We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Condo 117” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Napili Surf Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Napili Surf Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Condo 117”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our condo was on the ground floor which was perfect for access to the pool, gardens, BBQ and beach. The views were great and the beach lovely. Although we kept missing them, turtles would visit the beach front regularly. We were well cared for by all the staff who accommodated our needs in a friendly and generous manner. We had to move rooms on the last day (which we knew when we booked) and the staff were very helpful and even upgraded us. I must add that the housekeeping was of a very high standard! The farmers market on the other side of the highway is worth a visit for fresh veg but only the once per week. We noted that occasionally the clouds came down from the mountains over the resort area but if you head just 10 mins down the road the beaches are just as lovely but sunny. Once a week the resort hosts a Mai Tai evening to meet other guests and drink wonderful cocktails. The resort also attracts regular return holiday makers of all ages which is always a good indicator. The on site laundry is very good (but only open business hours) and shops/restaurants are nearby. We had take out Thai from the restaurant in Napili Plaza shopping area that was very tasty!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acemedsec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockyHawaii, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Aloha Acemedsec,

Mahalo for taking the time to write your positive remarks about Napili Surf Beach Resort. Our housekepping ladies were very pleased with your comments on the cleanliness of unit 117. I am very lucky to work with such diligent staff.

We hope to see you soon. A Hui Hou!

Scott Ullrich
General Manager
Napili Surf Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    64
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
93
188
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bartlett, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We loved our stay on Maui and this was the perfect spot to stay! We had an ocean view and the constant ocean breeze and surf noise was just magical! The worst part of our stay here was packing up to go home. We could not recommend it any more if we tried!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This place was average to below average.

Positives: The beach is nice and there is very good snorkeling.

Negatives: The room wasn't awful but wasn't in great shape either. The mattress was flimsy and very uncomfortable. The room was hot and noisy- there is no AC and we didn't get that much airflow through the room. On day there was a guy with a power saw and a jackhammer working on something all day and making a ton of noise while we were trying to relax by the pool. Other than the beach, the location is not near a whole lot and food options are limited.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JonG83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockyHawaii, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Aloha Jon,

It was definitely unfortunate that our main water line broke during your stay.Thus my maintenance crew had to make considerable noise to dig up and repair the broken main. Normally, our resort is much quieter.

Should you consider staying with us again, please contact me directly.

Thank you,

Scott Ullrich
Napili Surf Beach resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Overall this place was great. Clean, very friendly and accommodating staff, really nice grounds, excellent beach, and excellent snorkeling right out in front of the resort. I would definitely recommend this to others and I can't wait to go back. One side note there is no restaurant on the property but there are full kitchens in the condos and plenty of BBQ grills around the property and a market very near by.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockyHawaii, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Aloha Michael,

Thank you for your recomendations. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Napili Surf Beach Resort.

Hope to see you soon A Hui Hou!

Scott Ullrich
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay at Napili Surf. The staff was excellent and friendly, and they even refunded us a night of our stay when we checked out - realizing we had booked one night too many (even though they were surely not going to be able to rebook it). The beach was fantastic! The snorkeling was the best we found on Maui (we didn't go to Molokini or Turtle Town). My husband went out at sunrise and saw sea turtles feasting right on the rocks near the beach, and we went out with just our snorkels and masks (no fins or belts), and we found it perfectly comfortable to swim around and see tons of tropical fish, some eels, octopi, coral, and anemones. It was great to have it steps outside of our door!

The only reason we didn't give this place 5 rating is that our unit was the furthest from the beach, and it could be quite noisy with traffic noise at all hours of the day and night. For the most part, our neighbors were all quiet, and that's good, because it is very close quarters around the resort - which also wasn't very conducive to romantic environment. There was no AC, and I doubt it'd be a problem in a beach-front unit, but we didn't get a lot of breeze through the unit, because we were between buildings and backed up to a hill.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clamms6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I am not young myself but I like to have a good time once in a while. I go to Hawaii to sit back and have a few drinks and relax with friends. We like to sit outside at night. During my stay I felt like I was being watched by all the guests. We were not loud but we got notices to be more quiet. Most of the people at this resort were much older than we were, retired, etc. We just didn't feel at home. We felt like we were staying at a retirement resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Armando R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here 5 days and each and every day we had either sanding and grinding going on downstairs, near the pool or next door in any one unit. EVERY DAY.
Tough when there is no air conditioning and you have to have all windows open so you get air so you won't roast.
Nice locale but I can,t ever recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rickNewportbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
3.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.5 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 stars 347 reviews
4.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 3,486 reviews
8.7 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Napili Shores
Napili Shores
#18 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Surf Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Surf Beach Resort

Property: Napili Surf Beach Resort
Address: 50 Napili Pl, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Napili Surf Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint beachfront property is right on beautiful Napili Bay, a mere 50 to 150 steps into the amazing clear ocean water. Swimming, snorkeling, sun-bathing and stand up boarding are all available a few feet from your room. We are located along Kapalua and its world-class golf courses, Napili Surf Beach Resort is minutes away from Kaanapali and historic Lahaina Town. Fully-equipped condos offer the amenities and convenience of a resort, including daily housekeeping service and complimentary wireless Internet, with the comfort of your own home. Beautiful oceanfront grounds, two swimming pools, three barbecues, each with its own herb garden. Napili Surf Beach Resort is a non-smoking property. Please note that our rooms do not have air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Napili Surf Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Surf Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Surf Beach Lahaina
Napili Surf Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing