. There's one room that you might want to avoid, and that's a room in the center of the house. It has no windows, but it does still have a jacuzzi.

The air-condition is noisy, so it's better to turn it off when you go to sleep, and instead open a door or window.

The cold breakfast is quite good. The staff is extremely helpful and nice.

One of the best things with the place is that you can borrow snorkel equipment and they provide you with maps over good snorkeling places. They do also have other things that gives that little extra, a huge dvd collection, a laundry room (very nice if you have been traveling for a while) and discounts if you book tours through them.

The wifi was very reliable during my stay. I've had problems with internet connections on other islands of Hawaii.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the room that is in the middle of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lecce
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The guest house is very clean and the host is very kind. However, the price is really too high for what it is offered. Rooms do not have any view, the house is far away from the beaches and the downtown and in general you pay the price of a resort for a regular clean B&B.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SSPPSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Location is great. Easy to do all you want on the island. Cold breakfast was not really worth it. Airco unit in the room was very noisy. Also, the way rooms are allocated is not very fair in our opinion, as you can get a pretty small room compared to others on the property - so beware and ask for a floor plan when booking. We did not really care about these caveats as we spent most time away. Book with them the Old Lahaina Luau, as you will get a better price. Also some other attractions might be worth booking through them, but we had our own plan. We did the Molokini snorkel with Paragon sail. Else we drove around the island, first the north part on the one lane roads and then around the part with Hana. The Paragon trip is better than others, as you never feel the crowd on the boat. Not really worth doing the turtles snorkel with other tours, as you find plenty of turtles around Little Makena beach.
Guesthouse provides beach towels and gear, as well as plenty of info. Things are safe as there is always someone there.
Wifi is also there.

Room Tip: Very hot rooms. Airco is noisy. Try to get a room with garden, not only lanai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
2.2 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 3,446 reviews
3.4 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 stars 330 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.9 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Guest House

Property: Maui Guest House
Address: 1620 Ainakea Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood between historic Lahaina and the beach resorts of Kaanapali, The Guest House is the perfect location as your “home” to explore the island of Maui. Just a block from Wahikuli Beach, enjoy phenomenal snorkeling.Guest rooms are setup for maximum privacy, each with their own hot tub, yet there is plenty of space to mingle. Full breakfast, kitchen, laundry, internet access, salt water pool, discount car rentals and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Maui Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Guest House Hotel Lahaina
Maui Guest House Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing