We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Value!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Noelani Condominium Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Noelani Condominium Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Livermore, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Great Value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2006

This is a hidden jewel just north of Ka'anapali. It's not much to look at from the outside (3 cinderblock buildings) and my condo (#117) was showing its age in some ways (broken levers on louver windows). But it was well worth the reasonable price I paid. The staff is very helpful and on the first day orientation, you get a lot of help in signing up for the Maui activities you want to enjoy.

If you want a base of operations on West Maui, this is the place. If you just gotta have a "resort" experience, then go down the highway to Ka'anapali and pay a lot more. But even at any of the Ka'anapali hotels, you're not going to get a room as close to the ocean as any condo at the Noelani. One of the memories I'll have of this trip is listening to the surf at night as I slept. And every morning I was greeted by a great view of Moloka'i across the strait.

I was afraid that traffic noise from Lower Honoapi'ilani Road just outside my condo was going to disturb me a lot but I could hear the traffic only while in the kitchen and the bathroom. In the bedroom, I could hear only the sound of the surf.

One bit of advice: if you can, wrangle a condo on an upper floor because it gives you more privacy. My condo was on the first floor and it seemed that almost every person walking by my lanai couldn't resist looking into my condo. I could have closed the curtain but then I would have cut off that nice breeze that always seemed to be blowing through.

  • Liked — Close to the ocean and fantastic view
  • Disliked — Condo was a little old and Honokowai is far from Lahaina
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid first floor condos for privacy reasons
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Oceallaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    140
    26
    17
    9
See reviews for
180
299
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
orange
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2006

My fiance and I both love this place. The condos are clean both inside and out. They have all the cooking materials for you to cook. We both saved a load of money cooking and having fun at the same time. They even have a little herbal garden for the resident to enjoy. Nice touch. I love the view overlooking the litted pool and the ocean. Just breath taking. As for the staff, Krystal, thanks for sending my wires.. free of charge.. back to my home. You guys are great.

Be aware that staff only comes every other day to clean your place and the office closes at 6 p.m. Didn't know that. didn't care.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank joedfdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2006

Our family of 5 stayed in Unit 309 from August 12 - 19th. Our condo was a 2 story, 3 bedroom unit. Our 2 lanais directly faced the ocean. It was great having the patio doors and windows open to feel the constant breezes and hear the waves crashing against the rocks below. There was no air conditioning, however, we were never uncomfortable. We loved the relaxed attitude of the condo and were very pleased to be away from the hustle and bustle of a big city. We thoroughly enjoyed watching the sea turtles right outside our lanai each morning and evening. We had taken a snorkeling trip to see turtles on the Lanai Kai to "Turtle Town", and we actually saw more turtles from our condo than we did at "Turtle Town". The orientation breakfast the first morning is a definite must. We booked all our activities for the week that morning and were not disappointed. Bruce is very knowledgeable and was accurate in all his suggestions. He definitely helped save us time and money! We are hoping to return to Maui someday and we will definitely stay at the Noelani again. We would without a doubt recommend this place to all our friends. It is a great place to relax.

  • Liked — location and Bruce the conceirge
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — attend the orientation breakfast and follow their suggestions
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Illinois_familyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2006

Spent 2 nights here and 3 nights at the Westin - this place had better views than the Westin at 1/3 the price. I stayed in 209, corner studio top floor and had the best cliffside views and slept each night to the sound of ocean waves hitting the rocks. No A/C but the breeze off the ocean was great at night. This studio had everything - full kitchen, big bathroom, TV etc. Two nice outdoor pools - fairly empty, great beaches a short drive. Only complaint was that the shower did not work. The orientation breakfast gave good clues as to where to go and where to save $$$. Great bargains on trips if you go down to the harbor, great happy hours too !

  • Liked — Value and location
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank jopaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2006

We just returned from a lovely week at the Noelani, selected through TripAdvisor. We stayed in two different condos. Each was wonderful in its own way. One of the smallest, 112 overlooked the pool with the ocean beyond. It was well equipped and maintained by an owner who takes pride in the place. One of the larger and older, 218, was only a few feet from the ocean. It was a bit timeworn and underequipped, but still very pleasant.
The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. A orientation by Jeremy, a sort of roving concierge, was very helpful. The location is terrific. Try the snorkeling at Honolua Bay, a few miles north. We’ve done other places on Maui, the Caribbean, the Great Barrier Reef and the reserve at Lanai. This was by far the best. We can’t wait to go back.

  • Liked — The location and the people.
  • Disliked — One condo was a little tired.
  • Tips/Secrets — The smallest condos are very reasonable and plenty big for two people.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Alva One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solvang, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2006

We have just spent 10 days at the Noelani Condo's in Maui. This is NOT a resort - so if you want all the amenities that a resort offers - it's not for you. However, if you prefer to be in a smaller venue - the Noelani is perfect. All condo's have an ocean view - we were lucky enough to be in #101 - which is ground floor with a great lanai. We overlooked rocks and saw sea turtles feeding every morning and evening. You can sit on the rocks and watch them or even go snorkelling with them! We have 2 kids 9 and 7 and they had a blast - there are 2 pools there - be warned during the day most people go out - but after dinner was the favorite pool time for the kids. The condo's are extremely well equiped with full maid service every other day if you stay more than 6 days - our condo had washer, dryer, dishwasher and even snorkel equipment and cooler! Bruce - the concierge was very knowledgeable about local tours and trips and was very aware that we had young kids - talk to him before you go - the number is on the website - he really gave us a lot of good info. There are plenty of good restaurants around and you are ideally situated for this coast (further North than Laheina and Ka'anapali - so you don't battle the traffic!). Take a snorkelling boat tour on the Lani Kai and you will not be disappointed - the staff were awesome and sooo friendly. This is an awesome place and I would highly recommend it for couples and families with kids (regardless of age).

Helpful?
7 Thank britmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, MA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2006

We just got back from spending a week at the Noelani Condo Resort, Unit #214, and we couldn't have been happier. This was a studio unit, but it was more than enough space for a couple w/o children, and came equipped with absolutely everything we needed to be self-sufficient when we didn't feel like trekking out for meals. The beach chairs, beach towels and cooler were a big plus, too, for the times we spent at nearby beaches. The atmosphere at the complex is very friendly, and everyone tended to congregate around the pool/grill/bar area around 5pm, put Hawaiian music on the outdoor sound system, fire up the BBQ grills and watch the inevitably gorgeous sunset. We also discovered that large numbers of honu (green sea turtles) come in close the shoreline in front of the Noelani property at sunset and sunrise, which was also a treat to watch. The breakfast orientation when you first arrive is very helpful (we had Jeremy, not Bruce) with lots of good tips for navigating the nearby areas. True, there is no sandy beach right out front, but you'll need a car on Maui anyway and some of the best beaches in the world are a short drive away. My only suggestion, as an earlier reviewer noted, would be to upgrade the WiFi to be useful inside the units. But that was a minor thing, and we would definitely stay here again if revisiting Maui!!

  • Liked — Great views & relaxing atmosphere
  • Disliked — Lack of internet access
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank puggeroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.5 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
3.0 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,832 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
3.3 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
1.3 mi away
Maui Kai
Maui Kai
#2 of 42 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Noelani Condominium Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noelani Condominium Resort

Property: Noelani Condominium Resort
Address: 4095L Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9303
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Noelani Condominium Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maui Vacation You've Always Dreamed Of........ Away from the tour busy crowds of high rise hotels and overdeveloped resort areas, there is a unique, private haven where you can still enjoy all the peace, tranquility and Aloha Spirit of Old Hawaii. Maui No Ka Oi! All of our Maui vacation condos for rent are oceanfront, not just ocean view, like so many other Maui vacation condo rentals. Enjoy the best of Maui in our oceanfront resort condos. Relax in our swimming pools, Jacuzzi, private lanais and tropical island setting, just steps from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Noelani Condominium Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noelani Condominium Hotel Lahaina
Noelani Maui
Noelani Condominium Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing