We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An "ok" experience”
Review of Sands of Kahana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sands of Kahana
Ranked #12 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Our 2 bedroom unit had an ocean view, located 8 miles south of Lahaina, was spacious and the kitchen area was reasonably equipped. The master bedroom with a sliding door walk-out to a balcony was roomy and very nice.
Unfortunately, if you are traveling with another couple, the second bedroom is far below the standard of the first. You will have a small, two single bed arrangement with no view and lots of noise coming from an open corridor just outside the small window. The corridor is open to the floors below and above and at the bottom is the underground parking lot. You will hear luggage and laundry trollies moving about, cars coming and going, people talking in the corridors (regardless of the floor they are on) and street traffic. The condo has no air conditioning but fans help to keep the air moving.
In the first two days we had to get the toilet repaired (sounded like a jet whistle when flushed, bathroom light bulbs replaced, and mattress problems resolved (no support on edges). Removing the plywood placed between the mattresses helped. If you win the coin toss and end up with the master suite, you will he happy.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view as opposed to court yard and away from on-going construction noise. Also, ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CruisersRus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Sands of Kahana. We are happy you found our condo- style accommodations spacious, and that you enjoyed the ocean view. We regret to learn that the other couple you were travelling with were not as satisfied with their room. We would like to learn more about their concerns. Please contact us at 800-775-8463. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 712 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

We had a family trip and we had a great time. We were in a 2 bdrm unit in Bldg 1 with an ocean view. It was spacious, clean, comfortable, and well-equipped for our week. The staff were all friendly and very helpful. My Mom especially liked the resort. No a/c but ceiling fans in every room augmented the breezes nicely.

Room Tip: I have only stayed here once, so I do recommend unit 133 in Building 1, which has an ocean view and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

We are thrilled you and your family had a great time at Sands of Kahana. We appreciate your compliments about our accommodations and staff. Thank you for sharing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We just spent an amazingly comfortable ten days at Sands of Kahana, staying in a condo that's privately owned that we found on VRBO. We were blown away by how big the condo's 2 bedrooms and baths were, how well-appointed the kitchen was and the views .... oh my goodness, the VIEWS! In short, the condo completely exceeded our expectations and we're just sorry we waited so long to begin spending our vacation time at the resort.

We've spent many Novembers in West Maui, walking by the Sands on our morning strolls, but always dismissed the property as an option because we though it was entirely Vacation Club orientated***. This year's trip to Maui required last-minute planning. We found several several condos on VRBO and selected a corner unit with two lanais because it offered more outdoor space as an option to hanging out at the beach or pool.

The resort property appears well-taken care of. We especially liked all the tropical flowers and bunches of bananas hanging just outside the building we were in. Tennis courts are in good shape and the front desk had loaner rackets to use. We also borrowed clubs from the front desk to play on the little putting green and really, really appreciated having the beach right THERE to take our afternoon naps on! All in all, every aspect of our stay was surprisingly great and we're glad to have spent our vacation at Sands of Kahana.

***to clarify: we don't have anything against time share properties :)

Room Tip: Best views (unobstructed by other buildings) seem to be in SW corner of "Triton" aka build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottandCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Sands of Kahana. We are delighted you enjoyed an amazingly comfortable 10 days here. We appreciate your generous compliments about our accommodations. We are thrilled you found the views impressive and the condo completely beyond your expectations. We hope you will return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I made a complain to the facility and have had no response... This is what we noted...

Ant and Cockroach problem. We caught several cockroaches and had an ant problem in both the kitchen and one of the bathrooms that was reported but never taken care of.

Smoke problem. We have two asthma sufferers in our party of three, with second hand smoke causing a significant health (and breathing) risk. Hawaii laws require at least a 20-foot distance from a building for smokers. This was not maintained with smoking taking place in and around the building including the balconies that are adjacent to the room 212. We called your employees and were informed that nothing could be done since the people who were causing the problem were owners of the property. Both cigarette and tobacco smoke was very heavy and because there is no air conditioning on the property (we called) we had to leave the windows open. This is a reportable problem to three of your state agencies.

Noise problem. We contacted your front desk on two occasions on the noise level (it was every night) by the people around our unit, some who were quite inebriated (e.g. one woman pounding on the door outside our window and yelling for some time). Although one of your security guards did appear at our door at one of the reporting incidents, no consistent action was successful and the noise continued unabated well into the night. There is also noise from guests and employees dumping trash in a dumpster that is several feet from a window of room 212. Both the garbage smell and noise permeated the room (and may be one of the sources of cockroaches and ants.

Wireless Internet problem. Does not work in the bedroom.

Guest Services problem. A trainee checked us into your facility who was not very personable nor knowledgeable. You may want to observe her progress as an employee of your concern.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Sands of Kahana. We regret to learn of your experience and are disappointed we didn't meet your expectations. We are committed to the highest standards of cleanliness and customer service, and would like to further discuss your concerns. Please contact us at 800-775-8463 at your convenience. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We absolutely love being at the Sands of Kahana. It continues to meet our standards...we are pretty low maintenance but feel like royalty for two weeks every other year. We have no complaints. Everyone on staff is always kind to us and we enjoy every moment we spend at the SOK. The amenities are many...the restaurant, the beach, the pool, the condo and all the nice people we have met from all over the country when we visit. Keep up the good work...updates will happen with time, but we are perfectly happy. Came back home to Indiana to cold and some snow today...but have warm and sunny memories of our time on Maui.

Judy & Fred
South Bend, IN

Room Tip: Ocean View and Ocean Front are more than you can ask for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

We are thrilled you absolutely loved staying at the Sands of Kahana. We are delighted our staff was always kind, and that you were pleased with our amenities. We appreciate your kind remarks and hope to welcome you back for an 11th visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We checked in and were immediately impressed with the size of the suite. Very spacious and our view was incredible. Our stay was very nice and the location is nice too. Although there was a constant breeze, air conditioning would have been nice, especially on a couple of nights when the humidity was just high. However, I understand that A/C is not common in a lot of resorts there. Still, we had a great time and I really enjoyed the view when back from a day of touring. It was nice to have a cocktail in the lenai and enjoy the view and surroundings. The staff was friendly, caring and helpful. One day none of our key cards worked on the entrance door and we were locked out but they changed the lock within the hour. A nice place and I would go back although if I found a place with A/C, I might choose it first.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Sands of Kahana. We are happy you were impressed with our spacious accommodations and incredible views. We are glad our location was a convenience, and that our staff was friendly, caring and helpful. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will consider returning soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The sands is showing her age (40?), but its still home away from home. It is slowly being updated. It has a new management company and there is a lot of clean up activity going on. It is still the clean, quiet Sands that we have loved for 15 years. You can't beat the location. You can't beat the size of the units. Everything worked great in our unit. Nice new flat screen tv s. It's not fancy like some of the places in Kaanapali or Kapalua, but the Sands has a charm of its own.

Room Tip: Avoid the 3 bedroom loft floor plan. Spacious, but lacking privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jrmcafee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

We are happy Sands of Kahana is still your home away from home. We are glad you find our resort quiet, clean and conveniently located. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.6 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,584 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,169 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kahana Beach Resort
Kahana Beach Resort
#13 of 43 in Lahaina
327 reviews
2.8 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#19 of 32 in Lahaina
4,101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Kahana
Royal Kahana
#6 of 43 in Lahaina
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands of Kahana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands of Kahana

Address: 4299 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range: $207 - $509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sands of Kahana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sands of Kahana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Of Kahana Hotel Lahaina
Sands Of Kahana Vacation Club
Sands Of Kahana Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing