We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Decent Place to Stay”
Review of Napili Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lahaina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Napili Village
Ranked #20 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Every time we go to Maui we visit Napili Beach and say to ourselves that we should stay up here somewhere, so this time we did. After some research I found Napili Village and thought it looked like a pretty good deal. It is only a 5 minute walk to Napili Beach and a 10 minute walk along a narrow, busy road with limited sidewalks to Kapalua Beach. So location is pretty nice for the price. To find lodging right on the beach is a lot more money than we choose to spend. Our second floor unit had a limited ocean view but a nice view of the sunsets. We normally stay in condos whenever we travel. We have stayed on all the major Hawaiian Islands and also been to the Caribbean a couple of times. Every unit we have ever rented with a complete kitchen has always had a few cooking items that previous guests have left behind such as spices, seasonings, sugar, etc. Our unit had none of these and to buy them for a few days of cooking seemed pretty expensive so we made do with salt and pepper. The bed spread was very worn and had a stain on it but it appeared clean. The float valve in the toilet made a high pitched noise quite frequently, especially during the night. The unit had beach chairs and a boogie board for us to use and pool/beach towels were available in the laundry room for us to use every day. The pool area was nice even though it had no hot tub and the coffee pot was on every morning down by the pool. They didn't have gas grills down by the pool, they were charcoal. This was the only place we have ever stayed on any of the Hawiian islands or in the Caribbean that didn't have gas grills. Charcoal grills are slow to heat up and hard to clean up so we never grilled our dinner. Generally we grill something up ourselves for dinner at least half the time. This was disappointing! Overall the unit and the facility was clean and neat and had most of the things we have come to expect. The managers were nice and they were helpful. We had maid service everyday which was convenient. The location is close to Lahaina, and Ka'anapali but it is at the far end of the island compared to other locations. I like to scuba dive with a company out of Lahaina so that was convenient but it is a long drive to other parts of the island, especially with traffic. Overall, it is a decent place to stay if you know what to expect.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms on the 'road side' have a limited ocean view and good views of the sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blackduc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 83 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

My fiancé and I also stayed in unit 8 like the last reviewer. Hands down this place was the highlight of our trip to Hawaii. We loved the place, great location close to the beach, partial ocean view from the balcony, balcony overlooked the pool area also and all for a very reasonable room rate. If you want to hire a car, get Napilli Village to reserve your car for you. We got a better rate on our car rental through Napilli than if we hired direct through Avis. If we come back to Maui, we will come back here for sure. You won't get a better place for the price.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Melody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed in unit 8 and had a partial view of the ocean. Knowing how expensive Maui is we thought this place was a real bargain and we liked the location for getting to restaurants, and having breakfast on our balconey, etc. Manger and staff were very friendly and helpful and we could walk to other beaches taking our chairs and snorkel equipment with us. The only drawback was thin walls and at times we could hear our neighbors and the traffic.

Room Tip: We liked having a view of the pool and ocean from the 2nd floor. It is always breezy and we didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Badgergirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed in unit 1 which had no view of the ocean and was next to the road. Unit was small; perfect for a couple, 3 or 4 would be tight, unless they were young children. Well equipped for preparing light meals. Comfortable and clean bed. Friendly, helpful and hardworking cleaning staff. Gorgeous beach is a 2 minute walk through the complex, down the road and along a path.
Beach has a quick dropoff whch was a little scary for my taste.
Unit 1 is close to the road and parking lot so there is noise from traffic. The office a/c is constant and loud. Found a cockroach in the shower.
Overall, a good value in a nice area.

Room Tip: Choose a unit on the second floor away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelerz20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We dig the Village. It is older...feels a bit older, funkier...but we dig that. We dig finding gecko's in our pad and catching toads on the lawn when everyone else is sleeping. We stayed in unit 6 this time. Great view of the ocean and the pool and the amazing grounds. I could spend hours just exploring the flowers and birds around the grounds. If you have a family tagging along, there are plenty of kids for them to hang with. This is a real family place. This won't be our last time to the Village. We will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jazzkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Our first Trip Advisor disappointment…maybe something here has changed because three stars would be high for this place. Bargain island price and beach proximity are the values here, but not much else. Our building was right up against the road, noisy, especially when the busses started running before dawn; locals across the street like to have loud parties almost every night. We arrived about 20 minutes early for check in, tired and hoping, but door was locked and sign said ‘be back at 3pm’. After getting settled, found out WiFi requires a password (no typical book of guest info in room), called office, got voice mail. Walked to office at 4:15, sign said open 8 am – 5 pm, door locked…closed. Be aware there is no one in the office after hours (and sometimes during). About an hour later, manager came to door with LOGIN info, but the wireless was so slow that it was useless. Note in room indicated maid was off on Wednesdays (site says maid service every day except Sundays). The sheets were clean but there were black hairs on the toilet when we arrived and we found our coffee maker half full of moldy coffee (yuck). The kitchen had some basic items, but bring paper towels, coffee, sugar, salt, pepper etc. The water tap was backwards, but probably not much danger of getting scalded as the hot water is not that hot. The bathroom was tired, with bubbling paint over the shower and dated old tiles. There was not even a hook in the bathroom for a robe. No luggage racks but we made do with a large closet. Bed was good, pull out bed could have been worse. The one day the room was cleaned, a strange half empty water bottle was left on our coffee table and an empty water bottle and some trashed left behind on the floor. The lanai overlooked a garden and the back of the adjacent General Store where a pipe exuded sudsy water in a big puddle every morning. The staff was nice enough when they were present; it could have been worse. I expected more after the high rating! I certainly would not compare it to other highly rated budget establishments I have stayed in. Overall, I would say overrated.

Room Tip: Try the Napili Shores Outrigger down the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MandragoraMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My family traveled to Napili Village in December of 2010. We met up with my other family members for my parents 50th Anniversary. First impression of the room that we were in was outdated, and small. However other family members were in more recently updated rooms. The property has a nice pool, and is close to one of the better beaches in Napili. The porches that interconnect worked well for us with our big group, and the Ohana Room worked great for family dinners, as there was 15 people in our group. For the price the property is nice. It does have other properties around it so from the ground floor you can't see the ocean. However you can from some of the top floor units. All in all it is a good budget minded property. Staff was great.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RsqDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.2 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.1 mi away
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach
5.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Napili Sunset Beachfront Resort
0.2 mi away
Napili Kai Beach Resort
Napili Kai Beach Resort
#8 of 32 in Lahaina
892 reviews
3.8 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
#10 of 32 in Lahaina
3,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Village

Address: 5425 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8766
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Napili Palms is one of the best kept secrets on Maui. This privately owned condo is only a few steps from the famous Napili Bay Beach. This property is a garden setting with local orchids, plumeria, hibiscus, bananas, mangos and papayas. Relax by the pool viewing the gracious palms. Dine on your private lanai or poolside. Stroll to the beach and enjoy the breathtaking sunset at Napili Bay between the islands of Lanai and Molokai. Napili General Store is on site to meet your every need for an island vacation. Snorkel Bob's is also on site to arrange all your island activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Napili Village Hotel Lahaina
Napili Village Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing