We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Noelani Condominium Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Brookfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A wonderful deal”
Reviewed June 2, 2008

This condo resort was rated as a best of best in the book Hawaii for dummies and also reviewed well in another book. Having never beent o hawaii and after shopping around I was a bit nervous as I thought between the price and what was shown on the website this was "TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE." I will warn you if you are used to five star, ultra luxury with ever amenity imagineable this may not be for you, but if you are looking for paradise on a budget - you can stay here and enjoy paradise.

First I will give you waht some would consider the bad - you only have maid service once a week (but you could get towels if you needed). No beach, but there was a sandy public beach right next door - that seemed to only have hotel guests and few surfers there anyway. No air conditioning. - large ceiling fan, and proximity to the water made it breezy and comfortable.
Lacked a bit of privacy - with no A/C you needed to keep the lanai door open and the front entrance had louvred blinds on it that needed to stay open for cross breeze.

The free welcome breakfast - left a lot to be desired in terms of food - some Costco Muffins and a cut up pineapple that was it. However, the info that Bruce the concierge provided was good and he saved a lot of people some money booking their activities. However it was an hour and half long and being our first day we were anxious to get moving.


We stayed in the Orchid building which was the closest of the three to the water, and had a Studio Deluxe Unit (Unit 218 to be exact). it was amazing. Everything in our unite had been newly renovated. You walked into a galley style kitchen, that was stocked with things you need for day to day living. Incuding blender, coffee pot and toaster. The cabinet was even stocked with books to read and a safe.

The bathroom had a large changing room with tons of drawers and a closet. The closet even had beach mats, beach chairs and small cooler to use. The owners had a DVD player and stereo in the room and even had binoculars so you could watch for whales or surfers. We saw turtles playing in the water right outside the lanai. During our stay a lot of kite surfers and surfers were out in the water.

Studio units did not have a washer or dryer, but there was a laundry room in our buidling.

The rest of the studio had a dining room, queen size bed, tv and fold out couch. when you were in bed you could look out and the ocean and the island of Molokai. To fall asleep to the waves and awake to that view was pure luxury.

I would say you could get a way with a Studio Deluxe for a family with one or two small children but not four adults traveling together. Each unit is individually owned so they are all a bit different, our friends stayed in unit 217 right next door to us. Their unit was nice had several of the same amenities, but was bit dated in the decor.

  • Liked — The views, the distance from the hustle and bustle
  • Disliked — We were sleeping in the day maid service was scheduled and they did not come back.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TeeKay1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    144
    27
    17
    9
See reviews for
191
304
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2008

Noelani was listed as a "Real Gem" in the book "Maui Revealed" (which was a great book to take along). Noelani exceeded our expectations. As new visitors to Hawaii, we were thrilled when we entered our one bedroom condo in the Anthurium building to find a spotlessly clean, fully equipped (down to laundry detergent) condo with a view from our lanai that was absolutely breathtaking. We loved everything about our 10 day stay there---the two pools, the hot tub, the lovely grounds, the friendly and helpful staff, the proximity to the ocean and surrounding beaches. The residents who own condos and live there parttime were even friendly and helpful.
Two big thumbs up for Noelani. Enjoy your Maui vacation!
Include "Warren and Annabelle's" dinner theatre package while you're there. You won't be sorry you did.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Kentuckyytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
261 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2008

My wife and I stayed in a one bedroom deluxe oceanfront (in the Atrium building) for 12 nights....in room 202. This condo was fully equiped.

- Bedroom: At the rear, equipped with ceiling fan, sattelite TV, very confortable bed and large mirrored closet.

-Hallway: Equipped with 2 closets. One closet contained a clothes washer and dryer with supplied soap. The other closet had a room safe + sports and beach equipment to use, like beach umbrellas and boogy boards.

-Bathrrom was standard and fairly modern. (soaps shampoos and towels were re-supplied on a regular basis,,,,,frequency depending on length of stay)

-Kitchen: Was fully equipped with full size fridge, microwave, toaster, dishes, etc. Also a collection of spices and sauces that other renters have left

- Living room / dining room: Spacious and very nicely decorated. Included an L shaped couch that you could sleep on, sound system with CDs, library with book selection, sattelite TV with DVD, ceiling fan and floor to ceiling patio door and windows overlooking the Pacific ocean.

- Balcony (Lanai) our favourite part - equipped with table and chairs + l lounge chairs, the ocean was about 15 feet in front of us with nothing in between. We ate all our breakfasts on the balcony while spotting sea turtles, surfers or sailing ships.

Our condo unit was VERY clean and well maintained.

There is a central pool area (2 pools, 1 heated, 1 not + whirlpool) that has 2 gas BBQs

The Atrium building (where we stayed) is probably the quietest building as it is away from the pool area. The only thing to note is the bedrooms in the "one bedroom deluxe" are at the rear and have louvered windows which don't completely shut out sound. Our unit was just adjacent to the exterior stair way so there is potential to get distrubed if someone is not being quiet during the quiet hours,,,,,,however, we never experienced any problems.

If you're sensitive to noise, I would suggest to request a room on the 3rd or 4th floor near the center of the building (away from the exterior stairways)

We're very pleased that we didn't choose to stay in a large resort and instead chose Noelani condos. Falling asleep to the sounds of the waves, then waking to breakfast on our lanai and reading a book or just staring out to sea was very special. Every day we went on some kind of Maui adventure......it was so nice to come back to our piece of paradise at the end of each day.

  • Liked — The location, view and value
  • Disliked — That we had to leave
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank deathracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2008

We have been to this condomionium 4 times in the past 2 years. Location on West Maui is great between Kapalua and Ka'anapali. It is close proximity (walking distance) to stores and restuarants. Our favorite morning exercise is to stroll down Lower Honoapiilani Rd to Bad Ass Coffee for morning java and browse around the local farmer's market. (Monday, Wednesday and Friday).

The accomodations are clean, with full kitchens to save on cost of eating out. All suites are Ocean front, with beautiful vistas of Molokai and Lanai. Sunsets to die for. We enjoyed watching the turtles feed off the rocks in front of the condo. Take your binoculars during whale season!!

Our favorite local beach is just up the road, Napili. Napili has great sand and shade for relaxing and reading. At times, surf for buggy boarding and good snorkeling. Also great snorkeling a little further up in Honolua Bay (wild life preserve.)

The Noelani has two ocean front pools and a hot tub, also ocean front. Weekly they have a free Mai Tai party on the pool deck. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Best of all, price is very reasonable. My friend, Molli, was used to staying $400/night in Wailea. Since staying at the Noelani, in 2006, she has been back 5 times. She no longer even considers staying in Wailea.

  • Liked — Beautiful vistas, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Kahanaprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2008

I basically woke up every morning to crashing waves, an ocean mist, and birds chirping. I was about as close to the water I could possibly get. My wife and I stayed in room 117. The room was a 600 sqft studio apt. It came with a full kitchen, studio room, and bathroom. The place was small but who cares!!! I kept our sliding glass door open the entire stay. The ocean, 2 pools, the bar, the BBQ, and the Hot tub were all within 5 to 10 feet from my room. This place was a dream. My wife and I stocked up on stuff we purchased at the local Safeway store. If you've got a Vons card, then it also works at the local Safeway there. You'll save an incredible amount of money by shopping there. Don't shop at the Star Market. The prices were insane and the fruit was old.

If you're looking for a great ocean front room with all the right extras, then this is your place. If you're looking for a nice big room.......then don't expect ocean front. You might as well go to Vegas. My entire family stayed at the Kanapala Villa's and none of them had ocean views.

  • Liked — The view and the pool area
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank keynon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2008

We just got back from a weeks stay in Maui and can't say enough good things about the Noelani condo. There were eight of us staying in 306. The views were amazing! We sat on our lani and watched whales and turtles every night. We used the grills by the pool several times and never had to wait long. The staff helped with all our questions and requests. We used the loaner Hana Cd's which were full of information and lead us to many things we may have missed on our own. The office even printed our boarding passes for our flight to Oahu the day before we left. Best vacation ever! Thanks Noelani!!

  • Liked — The amazing views
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chefphree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2008

We stayed in Studio Deluxe 218 in the Orchid Building and loved it! The view couldn't get any better. The ocean is about 30 feet from the lanai. From there we saw sea turtles and whales breaching! Then at nightfall, the beautiful sunsets! Noelani has two pools right on the water's edge so you can hang out at the pool and still see and hear the waves. In the past we've stayed at bigger hotels and complexes on Maui but found them to be too crowded with not as good a view (small peek at the ocean from far away) . Noelani is more casual and laid back, which we prefer. Very relaxing!

Our unit had a fully equipped kitchen. We saved money by not having to go out all the time. We ate papayas, pineapple and granola for breakfast. The lady at the small fruit stand across from Star Market has really sweet fruit. One night we used the BBQ while the sun was setting. Beautiful. We even used some of the fresh herbs growing in the garden.

Our favorite breakfast place is Gazebo's in Napilli. The fried rice is great and we had the macadamian nut pancakes which were good.

Favorite place for a tropical drink is Hula Grill's outdoor bar at The Whaler's Village.

Favorite local food is Aloha Mixed Plate in Lahaina.

Favorite buffet is the Friday night Prime Rib & Seafood Buffet at the Prince Court in Wailea. It's pricey, but they have sashimi and poke, too.

Favorite place for dinner is Cafe Mambo in Paia (north toward the airport). The paella is tasty there. Better than when we were in Spain. Next door, Cafe de Amis, has a tasty mediterrean plate and refreshing smoothies.

Favorite place for a special occasion is Mama's Fish House. It's pricey but beautiful. Go an hour before sunset. You won't see the sun set there because it's on the other side of the island but the changing colors of the water and sky are very pretty. Ask to sit in the front room near the beach. We didn't order this, but the Black Pearl dessert looked impressive.

Then after all that eating, we would make our way up the street from Noelani to the Sports Club Kahana. My husband would work out on their machines and I took yoga classes and step classes. The instructors I had were good.

We love this area of Maui and will be back to Noelani soon!

  • Liked — Great View & Clean
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank DoubleTrouble623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.5 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
3.0 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,933 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.4 mi away
Maui Kai
Maui Kai
#2 of 41 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Noelani Condominium Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noelani Condominium Resort

Property: Noelani Condominium Resort
Address: 4095L Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9303
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Noelani Condominium Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maui Vacation You've Always Dreamed Of........ Away from the tour busy crowds of high rise hotels and overdeveloped resort areas, there is a unique, private haven where you can still enjoy all the peace, tranquility and Aloha Spirit of Old Hawaii. Maui No Ka Oi! All of our Maui vacation condos for rent are oceanfront, not just ocean view, like so many other Maui vacation condo rentals. Enjoy the best of Maui in our oceanfront resort condos. Relax in our swimming pools, Jacuzzi, private lanais and tropical island setting, just steps from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Noelani Condominium Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noelani Condominium Hotel Lahaina
Noelani Maui
Noelani Condominium Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing