We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place & hosts!!!”
Review of Maui Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maui Guest House
Ranked #3 of 11 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I spend a week there in October 2012, and would definitely come back if I'll ever be on Maui again.
Rooms are great, highlight is for sure the private jacuzzi in every room. Great breakfast in common area. And a really excellent team who is running the place! I had a little health problem during my stay, and was extremely happy to have this people around. From driving me to a doctor to supplying me with drinks etc. from the supermarket ... I almost felt like home :) Thanks one more time for all your help, especially to Brad!
I very much hope we'll see each other again ... next time with whales ;)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VT_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 406 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

Amazing service. Helpful staff who were not at all intrusive but happy to help out. Very nice to have use of high quality snorkel and beach gear, free laundry, post check out shower for late flights. Clean room and decent Costco supplied breakfast - I sense no different than any other b&b since they can no longer prepare food for guests.

Minor dislikes:
-Rooms have poor natural ventilation so we needed the loud AC unit each night.
-location such that you do need to drive from quiet residential area to nice beaches. Lahaina may be good for families and is relatively cheap but felt grimy.
- nice Polynesian theme decor except most chairs indoors surplus office desk chairs
- 5 rooms same price but not all same. We had smallest room which had unusable lanai but others had bigger patio with nicer view in other rooms. I wasn't able to preference room at booking so this might be luck of the draw.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcvtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We were a little bit skeptical about staying in a bed and breakfast for our honeymoon, since we wanted to make sure we'd have a lot of privacy. The Maui guest house was perfect! The staff was so helpful, Barbara covered everything we needed to have the perfect stay in Maui. Besides breakfast we spent most of our time one on one. The rooms are so cute with a Hawaiin feel and we were able to have a romantic time with a bottle of wine and our own private hot tub. The location is great and we were so happy we took the staff's advice to borrow a tour guide CD when we drove the Road to Hana and to go to the Old Original Luau. We had the most wonderful time with memories of our honeymoon to last a lifetime.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Maui Guest House is a great place to stay if you need a clean and quiet hub for your travels on Maui. Our room was lovely and more than adequate. Having our own mini-fridge was a great benefit. Our only qualm was that we were not given a key for the room meaning that our belongings sat in an unlocked room while we were away all day. They assured us that someone on the staff was always at the house but it still made us uneasy. I'm happy to say that we did not have any problems with our belongings though.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This guest house/bed and breakfast really does have everything covered. It is close to beaches, quiet, very clean, good continental breakfasts, lovely staff, nice BBQ area with a small pool, chairs/towels/snorkel gear to borrow, close to Lahaina downtown and fairly decent prices.
The owner has thought of everything to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable. We stayed for five nights before ending our trip at the Fairmont.
Highs: Barbara was a wealth of local knowledge and always willing to help as were Myra, Brad and lovely Terese (sorry if I have spelled incorrectly).
I also really liked how quiet and respectful this guest house feels. I was never woken up in the morning by noise from breakfast nor at night.
Lows: At times my husband and I felt a little uncomfortable/unwelcome by the owner.

Room Tip: Nlot really sure as we only saw our room. It was the first room as you come in and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Very welcoming bed and breakfast with lots of extras in a quiet residential neighborhood several blocks away from the activity of Lahaina. Everything was exactly as advertised on their website. However, it wasn't a good fit for us--the rooms were small, with no views (the stained glass windows obscure high fences) and quite humid from the inflatable in-room hot tubs. We decided to stay elsewhere, and they were extremely gracious, refunding our entire payment. Review their site and decide for yourself--good location, friendly hosts, but needs to be a good fit for your trip.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acdc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We spent a few nites at this B&B located in a residential neighborhood on the "land side" of the highway. Great location - quick drive to "downtown" Lahaina, nearby grocery store/ markets and Kaanapali beaches. There really is no Lahaina beach to play / lounge. The staff at the Maui Guest House is very helpful and all around nice people. No resort fees here - free wifi, beach chairs & towels, A+ quality snorkel gear (owner is a certified diver) and continental breakfast. You can use the community kitchen to cook your meals. Also available to guests is the washer / dryer. Our room was clean, slept well and we had a private hot-tub. We would definitely come back. Mahalo.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alpineplaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
2.0 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,175 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Plantation Inn
The Plantation Inn
#1 of 11 in Lahaina
457 reviews
2.4 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#19 of 32 in Lahaina
4,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
1.7 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
2.8 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Guest House

Address: 1620 Ainakea Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1806
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range: $212 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood between historic Lahaina and the beach resorts of Kaanapali, The Guest House is the perfect location as your “home” to explore the island of Maui. Just a block from Wahikuli Beach, enjoy phenomenal snorkeling.Guest rooms are setup for maximum privacy, each with their own hot tub, yet there is plenty of space to mingle. Full breakfast, kitchen, laundry, internet access, salt water pool, discount car rentals and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Maui Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Guest House Hotel Lahaina
Maui Guest House Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing