We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Maui Family Vacation!”
Review of Sands of Kahana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sands of Kahana
Ranked #14 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed in Unit 255 for 2 weeks (wish it was longer!) There were 5 of us in a 2 bdrm, 2 bath condo with full, well stocked kitchen. We has insuite laundry and lots of living space. BBQed dinner every night with the high quality bbqs available in the gardens. Kids swam for hours a day in the pool and enjoyed the basketball and volleyball courts. Beach nice, but ocean is rocky- definitely wear aqua socks. Waves can get big, so are best for older kids. Grounds beautiful and kids pool great for little ones. Snorkeled off shore and saw many turtles and manta rays. Short drive to Napili, Kapalua and Kaanapali. One block to Kahana Gateway Center with stores and restaurants. On site restaurant was convenient and they rented gear for snorkeling and boogie-boarding at the shack by the pool. Lots of activites on site for kids and adults alike. Good spot for large families!

Room Tip: If you want to be oceanfront, stay in building 2 or 3, but be sure you get an "oceanfront room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jeff-and-Lara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (726)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

532 - 538 of 726 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2011

I'm sitting in a three bedroom, three bath condo at the Sands of Kahana on the lanai watching a gorgeous day develop, with surfers, beach swimmers and a single canoe on the huge, white sand beach below. After reading some previous reviews from folks complaining about noise, no AC, etc., I've learned that there are two sorts of vacation rentals here - the timeshare condos and the condos rented from individual owners through sites like Flipkey, VRBO, HomeAway or vacation rental agencies. Timeshare condos do not have AC, while most individually owned condos DO. Noise is only a problem for some units located near the street - in buildings 2 and 3, where most of the individually owned units are, the condos are all oceanfront and away from any noise. We've been here a week and the only noise we hear is the sound of the ocean! We've left the windows open at night to be lulled to sleep by the wonderful sound of the waves!
Our 3 bedroom rental is HUGE - 2700 square feet( I didn't measure - it says so on the listing), with lovely furniture, a completely stocked kitchen (even a pizza stone!) and seemingly brand new, comfy mattresses on all the beds.Flat screen TVs in each room, nice stereo with iPod docking radios, fab views of Molokai and Lanai - we LOVE this place!
When we called the rental office because a fan was making a bit of noise, they were up within a couple of hours and fixed it quickly. Front desk staff has been very nice and helpful - let us receive a fax and helped with directions, farmer's market tips, etc.
The AC is great when we needed it - in the afternoons for a few hours until the sun sets.
We can't wait to come back - Can I LIVE here?

Room Tip: Choose buildings 2 or 3 - these are the oceanfront ones. Rent privately through VRBO, HomeAway, Flip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Timeshare, three families
This rental was room #431, on the third floor.

Pros. Very spacious, large kitchen, front room, and master bath. Second bedroom has twin double beds. Close access to bathroom, and has a balcony. Third bedroom has a king bed.
The restaurant, very good..but expensive...we cooked 98 percent of the time.

Cons. If sleeping in third bedroom very noise from trash can below, people going to rooms..noisey. Car and motorcycle noise terrible. Master bedroom.. Can't leave balcony door
open at night because of the light..

Would not recommend.. Oh staff not friendly..especially cleaning crew.
View...well there is little.. Can't view the sunset or sun rise

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dloera, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Thank you for staying with us. We’re glad you enjoyed our spacious three-bedroom suite. It is our largest (2,000 square feet) unit and can easily accommodate large families. It’s nice to know you put the full kitchen to good use. We apologize for the extraneous noise and especially the lack of friendly service. We appreciate your patronage and regret you didn’t experience our Aloha spirit. Thank you for sharing your comments, and we hope to have another opportunity to reaffirm your faith in us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

so i dont normally stay this far north in maui so this was new to us. the people were very nice, the room was huge 1200 sq ft two bed two bath 5th floor facing the ocean in building #1 the view was fantastic. now as others have written no a/c which is no problem thanks to the winds, the problem is to get those breezes you must open up all the windows which in turn lets all the noise in the room. now the noise isnt coming from outside its from inside, the drunks coming home at 2am stetting off their car alarms, letting little johny yelling and screaming bloody murder around the open air floors, to the locals coming home from working late with no mufflers on their car. im talking to you tuner car guy running wide open throttle at 3 am monday thru friday so yeah the road noise dose suck other than that beach is nice and clean bars not bad foods ok but dont expect a deal your in ka'anapali now baby. so sleep with ear plugs and every thing else is great!

Room Tip: stay away from building #1 and all will be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kyle a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

This property is nicely located between Lahina and Napili. Napili had good snorkeling and Lahina had good activities. The units are basic econo-condo. Many of the two bedroom units face the ocean but the one bedroom units are poorly located and noisy. Tower 1 is located near a busy road and contains housekeeping and overlooks engineering. The central stair tower contributes to the noise. There is no AC so the cool breezes provide the cooling. That works well except the windows must be open and the noise with people coming and going and building equipment is a problem. Don't figure on taking a nap in the afternoon. If you try this place be sure to get an ocean side room. If you enjoy the sound of 2-cycle leaf blowers running all day this is for you. The sea side lawns are nice but avoid the restaurant.

Room Tip: Select two bedroom ocean side buildings 2 or 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Hugh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Our daughter got married in Maui, so we decided to trade our timeshare unit and this was the only thing available according to Interval (they are not currently at the top of my list). SO, I traded my beautiful ocean front condo in Key West, FL (one of my favorite places on earth) for this place. What a disappointment.

First of all, the elevators only work part of the time (usually when we wanted to use them) and I actually overheard the repair man who was working on them say they could only be fixed permanently if the building was torn down. Next, you could not use the stairs because they were painting them??? Why are they painting the stairs when the elevator does not work?! As for the reception staff, I've met friendlier people standing in line at the airport trying to get through security. We all know what a barrel of laughs those guys are!! OK, now for my REAL COMPLAINT. I was told by the people at Interval Internation and Sands of Kahana that I would "be fine without airconditioning" because "the wind blows so hard and every room has ceiling fans." REALLY...well guess what I MISSED THE AIR CONDITIONING!!!!! And those "so called" ceiling fans only have one speed and it is called SLOOOOWWWWW. It was hot, hot, hot and miserable. My hubby, who never gets hot, could not sleep at night because of the heat. At one point we both became ill from dehydration.

Yep, it was a fun place...NOT. If they had air conditioning, it would be alright but still not up to our normal standards. So the best thing I can say about it is that the place was clean.

As for the beach - I've seen better. The restaurant - not the best food or drinks and the bar area smelled so badly of stale beer and liquor that my husband could not sit there. Which I found amazing because he can't smell ANYTHING, ever!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TennesseeTravelQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dloera, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2011

Thank you for visiting Sands of Kahana. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay and apologize for the challenge with the elevators. We were making necessary adjustments in them at the time of your visit. We are disappointed you found our reception staff wanting in Aloha spirit. Friendly customer service is always our first priority. Our ceiling fans are able to rotate at multiple speeds; the lower the setting, the faster the speed. We are happy to fix any problem if we are notified. Thank you for mentioning our cleanliness. Our housekeeping and maintenance staff work diligently to ensure a pleasant environment. We will look into the olfactory issue at the bar. Thank you for sharing your comments, and we wish your daughter a long, happy marriage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We more than enjoyed our vacation....it was perfect! The first night we stayed at the Ritz in Kapalua so I'm not going to lie, when checking into Sands of Kahana and the woman at the front desk was missing a front tooth, I was skeptical.

It was great, the condo was much larger than we expected. So, much unused space! The main bedroom has a king size bed and the back bedroom actually has double beds. There is no air conditioning which is annoying during the peak of the day. The back bedroom doesn't have the benefit of the ocean breeze as much as the master. I do think the mattresses in the room with the double might be a good 20 years old. But again, no real complaints. The towels, bedding, decor, and couches are dated but served it's purpose.

We took advantage of the happy hour at the hotel almost every day. $2 beers and $3 Mai Tai's from 3 to 5. They also have $2.99 breakfast from 7:30 to 8:30 each morning. Pool was never crowded.

The only real complaint we had was a peeping Tom in the building next to ours. We spotted him each morning about 7am from another building. It did happen 3 days in a row. On the 3rd day one of the men in our group went out there, he fled shortly after and we didn't see him again. He appeared to be a contracted worker doing maintenance on the building. I did let the front desk know when we checked out. They were very apologetic. We realize this was not their fault.

The location was great, parking was free! We got to know the area pretty well. There was a bar across the street Dollys which we went to at 7 am to watch football on Sunday. We has great dinners at Roys, Seahouse, Duke's Beach Club, and Mommas Fish House.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel4Fun512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.6 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,636 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,285 reviews
1.8 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kahana Beach Resort
Kahana Beach Resort
#10 of 43 in Lahaina
333 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
2.8 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands of Kahana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands of Kahana

Address: 4299 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8925
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range: $297 - $640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands of Kahana 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sands of Kahana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Of Kahana Hotel Lahaina
Sands Of Kahana Vacation Club
Sands Of Kahana Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing