We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Homogenous Demographic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Napili Surf Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Napili Surf Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Homogenous Demographic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

The location is right on the beach, but not all units are created equal. The rear (garden wing) ones have no view but are much lower cost and very quiet. The ground floor units around the pool are very public and face a well used communal lawn which may not be to everyone's liking. There is good snorkelling but this is in the part of the island where it seems to rain and blow more than from Ka'Anapali south. Definitely take the drive to Honolua Beach.
But be warned..if 60 and 70 year old couples are a problem for you, this may not be your scene.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank ItchFeet58Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    64
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
90
187
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
zurich
Level Contributor
348 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

yes the room is clean and ok, yes the kitchen contains everything you can think of, yesh they are pleasant at the reception...
BUT
is this enough?
the place looks like an old peoples' home.
optically between this and a motel. is this what you are looking for in lahaina after travelling 24h from europe?
it is really ok for pensioners who come for a couple of weeks.

Room Tip: don't go as a couple looking for romance
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank itzibitzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Really nice place our little condo was perfect,grocery store close to the hotel everything perfect but I think that you do need a car to really enjoy this part of maui and to see every beautiful place around the napili surf!! We saw the biggest turtle right in front of the hotel really nice snorkelling !!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband, daughter and I visited in August and stayed in three different beachfront rooms over 9 days. (We knew we would have to switch because we made our reservations late.) It was no problem! The housekeeping staff took care of us. The two rooms in the front seemed bigger, but all were lovely and very clean. When we go on a beach vacation, we don't want to dress up to go to breakfast or summon a valet if we want to go out for coffee. We like to relax in a quiet garden near a beachfront pool, walk on the beach, and snorkel with turtles, and that is what we got. The Sea House Restaurant, on the other side of the beach, is beautiful, and we loved the food.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PuffDaddyKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, NC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I didn't think it would be possible to have the Napili Surf Resort exceed my expectations. I had read all of the previous reviews and I expected a lot. We stayed in an efficiency room 219. This unit was well equipped. The kitchen was supplied better than ours at home. Closet/dresser space was very large, easily handling all of our clothing. The unit was spic and span and was maintained that way by houskeeping who amazed us with their attention to detail Even the ballasters on our balcony were cleaned regularly to remove salt and a random bird dropping. The shower was very large allowing us to dry our snorkeling gear.

The view from our balcony was perfect. We had unobstructed views of the ocean. The grounds were immaculate. Each morning the grounds crew picked up any debris from palm trees and raked the beach in front of the resort.

Unfortunately we were not able to do much snorkeling off shore due to high surf. North winds brought high surf, perfect for surfers but not perfect for snorkelers. Yet the crashing waves being lit by the sun was appealing. We had to drive to the leward side to find good snorkeling. A very good spot was Olowalu Beach. Very good snorkeling just off shore. Go out about 1/4 mile to find clear water. Lots of reef fish not found in the Caribbean. Also Black Rock behind the Sheraton was a very good snorkel site. Be sure to dive down to hear the Humpback Whales singing (in season).

Room Tip: Second floor units offer unobstructed views of the ocean. The view of the from first floor units ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayzee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here over the New Years period. It felt just like a home away from home. The staff are incredibly friendly, the view is picture perfect (worth getting an ocean front room) and the facilities are all there for you. Many people visit the Napili bay during the day so it can get quite noisy but not unbearable. It is about a $30 cab ride out of Lahaina, where we spent most of our time, but renting a car solved that problem. If I were to return to Maui, I would stay here time and time again.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms on the top floor - best view and worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed here in September. When we arrived, we enjoyed the weekly Mai Tai social. A rainbow appeared, and the sunset over Napili Bay was spectacular. The grounds were meticulously manicured, and the unit was clean with a balcony where we enjoyed coffee in the a.m. and dinner cooked on their grill in the evening. There is a grocery store nearby where we bought food to grill. - A big money saver! The snorkeling was awesome. Many colorful tropical fish and lots of sea turtles. 3 weddings took place on the beach while we were there. The price was reasonable. We would love to go back someday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dlreau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockyHawaii, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Aloha Dlreau,

Thank you for your taking the time to review our resort. We consider Tripadviser the ultimate tool for travellers. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and are hopeing to return.

A Hui Hou!

Scott Ullrich
General Manager
Napili Surf Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
8.7 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
3.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.5 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 stars 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
5.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 3,446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Napili Shores
Napili Shores
#18 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Surf Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Surf Beach Resort

Property: Napili Surf Beach Resort
Address: 50 Napili Pl, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Napili Surf Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint beachfront property is right on beautiful Napili Bay, a mere 50 to 150 steps into the amazing clear ocean water. Swimming, snorkeling, sun-bathing and stand up boarding are all available a few feet from your room. We are located along Kapalua and its world-class golf courses, Napili Surf Beach Resort is minutes away from Kaanapali and historic Lahaina Town. Fully-equipped condos offer the amenities and convenience of a resort, including daily housekeeping service and complimentary wireless Internet, with the comfort of your own home. Beautiful oceanfront grounds, two swimming pools, three barbecues, each with its own herb garden. Napili Surf Beach Resort is a non-smoking property. Please note that our rooms do not have air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Napili Surf Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Surf Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Surf Beach Lahaina
Napili Surf Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing