We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveler rating
384
77
13
3
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
384
77
13
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews friday mornings cornbread beautiful beach mai tai sea turtles coastal trail the general manager ocean view restaurants within walking distance short walk to the beach great snorkeling perfect place to stay air conditioning home away from home grocery store grounds are immaculate west side
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
268 - 273 of 483 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We chose the Napili Surf as the place to spend our 25th Wedding Anniversary and made the right choice! When we opened up the door, to our surprise, there was a beautiful flower arrangement with a congratulations card waiting for us on the table. In addition, there was a bottle of bubbly and two glasses in the full size refrigerator along with a freshly cut pineapple. The suite was very clean and it's apparent that cleanliness is a top priority for the staff. The kitchen was loaded with new appliances and a vast array of kitchen gadgets. The bed was cozy and good night sleeps were had every night. There is a small but very useful safe in the closet. The lanai and it's furniture was clean and comfortable and they even had a pair of binoculars for some whale watching. The staff was friendly and the grounds were maintained and very well taken care of. Lots of beautiful flowers and plants made the outside more like a tropical paradise instead of a commercial hotel. The view was awesome and the beach was relaxing. The ceiling fan and tornado type desk fan were a big help since there was no AC, but mornings were hot. I couldn't imagine what it would cost to run AC all the time. If you stay here, remember to sign the book in the room. We thought that was a really nice touch and haven't seen that done before. Don't know if we'll get back to Maul, however if we ever do, we'll be back to the Napili Surf!

Room tip: Stay on the ground level if you don't like steps.
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We loved our time at the Napili Surf!! The staff was friendly, the grounds were immaculate, and we were only steps from the beach! My only complaint was the ants in our room but honestly - We couldn't have cared less... A small price to pay for a week in paradise and we hardly spent any time in our room anyway. We loved it! There was a Mai tai party and hula show on Wednesday and a coffee gathering on Friday morning - free of charge and worth it!! If I had the money, I'd buy a condo there and never leave! ;)

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ToriBorialice63
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUllrich, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Aloha Tori,

Mahalo for choosing Napili Surf Beach Resort for your Hawaii vacation. Your comments are important to us and the readers of Tripadviser.

I also want to apologize for the ants which I will follow up on. Cleanliness is very important to us.

We hope to see you soon, A Hui Hou!


Scott Ullrich
General Manager
Napili Surf Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I did not give Napili Surf 5 stars only because of no a/c. I knew this ahead of time but thought the wind would make up for it but unfortunately our room faced the wrong way to take advantage of it. Due to loud noises coming from the resort next door mainly construction, we had to at times keep our lanai door closed. Our room was great, clean with a fully equipped kitchen. I was alittle surprised though that there was no shampoo, etc... supplied. I would stay here again but perhaps in a different building. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were able to print our boarding passes in the office before our flight home.

Room tip: A building closer to the beach and facing north/south would get better air circulation due to no a/c. Upstairs was better for privacy.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LENA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I would go back to the Napili Surf in a heartbeat. The room was spacious, clean and super comfortable. There was a full service kitchen, a great living room and dining space and a lanai from which you could see the water. The grounds were in great shape and kept up really well. On Wednesday there was a mai tai party with Hawaiian music and entertainment. What a nice way to meet other guests and the show was great fun. There was also a barbecue (not free but really good) right at your resort - a comfortable night! Another day we hiked the Haleakala Crater and happily did some takeout and enjoyed dinner and some wine from the relaxation of our space. The beach was terrific and only a few feet from our room! We had an
'oceanfront studio' and do not regret our choice in any way. The Napili Surf was a great place to stay and I would stay there again should we be so lucky to return to Maui. Don't look any further - stay here!

Room tip: Loved our oceanfront studio ... could see the water from the lanai and we looked out onto a well landscaped and well kept garden area.
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dmgebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUllrich, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Aloha Deb G,

Mahalo for taking the time to post your impressions of Napili Surf. Your comments are important to us and the readers of Tripadviser.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed the maitai hula show, the BBQ and hope to see you soon.

A Hui Hou!

Scott Ullrich
General Manager
Napili Surf Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I'll preface the review by saying if we had stayed in a tent at this location, I would give it 5 stars! Pictures can't do justice because the lens fails to get what the eye sees - as you look down the beach, Molokai looms in the panorama toward the left with towering coconut palms above you - very beautiful!

That being said, the two story condo units are all privately owned and built about 1966. They will be all furnished a bit differently. We stayed in studio 103 which the lanai directly faced the pool, beyond, two koa? trees framed the beach. It contained a kitchen (well accoutered), small bathroom, small, stall shower. The quarters were a bit tight but fine for a couple. There is no AC, but jalousie windows and doors allowed cross flow with the help of a ceiling fan. While we were there, the temperature was a bit warm and after a day in the sun, my wife and I felt a bit like characters in a Tennessee Williams play.

We enjoyed being on the ground floor because we could just walk out from the lanai to the grounds and beach without going all the way around the building. This left our unit unlocked. We did use the safe for any valuables but generally felt all the residents had the Mahalo spirit. My wife did have her sunglasses stolen from our spot on the beach while we were out SUPing and learned later this was common on Maui beaches. We don't believe it was someone at our resort. We will stay in a ground floor unit again.

The units that orient north-south do get the morning sun coming in at an early hour and can be bothersome. The sliding glass doors form the 'wall' that overlooks the beautiful grounds. This is nice most of the time except when you are preparing for bed and getting up from bed. To allow for ventilation, we left the drapes open by necessity and so we scooted in and out of bed pretty quick, not being natural exhibitionists. I would suggest the owners buying Japanese screens- accordion type - so guests could place them between bed and glass doors at night for those plagued with the burden of modesty.

The beach is nice, though steep. Snorkeling fine - we saw turtles every day. SUP boarding was fun. The calmest area in the bay was the far side which was generally the lee shore. We rented from Maui Surfboards on the main drag between Lahaina and Napili.

Buy your groceries at Costco near the airport. Get soap, shampoo also. We found Times grocery, I think the second light south of Napili, a great 'one-stop' shopping spot. The resort has a Luau once a month performed by student dancers that is a must see if possible. The instructor has a beautiful voice and explains the dances. We took in the 'Old Lahaina Luau' and Slack Key show. There are no on-site restaurants. Line was always too long at Gazebo and we had a bad experience at the Sea House- roach in salad. Off site, we loved eating at Star Noodle, Pineapple Grill, Hula Grill, and the lemon caper Mahi-Mahi at Honokowai Okazuya was nothing short of incredible. If your in the market for a ukulele go to Lahaina Music at 910 Honoapiilani Hwy. you might also schedule a lesson or two from brother Alex.

Our last night we had to move to unit 118 located in the east-west building, a bit back but still ocean view. We thought it a bit more secluded and the furnishings nicer. The view of Molokai spectacular. We've already reserved here for next year so you know my recommendation. If your looking for AC, room service, and high rise views of Maui, this isn't it. If you like nostalgic, quiet, old Mahalo charm with beautiful views and great beach access at a good price, you found it!

PS thanks Marissa and staff for our nice stay. Also Mahalo to the owners and long time visitors we had the pleasure of meeting and visiting!

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Capn-Groggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUllrich, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Aloha Capn-Groggy,

Mahalo for taking the time to provide for Tripadviser readers such an accurate description of your experience at Napili Surf Beach Resort.

Your comments are very important to us. I am especially intrigued with your suggestion concerning providing a shoji panel for privacy. I am going to follow up on your idea.

Thank you for choosing Napili Surf for your Hawaii vacation and hope to see you soon,


Scott Ullrich
General manager
Napili Surf Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews