We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Napili Surf was great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Napili Surf Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Napili Surf Beach Resort
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Napili Surf was great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2008

The Napili Surf is a great, affordable place to stay in Maui. The unit we stayed in - rear-most building (not ocean front) 2nd floor -- was VERY clean, well kept, and met my expectations. Keep in mind, these are privately owned units, and from what I could see passing by other rooms, the conditions can vary. For example, ours had a nicely expanded and updated bathroom but others did not. Party-going types will not like this place. It's very quiet. No air conditioning, but there was sufficient breeze to keep us comfortable (though the noise from the pool area can be intrusive at night with the windows open- had to get up and close them). It's a great 'home base' for exploring Maui-- i.e. not a "destination resort" that you'll never leave, but a nice place to come home to and from which to plan your adventures.

  • Liked — Clean, quiet, affordable, very home-y feeling
  • Disliked — pool noise with windows open, but this only happened one night
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PaDrJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    68
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
95
197
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2008

We just returned from one of the best resort experiences we have ever had, and we hesitate to share this review because we don't want Napili Surf to become so popular we cannot return. The deluxe accommodations in our one-bedroom condo with daily maid service, included full kitchen with dishwasher, newly remodeled bathroom with thick, fluffy towels delivered daily, and wonderful staff ready to assist with any request. The louvered window above the shower let the trade breezes float through as we showered after coming in 20 yards from the beach....the accommodations could not have been better. All hours of the day and night there was a breath-taking ocean view from the lanai or the bedroom windows, framed by palm trees. The living room with large, flat screen tv. also wired for Sirius FM radio. The large bedroom with king bed and excellent mattress as well as a pull-out couch and twin bed/day bed in the living room made this apartment just about perfect for a couple or a family. The apartment is not air conditioned, but ceiling fans and cool breezes did the trick. There is a 9 p.m. quiet rule since all the apartments have open windows. There is a high proportion of returning guests and owners who come for the beauty and serenity, many of whom have been coming for over 40 years, so we had no problem with noise. The grounds are beautifully maintained and the pool was placed just between our apartment and the golden crescent beach that is Napili. The sun sets over the open ocean each evening in colors so gorgeous they defy description. Best of all, the humpback whales make their way up the channel between Maui and Molokai and provide entertainment morning and night. Binoculars were not necessary to see the constant parade of spouts, tales, and completely breaching and spinning whales.....all viewed from our lanai! Napili Beach is a jewel and we hope they never succumb to the development craze in the rest of western Maui, including at the adjoining Kapalua Bay property, where the cranes and tall development with loud construction noise (our only complaint during this stay) are taking away from the peace and beauty in this magnificent part of the island. Get to Napili Surf as soon as you can....it is too beautiful to be missed!

  • Liked — location on the beach and view
  • Disliked — noise from construction on neighboring property
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2007

We stayed at the Napili Surf from Nov 6 – 16. It was absolutely perfect. We are in our early 50’s and wanted a quiet, clean condo and the Napili Surf fit the bill.

We researched many places in south and west Maui: resorts, condos and VRBOs. We decided against resorts as we did not want to eat in restaurants for every meal, and be crowded in the pool area. Not so much a cost decision as much as we prefer our own breakfasts and lunches. We ate out most evenings.

We chose the Napili Bay area because none of the buildings are higher than a coconut tree. We did not want high rise, or to have to walk through endless lobby and grounds to get to the beach. We chose the Surf based on the reviews of all the condos in Napili Bay.

We chose the south end of the beach because we thought it would be the quietest. We were right. At the north end there were way more people. We also chose the Surf because we wanted a small pool (it has two nice little pools), and we wanted a grassy area where we could look over the ocean without sitting on the sand when we didn’t want to.

We had Unit 207, a second floor one bedroom. As a corner unit, it was a bit more expensive than the other units ($272 a night), but well worth it. There were THREE lanais: one small one off the bedroom, so as we lay in bed we could look out to the ocean (that lanai had two chairs and table); one small lanai off the living area opposite the table so we could eat and see the ocean, (that lanai also had two chairs and table); and a larger lanai off the living area that looked over the bay with a love seat, coffee table and two chairs. The other units all had the usual one lanai with at least two chairs and table, but they all looked very comfortable. The three patio doors allowed the breezes to flow as did the ceiling fans (including the one in the bathroom). We certainly did not need AC,

The unit was not “luxurious” as in a resort, but it was spotless, well furnished and had everything that we needed. Kitchen with corian counter and bathroom with granite. Kitchen was very well equipped, blender, toaster oven, plus the usual stove, fridge and DW, and enough pots, pans and baking trays to cook thanksgiving dinner for eight, Kitchen supplied with dish detergent, dishwasher soap.

Daily maid service was great with frequent bed linen changes and daily towel change. Laundry on premises with free soap. We needed help from the office staff on two occasions: once to fix a lamp and once to access our safe (we put in the wrong number!): the help was instantaneous and polite.

The views from our ocean front unit were wonderful. Clear views to Napili Bay and the ocean. There were three spotless barbecues on the site.

The garden view studio units were much cheaper, and although they did not have the view, the gardens were beautiful, and the area was very tranquil. Very easy access to the beach from there too. The ocean view studios were also cheaper, and directly fronted the ocean, set back by the beautiful grounds, so they would be a great deal. (I bet they would be classed as "ocean front" by some resorts!)

There were two full time groundskeepers and one part time, and it really showed. TONS of beautiful flowers and birds. Every day the lawn chairs were wiped down and the sidewalks washed. The grounds were immaculate.

There were always plenty of lawn chairs – no need to bag your chair early here, and even a small sandy area fenced off from the public beach. Good choice of sun and shade in the grounds.

The beach was very clean. It was a steep entry to the ocean which could be a bit difficult for little ones, but that also made for lots of fun in the waves. Just to the left of our complex was the start of the rock shore line. There were a few little areas there that would be perfect for toddlers learning about waves and the ocean. Sandy yet protected by the rocks from the big waves.

We snorkeled in many areas of the island. The snorkeling in Napili Bay was quiet good on one day we went, and too murky the next day. On the good day we saw tons of fishes and four turtles. The turtles were so close I could easily have touched! The great thing about our unit was we went straight from the unit to the beach to snorkel, then back to the unit to shower. Perfect! (There were public showers on the beach, and two showers right inside the resort to wash off the sand, then straight up to our room for a warm shower).

In response to the last review, there were a few kids there and they were made very welcome. There is a notice in each room to please not use cell phones in the public areas. I very much agree with this, we come on vacation to get away from such technology. ALso the whole resort is NON smoking - a pleasure.

We would highly recommend the Surf for quiet bliss, cleanliness, beach access and easy access to Lahaina and Kaanapali if/when you want more action. You can’t go wrong at the Napili Surf

  • Liked — Clean, well equiped, good location
  • Disliked — nil
Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
22 Thank CalgaryCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2007

We stayed at Napili Surf on September 30-October 5th 2007. I was traveling with my husband and our 2 children. We met my Mother and Father in law and my sister in law brother in law and our nephew in Maui they also stayed at Napili Surf. On the 2nd day we were there I recieved a phone call to make sure my kids rinsed the sand off their feet before we went back to our room becaus ethe maids had complained they had to vacuum outside our room. In my childrens defense (they are 7 and 9) it was not their fault there was sand outside the room my husband had shaken the towels off out there as not to bring the sand into our room. Since school is in session there were quite a few older couples staying there and they made us feel very unwelcome. If my kids made noise in the pool I got the worst dirty looks. I felt like I was in a retirement resort and breaking some rules bringing my children there. The room was beautiful and very clean. I just felt like it wasn't family friendly maybe it was a bad time of year to be there with my children but we paid the same amount of money to be there we shouldn't have had to worry our kids might offend someone by splashing in the pool. Also, some man yelled at me for using my cell phone pointing out everyone knows you can only use your cell phone in your room as not to bother other people who are trying to relax and get away from technology.

  • Liked — very clean and nice location
  • Disliked — not family friendly staff was rude as well as guests
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank WandAMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2007

Our stay at Napili Surf was incredible! We stayed in room 214 with a beautiful ocean view and just a short walk down to the beach! Our room was (we were told by a friendly neighbor) recently remodeled and was a very nice room. We were welcomed with half of a fresh cut pineapple in our fridge...and fresh pineapple from Maui is the best pineapple you will have! The kitchen was fully stocked with dishes and pretty much anything you would need to cook in or out. The closet had cute little beach chairs and hangers for your clothes. Not that we watched much T.V. but there was either full cable or maybe even satellite in the room (so lots of channels!). The daily room service was great and the staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about the questions we had.
The beach is just as awesome, with great snorkeling (we were lucky enough to get to see the sea turtles!) and a wonderful open air restaurant just a walk down the beach. The sunsets were incredible and waking up to the sounds of the ocean and all the birds chirping was such an experience.
Nearby is a place to rent the snorkeling gear and boogie boards, and also a couple restaurants (Maui Tacos, Subway, etc) and a great smoothie place! (I would recommend the strawberry, pineapple, orange sherbet one!)
This was our first time to Maui and when we do come back we will definitely stay at Napili Surf again, without question!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank mauilover21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2007

My husband and I absolutely loved Napili Surf!!!! We stayed in room 116 and had the best view. Service was friendly and the room was beautiful. Cofee and donuts on Friday mornings and Mai Tais on Wednesday evenings. It's a very relaxing environment. Perfect for couples or families. This was our first trip to Hawaii and will definitely be returning to Napili Surf and requesting room 116. Just a walk through the courtyard to the beach! Good snorkeling right at Napili Bay too! Thanks Napili Surf for a great honeymoon.

  • Liked — Location!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank stfnejansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poipu Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2007

Where do Kaua'i families go to vacation? Napili Surf. We haved stayed here many times and I have lived on this Island and know it well. It is on a great beach and in easy reach of several of the top beaches on Maui. We love to bbq in the late afternoon, swim in the pool and ocean and play shuffle board. Then we hop on our jet back to Kaua'i and do it all over again at home!
The Sauers family, Po'ipu Beach

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
9 Thank Kauaiohana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.5 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.2 mi away
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
5.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,819 reviews
0.3 mi away
Napili Kai Beach Resort
Napili Kai Beach Resort
#6 of 31 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Surf Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Surf Beach Resort

Property: Napili Surf Beach Resort
Address: 50 Napili Pl, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Napili Surf Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint beachfront property is right on beautiful Napili Bay, a mere 50 to 150 steps into the amazing clear ocean water. Swimming, snorkeling, sun-bathing and stand up boarding are all available a few feet from your room. We are located along Kapalua and its world-class golf courses, Napili Surf Beach Resort is minutes away from Kaanapali and historic Lahaina Town. Fully-equipped condos offer the amenities and convenience of a resort, including daily housekeeping service and complimentary wireless Internet, with the comfort of your own home. Beautiful oceanfront grounds, two swimming pools, three barbecues, each with its own herb garden. Napili Surf Beach Resort is a non-smoking property. Please note that our rooms do not have air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Napili Surf Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Surf Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Surf Beach Lahaina
Napili Surf Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing