We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK, but what do you expect for $145/night!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2007

We booked through Maui Beachfront Rentals and I think the rate was very good. It seems like most of these places get snatched up quickly for this time of year because we were limited in what we had to choose from booking 3-4 months in advance. We met a very nice couple who was staying for a month, right over the ocean for the same price we were paying up by the lobby-good for them for planning ahead!
The unit itself (#236) it was clean and had everything it reported it would have. The decor is fine, what you would expect from a rental condo. It had a view of the koi pond and garden and a little peek of the ocean to the left. We knew we were getting a garden view. There were a few extras we hadn't expected that were nice such as a hair dryer, a noodle for the pool/ocean, two boogie boards, a foam ice chest and one beach chair. The could have provided more bath towels-we brought our own beach towels.
The bedroom of this unit is basically over the parking lot and walkway of the second floor of the building and this place is loud at night.
The Outrigger Napili Shores is opposite a neighborhood and cars were flying down the road all night. Everytime someone parked and locked their rental car in the lot, the alarm horn went off. People were knocking on doors at 4:45 a.m. and those off to the airport early rolling their suitcases down the cement coridor and talking to each other-all of this sounds like it's going on in the bedroom-it is loud. We didn't have really hot weather, but still needed to have the window open and the fan going-but even if the single pane glass slat windows were shut tight-they wouldn't have been effective in blocking out all that noise. It was more quiet in the living room, but then you are sleeping on a fold out couch that wasn't super comfortable. Pick your poison. Bring earplugs and expect noise. It was the worst the first night (a Monday) and calmed down a bit after that.
The other thing about this unit is that if you are sitting on the lanai or on the couch you look directly down into the Fish and Poi restaurant. It didn't really bother us, but it's a little unusual.
The grounds are pretty and well kept with two pools and one HOT hot tub. There are several BBQ's for use near the upper pool and we used them a couple times-that was nice.
The other people who were staying here were super nice and friendly! Lots of grandma/grandpa types some with their families and some with groups of friends, but they were all so very nice to our little girl.
We did not eat at either the Fish and Poi or the Gazebo-everyone was sure lining up every morning for those pancakes though! Was it my imagination or does the whole resort smell a little like syrup? I swear it does! We had a great dinner at the Sea House at the Napili Kai.
The stretch of beach is beautiful and we saw tons of whales. We played in the waves for hours-the water is so pretty and brilliant shades of blue. There are tide pools and big sea turtles too. It's a great little area.
So all that said, I rate the place as a whole as "OK"-but I think in Hawaii, you probably shouldn't expect more than OK for $145/night.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Maui4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (685)
There are newer reviews for Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

537 - 543 of 685 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2007

Before booking our vaction we had the Travel Agent check on the smoking regulations. The policy at that time was no smoking in the rooms but smoking was alright if you were 20 feet from the rooms. This is a good policy and we were happy to comply. The problem is that in January 2007 after we had already booked the Condo Owners passed a change to this policy. Thier new policy is no smoking on the property.

When checking in we again asked about smoking and were told that 20 feet from the rooms was OK. I am sorry to say that the Condo Owners have taken enforcement to a level that is ratter disappointing. Even though we smoked at thier assigned smoking area (Beside the garbage cans) there was constant harasment. To the point that on several occasions smokers were told to leave the site and smoke on the street by a Condo Owner.

Needless to say these the Condo Owners should slow down let the Management Staff for Outrigger advise the guests on the Smoking Policy Change. There is no need for the Condo Owners to enforce changes, they are not trained in any sort of hospitality and end up being rude.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank raerob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2007

My first ever experience on the islands of Hawaii, we stood here. My husband and I have been to many different places, from Florida to Puerto Rico. This place was wonderful! The staff, service, cleanliness, room, etc.; Ever since, when we go to Maui (we have gone back of course!) I don't want to stay anywhere else. We have gone to other hotels on the island, just to check it out. Napili Shores is definately the place we want to stay that has all of what the other's offer. Less busy, noisy and more of the island appeal we were looking for. Like I said, we will never stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: October 2003, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ArizonaLala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2007

We have just returned from the Outrigger where we stayed for 9 nights. Room 154 was excellent. View of the ocean but not directly in front of it. Arrived on a Monday night which wasn't so good as the restaurant is actually closed on a Monday. After a long flight, we just wanted a quick bite to eat and then bed.

Nice to have your own kitchen area with large fridge/freezer, dishwasher and also a flat screen TV.

Disappointed with the location. Napili is known as one of the cloudiest/wettest parts of the island and when you are travelling from Scotland in January, it's nice to have a bit of sunshine!

Ate in the restaurant (Fish & Poi) on a couple of occasions. Food was to a good standard although the first time we ate there we received our main course while we were still eating the starter! Even though the guy noticed this, he just dumped them on the table and took off!

We didn't have a hired car but eventually hired one for 2 days. Nearest restaurants at Napili Plaza are 15 minutes walk away and Lahaina is 15 minutes drive away. Most of the snorkelling trips/whale watching depart from other parts of the island and do not pick up from Napili which was why we hired the car. Also the trips are much cheaper booking in Lahaina than direct. The trip to Hana does pick up from the hotel and is worthwhile doing. Very knowledgeable guide who was born and bred in Maui - also very unusual as everybody else seems to be from every other part of the States.

Would have preferred staying in Lahaina with plenty choices of restaurants and bars. Outrigger was a little too quiet for our liking. No atmosphere in the bar (it's tiny) and also closed on a Monday night! Would recommend for familiies and older people (lots of them). We are mid 40s (no kids) but like a bit of an atmosphere and good choice of restaurants.

Saying that, we can't fault the rooms or the grounds which were immaculate.

Didn't have a problem with the rooms being cleaned every 3 days. Most of these condos are privately owned therefore I imagine the owners wouldn't want interrupted daily. Just makes you more independent. One slight complaint is that when the maid did come (we had just finished our breakfast and had not done the dishes), she placed our dishes in the dishwasher and put it on for an hour! Bearing in mind there were only two of us - with two cereal bowls and two glasses, it was a tad wasteful!

If you are staying at the Outrigger the staff are friendly and helpful. Would recommend car hire if you want a bit more variety. A taxi to Lahaina costs $30 one-way. The bus into Lahaina is hourly but they go off at 9pm. A taxi to Napili Plaza costs $10 one way and has three restaurants. We preferred the Outback Steakhouse. Roy's was a bit pretentious!

Not the fault of the hotel - but more central for us next time we go.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank DOTIAINEDINBURGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2006

We just returned from our stay at the Outrigger Napili Shores and loved it. The room was newly remodeled and we were pleasantly suprised to find high-end touches like granite counter tops. The kitchenette was great - all new appliances and fully stocked with every kind of dish/ glassware/ container you could need (we even had margarita glasses!) We also had a great balcony with a beautiful view of the ocean, and a high vaulted ceiling. We had our 8 month old with us and were glad to see that the hotel was very family friendly. All in all, we were really glad we had chosen the OUtrigger Napili instead of one of the larger, high-rise hotels, and we would definitely stay again if we return to Maui.

Stayed: December 2006
2  Thank SeattleTravelingFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2006

Stayed only 2 nights before we could get in to the Napili Kai up the beach. Room was remodeled and furniture was new with flatscreen tv. However, we were not told that housekeeping comes only every 3 days and we were responsible for taking out our own trash. We had roaches in the nightstands, were not provided a key to the safe, and our ceiling fan only worked in the position where in forced hot air down over the bed. We reported these things yet nothing was done. Check in is 3:00 pm, we arrived at 6:30 pm. We asked for a late check-out, only an extra hour, and they wanted to charge us $25.00 even after all of the problems with our room. It is a good place for families and great beach access and good restaurants, but we won't stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank heydeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2006

Wow - every bit of this trip was amazing! It was so relaxing and laid back, despite the fact that we never actually stood still for 2 minutes, there was so much to do and see and we only had 6 days to do it in. Rather than sit around the pool and "chill out" we had a go at most things including driving the road to Hana; driving up to the top of the mountain (10k+feet); snokelling with the turtles; surfing lessons (you can't not have a go); sunset cruise. I could go on............in summary - not to be missed if you ever get the opportunity.

The accomodation was first class, we paid a wee bit more to get an ocean front view and it was well worth it - it was amazing to watch, see and hear the waves crashing in all the time. We got a one bedroom apartment - which had a king size bed, and which had 2 single beds in the living room - plenty of room for 2 adults & 2 children. The location was great, all facilities in the apt that you might want/need while on holiday if you want to do self catering. The restaurant in the hotel was really good, as were lots of others in the vicinity.

A wander round to the next bay to go swimming with the turtles is a must - rent some snokelling gear from Snorkel Bob's along the road from the hotel - the hotel reception will give you directions. It was incredible. You can go on lots of (expensive) organised trips by boat to also go snorkelling with the variety of wildlife that is around the island, however this was incredible and just off the shore, and you can stay for as long as you want.

Another recommendation was to buy a CD of the road trip to Hana rather than go on a formal trip. This allowed you to spend more time where it interested you and skip quickly by the area that weren't quite as interesting for you. It really gives very good information about the area and tells you when to switch it on and off as you pass by various landmarks - we would have missed a lot of really interesting things if we did not have it as a lot is off the main road and not in sight. If you do go on this trip one bit of warning remember you are in a tropical rain forrest, with lots of mossies and other nasty biting insects if you walk in the trees - take the repellant with you if you. The views along this road are amazing - well worth the trip.

We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Scottish-Tourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
5.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4,118 reviews
4.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
3.4 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,094 reviews
4.6 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#19 of 32 in Lahaina
4,065 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Kapalua Villas, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger

Address: 5315 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9096 (Formerly Outrigger Napili Shores)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#21 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $177 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Napili Shores Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Napili Shores
Outrigger Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Napili Shores Maui By Outrigger Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing