We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Condo in need of repair - Views amazing!!”
Review of Sands of Kahana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sands of Kahana
Ranked #13 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We sayed at Sands of Kahana over spring break and we were very disappointed to walk in and it was nothing like the pictures! The kitchen was old, with tattered cupboards, dirty shelves and limited kitchen utensils. The dishwasher was so loud you could hardly have a conversation when it was turned on. The linens were worn and tattered. We learned on day 2 that the fridge was not working and had to call a repair person to fix it or lose all our groceries. The washing machine leaked water all over the floor and has been leaking for some time as per the mold that has built up behind the machine! We noticed the water leak when my son slipped on the water bruising his hip and head on the tile floor. The furniture was very dated. We paid a lot of money to stay at what we thought was an upscale resort. The only thing upscale was the view and beach. They are doing a lot of maintenance and up keep on the yard but it does not appear from my experience or from some of the other trip advisor reviews that they are maintaining the inside.

Room Tip: Apparently you can not choose your room! So if you have already booked - reduce your expectations be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifer g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Sands of Kahana. We regret to learn your experience did not leave you with a more favorable impression. Your comments certainly concern us, and we are disappointed that the unit was released to you in such condition. To say it falls well below our standard is an understatement. We will definitely investigate the issues you raise and correct them immediately. Thank you once again for expressing your concerns. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will one day give us another opportunity to make a better impression.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 717 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014

We were given perhaps the worst unit on the property #113 at the Sands of Kahana. The elevator did not work and there was standing water all around courtyard of the building. When we walked in there was a terrible stale odor that indicated nothing had been deep cleaned for ages. The unit looked directly out over the parking lot onto the noisy street. The furniture was worn and stained as was the carpeting. The bedding was cheap and needed updating. There were food stains on the refrigerator, and even worse stains on the bathroom wall – don’t even want to speculate what that was.
We went to complain about how filthy the unit was and were promptly moved to a second, equally filthy unit with comparable odor, worn furniture and carpet, and substandard bedding with not much better view – unit #414. This building also had a malfunctioning elevator, plus standing water with algae (Isn’t this a health & safety issue for most places?). We found really lovely surprises here too – like dirty sheets and fridge, mildew in the medicine cabinet and a plunger in the bathroom vanity (plungers should only be in possession of maintenance also due to health issues). There was maintenance going on in the next unit which we were not informed about by the staff so we had banging on the wall during the afternoon. We washed the dishes in the dishwasher prior to using and the dishwasher was so loud it was nearly impossible to hold a conversation. In both units the bathroom was so tight I hit my shoulder on the towel bar nearly every time I walked in the shower area. I could not get a good night sleep as I was creeped out in that bed with poor bedding and lumpy, overused pillows. The next morning at 8:00 am there was a guy outside our unit trimming the hedge over the parking lot. This really annoyed me as we had no notification this was going to happen and there is not any substantial window treatments for privacy in that unit. At least when you are on a cruise with a balcony cabin they notify passengers prior to working on your balcony.
The noise factor in both units was unacceptable as there was traffic or maintenance noise from the outside and garage and foot traffic noise in the bedroom by the courtyard. This property was night and day from the beautiful and spacious (not to mention spotless) 2 bed, 2 bath Marriott unit we traded for – such a disappointment.
We only stayed one night and that was one too many in our opinion. The ick factor was too great to overcome and would have severely impacted our trip had we stayed.
The staff had an “oh well” attitude that was really off putting. I get the impression that they couldn’t care less if we stayed or left. This final impression unfortunately was one of the better ones we had of this property.

Room Tip: For the best room don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ima_Cruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We regret we did not meet your expectations, and are greatly disappointed that you cut short your stay. We take great pride in our attention to detail, and the conditions you describe fall well below our standard. We also apologize if our employees were anything less than completely courteous in your interactions with them. Helpful and friendly customer service is a priority we put into practice every day. We offer our sincerest apology for the difficulties you experienced and hope you will enjoy the remainder of your Maui vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Great resort to base your trip on Maui. Has everything you might want, great staff, wonderful beach, convenient to all of Maui. We had a front row seat to a lot of whale activity. If you want a beach front resort this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Best chance for ocean front views is the two bedroom units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Aloha! We are happy the Sands of Kahana was the perfect home base for your trip to Maui, and thrilled we could earn your highest rating. We appreciate your compliments about our staff and location. Thanks for sharing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We are owners here and have been for almost 20 years.
We are just finishing 3 weeks here in Maui.
The Sands has been a great place for the whole family. It has a wonderful family atmosphere and the staff is excellent.
We bought here long ago and have never regretted it or had buyers remorse.
Right now we are in a 3 bedroom ocean front room. It has two baths and washer and dryer and full kitchen and dining area. The rooms here at the Sands are larger than your average timeshare unit.
The only draw back for some is the lack of a/c. Some of the privately owned units do have a/c installed. We always stay in the winter season as we love watching the whales out on the ocean. This time of year the lack of a/c is not a problem with us. There are lots of celing fans and the trade winds bring a great breeze into the units. We actually used blankets on a few cooler nights.
The pool is not huge but is quite sufficient. There is also a kiddie pool. We spend a lot of time on the beach.
Anytime we have a problem in the unit it is handled quickly and with a smile.
We recomment the Sands to families.

Room Tip: Unless you rent a privately owned unit you don't get to choose the location of your room. I will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beachy1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

We value your ownership and greatly appreciate your taking the time to review your recent stay at Sands of Kahana. We are delighted our resort has been a great place for your entire family. We are thrilled our staff was excellent, and that you found our accommodations spacious and well equipped. We are happy to know any issue you encountered has always been promptly addressed, and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We are in Condo #354, and our view is awesome. We've seen whales every day, and a rainbow this morning. Jose in the restaurant is a delight, and the rest of the staff was friendly too. The condo is very roomy, 2 bedroom, 2 bath. Is this a brand spanking new property? No, but if you want to be right on the ocean, this is the place for you. I don't think there are ANY new condo properties available directly on the ocean, only hotels. We definitely would come back.

Room Tip: Go to google maps to see the property, & check out which building would be best for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nanlee551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Aloha! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad you are enjoying your stay. Daily humpback whale sightings make our ocean views even more breathtaking, and the presence of a morning rainbow puts a ribbon on the entire package. We certainly appreciate your complimentary remarks and are thrilled you’ll be returning. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

"My wife and I booked the Sands Of the Kahana 1 year in advance. I called to verify that we were having a special anniversary and could they make sure since we booked it well in advance we would have a room with a view etc. when we arrived the gave us a room over the Maintenance Dept. yard, where the employees were very loud all day and night long. Also the room was at the entrance to the parking garage and was very loud. The View was Crap also. I went to management the next day and they had a crappy attitude about changing our room but did. We packed up everything and moved to a little quieter room but the next door hotel was under going renovation and the noise from generators was going all night long and the view was still horrible. Also many of the curtain slats were missing so we had no privacy. When I complained again, the manager looked like she could care less. Very disappointing when you plan way ahead for a special occasion, call ahead, and get Crap ! And they could care less ! Don't stay here unless you want to be disappointed !"

Room Tip: It will not matter what room you get. Don't go Here you will be disappointed !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grandslamhomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

We are sorry you were not satisfied with your visit. We do our very best to fulfill every room request, but as an ocean resort, you can imagine that nearly every request we receive is for an ocean view. This is why we sell rooms based on room size and not on the view. As much as we would like to grant every room request, we are unable to guarantee specific unit types even on reservations a year advance. In fact most of our reservations for the very popular December-April block are booked a full year in advance. Owner status has no bearing on how we treat our visitors, but as a timeshare resort, we are obligated to give our owners first priority where room choice is concerned. Once again, we are sorry you were disappointed in your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed in unit 456# large condo kitchen really in need of up dating we had to scrub the kitchen down before cooking.stove and fridge should be pulled out and scrubbed down was pretty dirty whole unit could use a thorough cleaning. Overall it was comfortable beautiful views and quiet nice location beach was nice would have been nice to have beach chairs supplied .(found feminine product under bed from previous tenant) would we go back to kahana sands? We have mixed feelings.

Room Tip: Look for a renovated condo ours was partially renovated but pricey for the quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you for visiting Sands of Kahana. We are sorry you were subjected to such a poorly maintained unit. Your particular condominium is property managed for a private owner by another company, which makes those parties solely responsible for its care and maintenance. We recommend booking your stay directly through us and staying in one of our immaculately kept units. The views are just as breathtaking and you never have to worry about housekeeping issues. Thank you for sharing your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.6 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,608 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,215 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kahana Beach Resort
Kahana Beach Resort
#14 of 43 in Lahaina
329 reviews
2.8 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,130 reviews
1.9 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
#10 of 32 in Lahaina
3,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands of Kahana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands of Kahana

Address: 4299 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8925
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range: $247 - $527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands of Kahana 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Otel, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sands of Kahana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Of Kahana Hotel Lahaina
Sands Of Kahana Vacation Club
Sands Of Kahana Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing