We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They Treat Non Owners like Crap !”
Review of Sands of Kahana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sands of Kahana
Ranked #12 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
El Cajon, California
Level 6 Contributor
477 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“They Treat Non Owners like Crap !”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

"My wife and I booked the Sands Of the Kahana 1 year in advance. I called to verify that we were having a special anniversary and could they make sure since we booked it well in advance we would have a room with a view etc. when we arrived the gave us a room over the Maintenance Dept. yard, where the employees were very loud all day and night long. Also the room was at the entrance to the parking garage and was very loud. The View was Crap also. I went to management the next day and they had a crappy attitude about changing our room but did. We packed up everything and moved to a little quieter room but the next door hotel was under going renovation and the noise from generators was going all night long and the view was still horrible. Also many of the curtain slats were missing so we had no privacy. When I complained again, the manager looked like she could care less. Very disappointing when you plan way ahead for a special occasion, call ahead, and get Crap ! And they could care less ! Don't stay here unless you want to be disappointed !"

Room Tip: It will not matter what room you get. Don't go Here you will be disappointed !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grandslamhomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
We are sorry you were not satisfied with your visit. We do our very best to fulfill every room request, but as an ocean resort, you can imagine that nearly every request we receive is for an ocean view. This is why we sell rooms based on room size and not on the view. As much as we would like to grant every room request, we are unable to guarantee specific unit types even on reservations a year advance. In fact most of our reservations for the very popular December-April block are booked a full year in advance. Owner status has no bearing on how we treat our visitors, but as a timeshare resort, we are obligated to give our owners first priority where room choice is concerned. Once again, we are sorry you were disappointed in your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    277
    86
    43
    51
See reviews for
333
186
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed in unit 456# large condo kitchen really in need of up dating we had to scrub the kitchen down before cooking.stove and fridge should be pulled out and scrubbed down was pretty dirty whole unit could use a thorough cleaning. Overall it was comfortable beautiful views and quiet nice location beach was nice would have been nice to have beach chairs supplied .(found feminine product under bed from previous tenant) would we go back to kahana sands? We have mixed feelings.

Room Tip: Look for a renovated condo ours was partially renovated but pricey for the quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for visiting Sands of Kahana. We are sorry you were subjected to such a poorly maintained unit. Your particular condominium is property managed for a private owner by another company, which makes those parties solely responsible for its care and maintenance. We recommend booking your stay directly through us and staying in one of our immaculately kept units. The views are just as breathtaking and you never have to worry about housekeeping issues. Thank you for sharing your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Our stay at the Sands exceeded my expectations. Our family of 8 stayed in a 3BR Penthouse. The unit was large & clean. The property, overall, is well kept. The beach was perfect for the kids who range in age from 8 - 16. We rented a paddle board for the week, which I highly recommend. This provided hours of entertainment. We grilled almost every night. The grills were plentiful & clean. Onsite parking was plentiful & the staff was very nice. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Read reviews on specific units - owners & upkeep vary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Riviera Casino & Hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank SCJC00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
We are thrilled your stay at the Sands of Kahana exceeded your expectations so much that you are ready to return so soon! We appreciate your compliments about our accommodations and amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We (family of 4) only stayed 4 days at this excelent condo/hotel. We stayed in an apartment (about 150 sq.mts) with very large rooms, 3 bathrooms, very well equipped kitchen and huge living room. The fares are quite high, but it worths.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paulo S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Aloha! We are delighted you had an excellent experience at the Sands of Kahana. We appreciate your compliments about our accommodations and hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed in unit #391 in building 3 closest to the ocean. What a view! Our condo was well-equipped and the grounds were beautiful and well cared for. We loved the pool and the hot tub and bobbling in the ocean. We saw sea turtles every day. We will definitely be back.

Dollies, across the street, has great pizza.

Room Tip: Choose a high room to avoid noise from yard workers and such.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Sands of Kahana. We are pleased you were impressed with our condo-style accommodations and resort grounds. Watching the sea turtles must have been an awesome experience. We hope you will consider returning soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

For the last 5 years we spent our vacation in Maui at the Sands. Each year we had better and better accommodations.We love the place.The condo's are spacious and in pretty good shape , with well stocked kitchen with all the necessary tools from dishes to the last can opener and indoor washer &dryers. The hotel has its own beach, pool , restaurant , gym and tennis courts. The hotel also has on site Expedia booking agents to help you with your activities. Pls do not miss the Tuesday fish feeding at the Koi Ponds, kids and adults alike will enjoy it. Aloha and Mahalo!!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank edobai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
We are delighted you think of Sands of Kahana as your home away from home. We love knowing each year your stays get better and better. We appreciate your compliments about our accommodations and amenities, and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Just stayed here for 7 days with my family. Our group was made up of 5 adults and 4 kids. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit and it was large. We had an ocean view so watching sunset on the deck was great. The back room can get noisy as others have said. We were in bed early every night so we still got plenty of sleep. Kids pool was perfect for our 5 yr old and 1yr old. The beach is beautiful and water is mild. We were lucky and had turtles right on the beach, one day there was 2 at a time. We were told they are regulars. I should note that is unlawful to touch or Get too close to them, punishable by a big fine. We were also lucky enough to have a monk seal come up for an all day rest on the beach. They Are on the extinction list so we felt quite privileged. There is actually a group of volunteers who set up a perimeter around the seal and take turns watching over it.
We were able to see whales from the deck as well.
There is no AC in the unit but we didn't miss it, we kept the doors and windows open for a nice cross breeze.
They units are from the 80's but they are clean, big and open.
The restaurant is good for sunset drinks and Happy hour but otherwise it is overpriced pub quality food.
We took advantage of the 2boogie board with 2beach chair umbrella and cooler rental for $50 for the week and found it very helpful.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank julee r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Sands of Kahana. We are happy you found our accommodations spacious, and that you enjoyed watching the sunset from your deck. The information you have provided about the surrounding area will certainly be helpful for those planning a visit. Watching the whales and turtles right from your room must have been amazing. We hope you will consider returning soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
2.6 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.8 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
3.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,507 reviews
3.4 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
0.1 mi away
Kahana Beach Resort
Kahana Beach Resort
#15 of 41 in Lahaina
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands of Kahana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands of Kahana

Property: Sands of Kahana
Address: 4299 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8925
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands of Kahana 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sands of Kahana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Of Kahana Hotel Lahaina
Sands Of Kahana Vacation Club
Sands Of Kahana Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing