We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Sands of Kahana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sands of Kahana
maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Don't bother!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2005

We are Hyatt timeshare owners and decided to try a different timeshare.The sands of kahana was horrible! Since we booked a one bedroom , we were given a room on the parking lot side with a view of the dumpster. The 2 ceiling fans rotated on the hour! I've never seen anything so slow.
The mattress, if that is what it is supposed to be, was hard and very uncomfortable. The shower stall in the master bathroom was small and old.
The carpet was not cleaned. If you have an opportunity to stay there, don't!

Helpful?
15 Thank BFFsomd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    272
    82
    41
    48
See reviews for
320
183
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2005

I was on the same page as another review writer on your website. After reading several of the negative reviews, I was also worried about my stay at the SOK. Especially, since we had bought a condo with some friends.

I was pleasantly surprised about the SOK during my stay. This was the first time we had used our timeshare, since we bought it with our bestfriends a 1-1/2 years ago. We enjoyed our stay while we were there. The condo was actually very close to the model that we had looked at when we bought. It was nicely stocked with kitchen needs, bathroom supplies, etc. It was for the most part clean when we arrived, but it could have been a little cleaner (under the bed and the bathrooms). It was nothing unpleasant or filthy though. I do agree that they could upgrade with some kind of airconditioning. Even a small window unit in the back rooms would be good.

The timeshare thing does get old. They got us to go on a "owner update" which was actually another meeting to get us to buy something else. I was not interested in attending this meeting and for sure not interested in buying any additional time.

When we arrived (1) person from each couple that owned which we were told was ok, when in fact it was not ok. We were excused imediately but they did give us the discounted activities that we were promised. The only thing we did learn later that as an owner you can get the discount no matter if you attend the meeting or not.

The kids activities were great for our kids. They enjoyed making the hawaiian leis, postcards, and hula lessons. The staff was friendly and courteous to us. The gym equipment was a little run down or not working properly, but we took a walk instead. I mean you are in Maui, how bad can it it be to walk and look at the beach instead of being inside on a treadmill.

They could do more then just a towel refresh during a week stay. The room was really messy by the end of the week and there is only so much sand that you can sweep up on carpet. I am on vacation, so I am not interested in being the condo maid service for my kids, who are actually pretty neat. It is difficult when sand is involved.

Also, the resturant was closed but that was ok since they are remodeling it.

All in all our stay was good and we are looking forward to returning to the SOK soon.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2005

I was extremely worried about the SOK after the reviews, in the end, they were quite accurate. The places are large and well equiped but early 80's furnished. No air conditioning could be a huge issue if it was very hot, we had the trade winds, so sliding doors open was fine. Three star rating was accurate, but who cares, we're on Maui!!! I've actually stayed in a super deluxe hotel on the island and while marble counter tops and jacuzzi tubs are great, so is a kitchen and washer & dryer. The only negative I have from the trip is the whole timeshare fiasco. Maui has gone crazy. If you want a better rate on the activites you have to do the timeshare sales fiasco. A waste of an hour if you're not buying but great for the $$$ savings.
p.s. this is the third vacation we've taken with tripadvisor, GREAT advice!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2005

We visited The Sands of Kahana in Sept. of 2004. It would have been fantasitic IF THEY HAD AIR CONDITIONING!!! We did have a view of the ocean as well as the Hwy which was pretty noisy. The 3 bedroom penthouse was awesome but after 9 am until late at night IT WAS A SAUNA in there!!! It was miserable. The sky lights cooked us! They did give us a fan, which, if you sat RIGHT in front of it, made the heat in the room almost bearable, but then you couldn't talk to anyone because the fan sounded as if I were on the jetway at LAX!!! I think if we had been on the other side of the resort it would have been much better but this was the first one availabe so we took it. The staff was awesome, the beach was great, the restaurant was really good, especially the guy who played guitar. The pool was freezing. Would go again IF THEY HAD AIR CONDITIONING. Otherwise no.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2005

My husband and I and two of our best friends stayed in our 3 bedroom unit during the first week of the year. We loved every minute of it. We had the penthouse version of the 3 bedroom, which has 3 bathrooms also. We had an extra bedroom because another couple couldn't make the trip this year. The unit has over 2200 sq.ft. We cooked in several nights, and were easily able to use the kitchen which was very clean. We saw no bugs. The men used one of the many the bar-b- ques to grill the steaks and chicken. Everything was very clean and seemed new. No dirty floors or carpets. I don't understand how it could be so different for others. We will definitely return as often as we can. Also, for those who like eating out, I highly recommend Roy's restaurant, which is nearby.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
12 Thank LLoganCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2005

We just spent a week at the Sands of Kahana on a timeshare trade. We gave up a lovely two bedroom five star week and expected to receive something similar. Sadly, this place didn't live up to our expectations. I think if we had been in a condo that faced the beach, or even had a peek at the ocean, it might have been better, not so much for the view but for air circulation. The condos have no air conditioning, and normally this isn't a big problem anywhere in Hawaii because you get a nice breeze most times of the day and the night. However, our condo was oriented the wrong way and we had no breeze and no air circulating except by the ceiling fans. Our unit was a three bedroom, three bath unit--huge with enormous ceilings and lots of skylights. It heated up like an oven every day and didn't cool off until late at night. It was right on the road with no view except of cars passing by. Most discouraging--we really couldn't be there until 8 or 9 p.m. As older people we aren't much on night life, and would have appreciated being able to lounge around our accomodation and read a bit during the day. The management provided us with a couple of filthy dirty, old and very noisy floor fans to help the ceiling fans--which were not operating properly in the living area and master bedroom.

The pool was small but nice and the beach was pleasant in front of the condos. The restaurant was undergoing a change of management.

We found the office staff not very cooperative over all. WE finally got the maintenance people to unlock the windows in our condo (there were no screens) so what air there was could pass through. Windows are locked for child safety, so they only open about 6 inches. Since we had no kids with us they were willing to unlock them after some negotiation. Four different maintenance people showed up during the week to check our ceiling fans which didn't work well. All of them said new fans were needed but they "didn't have any fans".

Another problem was cleanliness. The units are HUGE and not well cleaned between occupants. We found food leftovers from the previous tenants on the table and coffee table. The carpets were exceptionally dirty--your socks turned black. The railings on the stairs and the handles in the kitchen on cabinets and drawers were caked with dirt and sticky. I don't think they had ever been cleaned.

We did appreciate the spaciousness of the unit and wish the location of our condo had been different. I think the location of the accomodation makes a huge difference in this development. I have heard that Interval traders are always put in the building on the road, poorly oriented to the trade winds. Road noise was loud because you had to leave the windows open all the time. IN addition, deliveries and garbage pick up took place just under our condo so we had a great variety of noise at all hours of the day and night.

I would never return to the Sands of Kahana. We loved Maui and will be back, but not to this development.

Helpful?
16 Thank lnmim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2005

We traded a Marriott timeshare for a unit at the Sands of Kahana. Our unit at SOK was in building one, top floor, on the road, #151. The way this unit was oriented there was a very tiny ocean view out of one corner, but mostly you see the road and the other buildings. There was no orientation to the winds except on one side, and there was no cross ventilation. Because the place has no air conditioning this was a HUGE problem. We got a couple of floor fans from the management (they were filthy dirty) for the master bedroom. They sounded like jet planes taking off--so noisy all night and day. The other two bedrooms had windows that got some breeze so they were cooler. The top floor units have two big banks of skylights which heat the place up like an oven every day. All the windows had been prevented from opening more than six inches--we managed to negotiate releasing the locks because we had no children with us. This helped a little. We had the windows open and the fans on the entire time we were there. We still had to be gone during the day from about 11 a.m. until after dark. The road noise was intense all through the night. Although the street is not particularly busy, it gets its share of motorcycles, boom box low riders, garbage trucks, delivery vans, cars and so on. In addition, the building delivery area is just below this unit, so all linens, garbage pick up and other service deliveries take place in the immediate vicinity. If you have any aversion to noise, this is not the unit for you. The sofa and chairs are attractive, but are upholstered with a plastic material which is very uncomfortable after a few minutes --and you stick to it when you get up. We resorted to covering it with towels during our visit. The carpets were stained and very dirty. If you walked barefoot, and then stepped into the shower you created muddy footprints. Maui is a great island, but this was not a great condo for us. Perhaps other locations in different buildings are better, but we were very disappointed in the Sands of Kahana. Other than the huge size of the unit there is nothing to recommend about it.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
2.6 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
3.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,881 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
2.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kahana Beach Resort
Kahana Beach Resort
#11 of 42 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands of Kahana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands of Kahana

Property: Sands of Kahana
Address: 4299 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8925
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sands of Kahana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Vacatia, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sands of Kahana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Of Kahana Hotel Lahaina
Sands Of Kahana Vacation Club
Sands Of Kahana Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing