We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Nearby Hotels
$393
$339
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$511
$479
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$287
$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$388
$359
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$397
$299
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$239
$215
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$299
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Lahaina Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$407
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Kaanapali Beach Hotel(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
$268
$225
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (719)
Filter reviews
719 results
Traveler rating
322
302
61
25
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
322
302
61
25
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgazebo restaurantupper poolocean frontmacadamia nut pancakeshot tubplumeria treesfull kitchenoceanfront studiothere is no air conditioningturtle baygarden viewlouvered windowslow keybody surfingminute driveevery morninggreat snorkeling
Filter
Updating list...
571 - 576 of 719 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2006

We just returned from our stay at the Outrigger Napili Shores and loved it. The room was newly remodeled and we were pleasantly suprised to find high-end touches like granite counter tops. The kitchenette was great - all new appliances and fully stocked with every kind of dish/ glassware/ container you could need (we even had margarita glasses!) We also had a great balcony with a beautiful view of the ocean, and a high vaulted ceiling. We had our 8 month old with us and were glad to see that the hotel was very family friendly. All in all, we were really glad we had chosen the OUtrigger Napili instead of one of the larger, high-rise hotels, and we would definitely stay again if we return to Maui.

Stayed: December 2006
2  Thank SeattleTravelingFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2006

Stayed only 2 nights before we could get in to the Napili Kai up the beach. Room was remodeled and furniture was new with flatscreen tv. However, we were not told that housekeeping comes only every 3 days and we were responsible for taking out our own trash. We had roaches in the nightstands, were not provided a key to the safe, and our ceiling fan only worked in the position where in forced hot air down over the bed. We reported these things yet nothing was done. Check in is 3:00 pm, we arrived at 6:30 pm. We asked for a late check-out, only an extra hour, and they wanted to charge us $25.00 even after all of the problems with our room. It is a good place for families and great beach access and good restaurants, but we won't stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank heydeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2006

Wow - every bit of this trip was amazing! It was so relaxing and laid back, despite the fact that we never actually stood still for 2 minutes, there was so much to do and see and we only had 6 days to do it in. Rather than sit around the pool and "chill out" we had a go at most things including driving the road to Hana; driving up to the top of the mountain (10k+feet); snokelling with the turtles; surfing lessons (you can't not have a go); sunset cruise. I could go on............in summary - not to be missed if you ever get the opportunity.

The accomodation was first class, we paid a wee bit more to get an ocean front view and it was well worth it - it was amazing to watch, see and hear the waves crashing in all the time. We got a one bedroom apartment - which had a king size bed, and which had 2 single beds in the living room - plenty of room for 2 adults & 2 children. The location was great, all facilities in the apt that you might want/need while on holiday if you want to do self catering. The restaurant in the hotel was really good, as were lots of others in the vicinity.

A wander round to the next bay to go swimming with the turtles is a must - rent some snokelling gear from Snorkel Bob's along the road from the hotel - the hotel reception will give you directions. It was incredible. You can go on lots of (expensive) organised trips by boat to also go snorkelling with the variety of wildlife that is around the island, however this was incredible and just off the shore, and you can stay for as long as you want.

Another recommendation was to buy a CD of the road trip to Hana rather than go on a formal trip. This allowed you to spend more time where it interested you and skip quickly by the area that weren't quite as interesting for you. It really gives very good information about the area and tells you when to switch it on and off as you pass by various landmarks - we would have missed a lot of really interesting things if we did not have it as a lot is off the main road and not in sight. If you do go on this trip one bit of warning remember you are in a tropical rain forrest, with lots of mossies and other nasty biting insects if you walk in the trees - take the repellant with you if you. The views along this road are amazing - well worth the trip.

We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Scottish-Tourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2006

My husband and I have been staying in Napili Bay each year for our wedding anniversary. It's where we go to get away from it all. We have snorkelled all over Maui and Lanai but the best is right in Napili! Our typical day would be to drive to Lahaina for breakfast at Moose's (so big you take half back for the next day) then back to the condo to snorkel for 1-2 hours. Take a dip in the pool then lay a chaise on the grass overlooking the ocean......read or snooze. We rent directly from the owner and save about 40%. Everything is provided, from napkins to seasonings and we usually BBQ most nights we stay here. Awesome BBQ area and you meet some great people from all over. There are terrific restaurants close by too..

There can be noise here; sometimes babies & toddlers; just bring ear plugs. We have found that for the value we can stay twice as long and that makes Napili Shores worth it!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank Trojan-Wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2006

My family and I just got back from a seven-night stay in an ocean-view one bedroom (B209). Very good value for the $$. We used to live down the road in Kahana, and I would often go snorkeling in Honokeana Cove (to the left of the Outrigger) to see the green sea turtles who hang out there. On this trip I wanted my kids (ages 8 & 11) to enjoy this unique Maui experience, since they were too young to do so when we lived there. Our first morning we went down to the cove, and within 30 seconds we were in snorkel heaven. They later joked that the cove was like "Turtle Soup." If you want to snorkel with turtles and see lots of marine life up close, the Napili Outrigger puts you within a few hundred yards of the best snorkel spot on Maui. Believe me, no boat trip can ever beat it (I've been on them all), so save your money for other pleasures.

We paid $190/night, booked directly with Outrigger. Check-in was fast -- got our towels, key cards, and headed to our room. The upstairs units are best, as the high ceilings really help keep the place cool, plus you don't have anyone creaking around above you or walking right past your lanai. Two daybeds in the living room for our 2 kids, a seperate bedroom in the back towards the parking lot, sparse but quaint island decor, and ceiling fans (no AC). Fully-loaded kitchen with new toaster, coffeemaker, dishwasher, refrigerator, all the utensils and dishes/glasses you need, includiing BBQ stuff. All very clean. Big shower, hairdryer provided. Plan to make use of the broom in the closet as you'll be tracking in sand, and regular maid service is only every 3rd day (if you want it every day just call and it's no extra charge). I brought ear plugs as I am sensitive to noise, turned out to be a good idea due to proximity of parking lot to master bedroom. Car alarms, the bane of modern existence, would go off at night - not the hotel's fault. People in general were very considerate of the quiet hours, we found -- but if there's a baby in the next room, or you're unlucky enough to lodge next to the "Loud Family from Hell" (there's always one in every hotel) you're going to hear it.

Definitely try Fish & Poi one night, or for lunch - it's reasonably priced, and the food is very fresh and very good. They have a daily happy hour from 4-5pm with reduced-price drinks and pupus. The Gazebo is still as good as I remember, not worth waiting in line for every morning, though. Try the Coffee Store in Napili Marketplace up the road (they have very good quiche, smoothies, and gourmet pastries). Another must-try is the Honokowai Okazuya / Deli down the lower H (lower Honoapiilani Road) in Honokowai - the Lemon Caper Mahi Mahi is fabulous. But the best bet is the Outrigger's own Turtle Soup, it's on the house...

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
16  Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews