We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful, magical place to stay with great staff and marvelous views with all the comforts of home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Napili Surf Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Napili Surf Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Bartlett, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful, magical place to stay with great staff and marvelous views with all the comforts of home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We loved our stay on Maui and this was the perfect spot to stay! We had an ocean view and the constant ocean breeze and surf noise was just magical! The worst part of our stay here was packing up to go home. We could not recommend it any more if we tried!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    64
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
88
182
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This place was average to below average.

Positives: The beach is nice and there is very good snorkeling.

Negatives: The room wasn't awful but wasn't in great shape either. The mattress was flimsy and very uncomfortable. The room was hot and noisy- there is no AC and we didn't get that much airflow through the room. On day there was a guy with a power saw and a jackhammer working on something all day and making a ton of noise while we were trying to relax by the pool. Other than the beach, the location is not near a whole lot and food options are limited.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JonG83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockyHawaii, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Aloha Jon,

It was definitely unfortunate that our main water line broke during your stay.Thus my maintenance crew had to make considerable noise to dig up and repair the broken main. Normally, our resort is much quieter.

Should you consider staying with us again, please contact me directly.

Thank you,

Scott Ullrich
Napili Surf Beach resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Overall this place was great. Clean, very friendly and accommodating staff, really nice grounds, excellent beach, and excellent snorkeling right out in front of the resort. I would definitely recommend this to others and I can't wait to go back. One side note there is no restaurant on the property but there are full kitchens in the condos and plenty of BBQ grills around the property and a market very near by.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockyHawaii, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Aloha Michael,

Thank you for your recomendations. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Napili Surf Beach Resort.

Hope to see you soon A Hui Hou!

Scott Ullrich
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay at Napili Surf. The staff was excellent and friendly, and they even refunded us a night of our stay when we checked out - realizing we had booked one night too many (even though they were surely not going to be able to rebook it). The beach was fantastic! The snorkeling was the best we found on Maui (we didn't go to Molokini or Turtle Town). My husband went out at sunrise and saw sea turtles feasting right on the rocks near the beach, and we went out with just our snorkels and masks (no fins or belts), and we found it perfectly comfortable to swim around and see tons of tropical fish, some eels, octopi, coral, and anemones. It was great to have it steps outside of our door!

The only reason we didn't give this place 5 rating is that our unit was the furthest from the beach, and it could be quite noisy with traffic noise at all hours of the day and night. For the most part, our neighbors were all quiet, and that's good, because it is very close quarters around the resort - which also wasn't very conducive to romantic environment. There was no AC, and I doubt it'd be a problem in a beach-front unit, but we didn't get a lot of breeze through the unit, because we were between buildings and backed up to a hill.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clamms6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I am not young myself but I like to have a good time once in a while. I go to Hawaii to sit back and have a few drinks and relax with friends. We like to sit outside at night. During my stay I felt like I was being watched by all the guests. We were not loud but we got notices to be more quiet. Most of the people at this resort were much older than we were, retired, etc. We just didn't feel at home. We felt like we were staying at a retirement resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Armando R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here 5 days and each and every day we had either sanding and grinding going on downstairs, near the pool or next door in any one unit. EVERY DAY.
Tough when there is no air conditioning and you have to have all windows open so you get air so you won't roast.
Nice locale but I can,t ever recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rickNewportbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach,CA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We have been coming to Hawaii (all islands) for over 30 years. Maui is one of our favorite islands. We have never stayed in the Napili area so we decided to spend a week there August after two weeks in the Kanaapali and Honokowai areas. I had "checked out" the Napili area on a previous trip and decided after checking properties that Napili Surf looked great. So this is where we stayed. BEST CHOICE ON NAPILI BAY !!!!! We stayed in a studio 218 and had a fabulous view of the sea. Upon arrival (requested by my fabulous husband of 44 years) Napili Surf had waiting a beautiful tropical flower arrangement, champagne and a fresh cold sliced pinapple in our room to help us celebrate our anniversary. (No charge !!) The room was immaculate, view fabulous and right on Napili Bay. Walked right down to the beach, they even had beach chairs to use. The grounds were immaculately kept. Pool beach side to boot. A short stroll down the beach was the SeaHouse Resturant with a fabulous happy hour and the dinner was excelent also. (No need to drink and drive !) We asked Scott the manager for late checkout since we had a late flight. He said oh let me check the computer.....he said no one was checking in right after us and to stay as late as we want ! When I went to settle the bill I asked where close by was a internet place where I could print out our boarding passes for the flight, he said oh right here. Help yourself to our computer !! What ALOHA Customer Service !!! I would highly recommend the Napili Surf.......we will certainly be back. We want to take all our kids and grandkids. Great grassy area for kids to play, suffle board for older kids. Thank you Napili Surf for a fabulous beach.....including several turtles coming close to take pictures.....great view, friendly staff and super guest relations !! PS they even have a Mai Tai party on Wednesdays Sunset on the grass and a Friday AM, coffee and breakfast !! How great is that !! ALOHA

Room Tip: On their website they have weekly specials.....check it out every week you never know what deal you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Rondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
8.7 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
3.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.5 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.1 mi away
Napili Shores
Napili Shores
#19 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 604 reviews
5.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#15 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 3,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Surf Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Surf Beach Resort

Property: Napili Surf Beach Resort
Address: 50 Napili Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Napili Surf Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint beachfront property is right on beautiful Napili Bay, a mere 50 to 150 steps into the amazing clear ocean water. Swimming, snorkeling, sun-bathing and stand up boarding are all available a few feet from your room. We are located along Kapalua and its world-class golf courses, Napili Surf Beach Resort is minutes away from Kaanapali and historic Lahaina Town. Fully-equipped condos offer the amenities and convenience of a resort, including daily housekeeping service and complimentary wireless Internet, with the comfort of your own home. Beautiful oceanfront grounds, two swimming pools, three barbecues, each with its own herb garden. Napili Surf Beach Resort is a non-smoking property. Please note that our rooms do not have air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Napili Surf Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Surf Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Surf Beach Lahaina
Napili Surf Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing