We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Napili Surf Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$342
$329
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$450
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$265
$259
Official Website
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Kaanapali Beach Hotel(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
$287
$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Royal Lahaina Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
$250
$245
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$725
Hotels.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$366
Cancelon
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$499
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort(Lahaina)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveler rating
261
68
14
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
261
68
14
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmai tai partyfriday breakfastcornbreadsea turtlesgarden viewpineapplelow keyhigh risethe north endshuffle boardwe loved our staybit datedfull kitchendaily maid servicebeautiful groundsminute drivebeach towels
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 350 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We were in Puamala wing of the resort in a garden view studio. Our room was very clean and tidy. Kitchen was well equipped from a pineapple knife to blender to glassware. They had everything in there to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Our room was spacious enough to hold our bags and accommodate 3 people. Since we were on vacation for 12 days in Hawaii, we had a lot of luggage and our room could fit everything in. The half cut pineapple in the refrigerator was very welcoming.

The resort is very located on the Napili Bay and the beach access is marvelous. Beach here is one of the best I've been to, though I did not like snorkeling here. Since the beach is accessed by neighboring hotels / resorts, there were a lot of people in the beach and that way we felt safe with a kid. The shower stations are conveniently located on the property and very close to the beach.

Located near by is the Napili Market. This strip mall has some good restaurants and surf shops where one can conveniently rent / buy snorkel gears, etc. The market has a good selection of groceries / vegetables / fruits / diary, so everything that you might need is at a stones throw distance.

I couldn't think of any improvements that I could suggest, except the fact that they don't stock the bathrooms with shampoo. When asked, I was told that they don't provide "that kind of" stuff. Anyway that was a miniscule thing to mention.

I definitely recommend this resort to anybody visiting Maui. I can't wait to get back to Napili Surf. Thanks for making our stay so warm and welcome.

Room Tip: Paumala wing is where we stayed and we loved it. We preferred 2nd floor over 1st as it would give some privacy in the patios, Lanais should I say?
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BangaloreAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUllrich, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Aloha,

Mahalo (Thank you), for choosing Napili Surf beach Resort for your Hawaiian vacation. We appreciate the time you took to share your impressions with us and the readers of Tripadviser.

Unlike dish soap, paper towels or herbs and spices, shampoo and conditioners are a very personal preference. Because of the waste and our observation of a large number of our guest were bringing their own products, we elected to eliminate the practice of providing bath amenities. However, your point is well taken, as over the last few months several requests for these amenities have been made and we are reconsidering providing bath amenities. Thank you for your input.

A Hui Hou! (Until we meet again),

Scott Ullrich
Napili Surf Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We opted to have a ocean view room which is about a third more then a garden view. For us it was worth it. The Napili Surf has very comfortable units which are fully equipped. Our one bedroom was perfect for us.and the bed was very comfortable. The housekeeper comes in the Morning and cares for the room. The grounds are meticulously maintained and there is not a leaf blower in sight or sound. The Napili Surf is steps from the beach and Bay so the gentle sound of the surf is soothing. Right next door is the Gazabo restaurant so a truly wonderful breakfast is75 yards away. I was a little concerned because our room was so close to the pool but that was absolutely was no problem. The guest are peaceful, pleasant and respectful. Perhaps it is less peaceful in the summer, but in December it was just beautiful.

Room Tip: For us closer to the beach was better
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleeenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUllrich, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Aloha Kathleen,

Mahalo for taking the time to write about your experiences at Napili Surf Beach Resort. Your positive comments are important to us and the readers of Tripadviser. I am very appreciative that you noted that the Surf does not use leaf blowers in order to keep the noise down. While more expensive to hand rake the leaves, we feel it is worth it.

A Hui Hou (See you soon),

Scott Ullrich
General manager
Napili Surf Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Our first time with Napili Surf Beach Resort and we would definitely consider staying here again! The studio unit was fully equipped with everything one could think of for a cosy and worry-free vacation! Going through all the cabinets and we were completely surprised by the thoughtfulness of whoever came up with the idea. Excellent location to anywhere around Maui and Napili beach is just 5 minute walking distance. The beach was not so packed compared to many other beaches in Maui. Snorkeling visibility was not the best but good enough to try out, especially during noon time. Better places for other water activities were just less than 10 minute drive away. Free parking for guests was also an advantage when everyone else had to struggle to find packing space to get access to the beach. Wonderful place to relax without burning a big hole in your pocket.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank randomtravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUllrich, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Aloha!

Mahalo for taking the time to evaluate your experience at Napili Surf Beach Resort. Your comments are important to us and Tripadviser readers.

Though it is not often, the bay can have poor visibility especially in high surf. Upon your return, we will hope for better visibility as Napili Bay is excellent for snorkeling and swimming.

A Hui Hou! (See you soon),

Scott Ullrich
General Manager
Napili Surf Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

On a beautiful beach, in perfect weather, it's hard to knock it. But,.......
No a/c - if there is no tradewind, buyer beware.
We were in three different units and all of them need upgrades to the beds. Really.
The closer to the ocean, the better. It will drown out some of the noise from constant gardening blowers and construction on adjacent property. A gardener was actually blowing leaves next door, in the rain. No wonder it took over an hour.
My husband really loves this place so I cannot bash it. And, in all honesty, it was our third time there. Quirks are easily overlooked if the wind blows and you hear the ocean all night long.
And, we love the staff.

Room Tip: End unit, second floor, ocean front, first building
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marmalade22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUllrich, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Aloha!

Mahalo for choosing Napili Surf for your families' Holiday vacation. We value your comments and appreciate your taking the time to evaluate your experience at the Surf for the Tripadviser readers.

A Hui Hou! (Hope to see you soon),

Scott Ullrich General Manager
Napili Surf Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Napili Surf and would definitely visit again. The staff were all so friendly and helpful. The apartment was lovely and we had everything we needed. I think this place is excellent for the price. We stayed in one of the cheaper studio apartments which didn't have a sea view. I was a little concerned about this as we really wanted to make the most of our trip to Hawaii and take in all of the beautiful sunsets but we really loved our garden view room and the beach is a very short walk away. Napili beach is perfect, not surrounded by big resort hotels, the sea was safe and we saw at least 8 turtles swimming by the rocks right in front of us. This place is truly magical and well worth the visit. The location is excellent and we couldn't have asked for more. If we're ever lucky enough to visit Maui again, this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JuiceMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUllrich, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Aloha,

Thank you so much for taking the time to evaluate your experience at Napili Surf Beach Resort . Your comments are important to us and the readers of Tripadviser. We are very pleased that you enjoyed yourself and are contemplating returning to the Surf.


A Hui Hou (See you soon)!

Scott Ullrich General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews