We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sands of Kahana
Nearby Hotels
$331
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$339
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$687
$639
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$420
$407
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Royal Lahaina Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
$285
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$459
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort(Lahaina)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (755)
Filter reviews
755 results
Traveler rating
260
299
92
50
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
299
92
50
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssullivan propertiesocean viewmaster bedroomtimeshare tradethe penthousethree bedroomtennis courtskiddie poolthe trade windstime sharesq ftsquare feethot tubevery morningkoi pondfull kitchensliding door
Filter
Updating list...
448 - 453 of 755 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

We booked this timeshare via RCI and were very pleased with our visit. Our family of 3 stayed in a two bedroom, two bath in building one on the fifth floor. Our room had a wonderful ocean view. The unit had a huge kitchen and living space. The only issue I had with the room is that the master bedroom is separated from the living room by a sliding door that doesn't close completely. Also, there isn't a separate tv for the master bedroom. You can swivel the tv from the living room if needed but this means you cannot close the sliding door. Not a big deal for us since privacy was not an issue but would be if we had more people staying in our room.

The beach in front is small but is great for swimming and sunbathing. The pool was large enough and there was always chairs available. The grounds were very clean and even though we did not use the BBQ grills, we did see them thoroughly cleaned every morning.

This is our second visit to Maui and would definitely book this timeshare again. We prefer the quieter Kahana area. It is close enough to everything without the big resort prices.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeahBelle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you for exchanging into Sands of Kahana. We are delighted that you were pleased with your visit. We are glad that our condo-style accommodations were a convenience, and that you enjoyed beautiful ocean views. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our family stayed at the Sands of Kahana and we had two of the two bedroom condos. We loved our time at this resort and cannot say enough with how friendly and helpful the staff at the Sands was to us. Gremmy, at the front desk, was amazing and not only got us and upgraded room but also was more than willing to help us out when we had a late night red-eye flight and needed a place for my toddler to sleep even though we had to check out of our condos. The grounds are very clean and well maintained. Our kids loved both pools and the putting green. The views from our rooms were spectacular and the rooms themselves were exactly what we were picturing for our Maui vacation. I had read many reviews that said the rooms were dated but we felt they were "tropical" and a good fit for us. Overall we had a wonderful vacation and would recommend this resort and would return again if we ever get the chance to visit Maui again in the future.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a ocean view room so you can enjoy the benefits of the ocean breeze. Without air conditioning, this breeze is important for personal comfort but when you get a good breeze, ac is not needed.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alicia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for staying at The Sands of Kahana. We are thrilled that you experienced exceptional service while staying with us. We are happy that we were able to provide you with a room upgrade. We are glad that you enjoyed beautiful views and appreciate your recommendation. Thank you for sharing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The rooms vary significantly (I got to see four of them) depending if the unit is a timeshare or privately owned. The biggest issue with the timeshares is that they do not have air conditioning, just ceiling fans. The units stay very warm, even with the windows open.

The grounds are descent and there is free underground parking, which is nice. There are full kitchens and washer / dryers. The hide-a-beds are very uncomfortable - the best thing to do is to put the mattress on the floor. The elevators are extremely slow - you're better off taking the stairs.

If you stay here, definitely do your homework and look at the pictures of the unit you want ahead of time.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
4  Thank Cary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share this review of your experience at The Sands of Kahana. We appreciate your feedback, which will help in ensuring a pleasant experience for all guests. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Spent a week here in our friends condo and it was very nice. The staff is very helpful and responded to all requests quickly. The grounds are very well taken care of and the on site bar has a fairly good happy hour (they could add a few drinks to the happy hour choices). The main pool was nice and clean but the kids pool looked dirty and sandy for at least 2 days at the end of our stay. I would recommend this place for a wonderful vacation location in Maui Hawaii.
Aloha

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean Front not Ocean View. The higher up the better.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Sands of Kahana. We are happy that our staff was helpful and responded quickly to all your needs. We appreciate your feedback and recommendation. We hope you will return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stay on the top floor 3 bedroom. Nice view but most of the equipment in the unit not working properly eg refrigerator dishwasher dryer
One thing I dont like is the unit has no air condition most of tbe time its ok but it can be v hot day time

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank faridah123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews