We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Loved Loved Napili shores”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved Loved Loved Napili shores”
Reviewed October 1, 2008

We were amazed at how perfect Napili Shores was for us.We had an oceanfront condo(A206).We could hear the waves crashing 24/7 and how nice they were to fall asleep to.There were dolphins playing and jumping out of the water daily and the snorkeling was great,beautiful colorful fish and turtles galore.This was such a relaxing resort that is well kept,not fancy in any way but really nice and in a quieter part of west Maui.We thought it was close to nearly everyplace we wanted to go to dine and shop.We did have a rental car but one day a part of our party went to a destination we had already seen so they took the car and I took the Maui bus ($ 1.00) and went to Whalers Village and it only took about 15-20 mins. to get there and super cheap too.We highly recommend Napili Shores and don't forget to get the banana mac pancakes at The Gazebo which is located on the property.

  • Liked — our room was right on the beach and the resort was filled with plumeria trees-ohhhh the scent-beautiful
  • Disliked — we only got to stay 2 weeks- (cry) really though the front desk could have been more friendly the did not seem very happy
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank felixncharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    286
    57
    22
    9
See reviews for
183
327
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tracy, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2008

We have just returned home from 10 days in Maui, staying at the Outrigger Napili Shores. I have been coming to Napili Shores since 1986 and can not say enough good things about this place. The grounds are beautiful and it is situated on a gorgeous section of the Napili Bay coastline with access to a family friendly beach or Honokeana Cove, a sea turtle haven. The staff is always friendly and the rooms clean.

There is the always busy Gazebo for terrific breakfast & lunch and a new place, Napili Tavern (they have taken over Fish & Poi). Napili Tavern's menu seemed a little lacking but our choices were quite delicious. Napili Tavern has only just taken over the restaurant, but I think as it matures it will do well.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmkahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2008

We stayed at the Outrigger Napili for 6 days in July for my brother's wedding. The resort has studio and one-bedroom rooms/suites, in either Ocean or Garden view. We found that location is *very* important, especially in the hot months. We first booked a Garden suite. The room was nice inside, but there were 2 problems: first, the room overlooked one of the pools, resulting in a lot of noise; and second, the room faced away from Napili Bay. That meant that the nice cool sea breeze couldn't come in, and the un-airconditioned room was too warm for us. We upgraded to a second-floor oceanview room, and what a difference! Apart from the stunning view, the room always got a nice cool breeze and was very comfortable. We were almost cold at night! In the cooler months, the lack of a/c probably isn't a problem, and it certainly was nice and quiet at night -- no humming, rattling ac units. But we felt it was DEFINITELY worthwhile to upgrade. We were in G building and didn't notice any noise from the restaurants as others have mentioned. Both restaurants were great, staff was generally friendly, and Napili Bay has got to be one of the more beautiful places on earth. And we loved the 10 pm quiet hour; it was so relaxing!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank historybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2008

I spent 4 days & 3 nights @ the Outrigger Napili Shores around Labor Day weekend 2007. I chose this hotel because I had read the beach waters in front were rich with Honu (The Hawaiian Green Sea Turtle). The first thing I noticed after we left the airport (OGG) was that this hotel was quite a long drive away. It is located a few miles north of the more popular & crowded resort area of Kaanapali Beach. When we pulled into the hotel it wasn't any fancy resort and the main restaurant seemed to be closed down. Once we were in our rooms though we were very happy. Our room was very large and had a full kitchen so we purchased some breakfast foods at a nearby market and ate in our room every morning. The room did not have AC but there was a nice breeze off the ocean and we never felt too hot. You can see a neighboring island (Lana'i I believe) from the hotel grounds and the sunset off the west shore was spectacular. There is a rocky beach directly in front of hotel, that if you can navigate across the rocks, has perfect snorkeling waters that are filled with Honu. About 50 yards to the right is a more traditional sandy beach shared with other neighboring hotels that is perfect to lounge, swim, and snorkel. Please enjoy the turtles here, but do not pet them or try to hold onto them. They are very large and you should do your best to stay clear of them as the waves come crashing in as their weight might knock you over! But they are amazing to watch & photograph. If that's your thing, I highly recommend this hotel. There is a small breakfast/lunch only restaurant near one of the pools but we did not eat there - it always seemed to have a crowd and I'd heard good things about it. This hotel was less expensive than many others, but still not the cheapest. We had a rental car and spent little time here but it was perfect for what we were looking for. I would say the main negative was that it was far away from everything kind of. It doesn't even really seem to be in Lahaina at all, although with most Hawaiian islands, things like this don't seem important. If you don't mind being away from the hustle & bustle of busier resort areas, I would definitely recommend. But you will need a rental car to see the rest of the island! The hotel staff was very nice and while I"ve stayed in fancier places in the islands, this was a great for the price (about $140/night).

  • Liked — Large rooms with full kitchens, the beach waters in front filled with turtles (Honu)
  • Disliked — It felt far away from most restaurants, other beaches, main roads around Maui.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jami674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2008

Only 2 nights but it was well work the power vacation concept. We thought it would be really far from everything but it is closer than you think.

Studio condo was large enough for both of us with all the amenities we expected. Only drawback was no full tub.

The front desk staff did a good job at check in and warned me about the line at the Gazzebo breakfast and to order take out.

2 pools on the long property. They have a bell to ring if you see whales.

Check out was nice and the clerk asked how was everything and was sincere.

Definitely worth a return visit to this property!

  • Liked — Peaceful and accessible
  • Disliked — No full tubs
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank holycowabunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2008

My boyfriend and I booked an ocean view studio for March 2008 and had an unbelievable time. The first morning we woke up and had breakfast on our balcony and saw a couple whales breach... It was unbelievable! Apparently March is the best time to see the whales because there about 1,500 that are there and have had their babies... Definitely do a whale watching cruise if you have time. We did it through the Pacific Whale Foundation which is a non-profit so we felt good about doing it with them. We saw a baby whale breach twice and its mom. But anyway, the hotel was perfect for us. It was definitely a family place but that didn't stop us from enjoying it too. The pool in the garden area was very nice and warm, much warmer than the pool down by the water, which although it had a great view, was FREEZING! We did come down there just about every evening to watch the sunset which was just awesome. The beach is great and isn't overly crowded like some of the other beaches around Maui. Napili Kai Beach Club is also just a short walk and it has a great restaurant, although it is a litle pricey (but so is everything in Maui!) It is a distance to drive from Napili to anywhere else on the Island such as Kaanapali or Lahaina so that does start to irritate you if you are spending a lot of time out and about. But the hotel and the Napili area do have everything you need so if you are just wanting to hang around your hotel, its great. I don't recommend buying a bunch of groceries and thinking you will stay there and use the kitchen... We did that and of course we ended up wasting a lot of the food we bought for dinner and lunch because we really wanted to go out every evening. But for families or large groups there are picnic areas and barbeques around that would be great to use. Also, the grocery stores are VERY expensive... one lady told me she paid almost $9 for a gallon of milk! So make sure you take stock of what you really need before you buy it. Anyways, we loved Napili Shores and would stay there again if the price was reasonable. We may decide to stay closer to Lahaina next time. I don't recommend staying on the other side of the Island in Wailea, very stuffy and sterile feeling... And there are plenty of 4 star hotels near Lahaina that are much more welcoming. The staff at Napili Shores was very friendly but I only had to talk to them on check-in and check out because we had no problems. The maid services came twice in the 6 days we were there but we could have requested them to come more if we wanted to. All in all, it was a fantastic trip and a beautiful spot. Aloha!

  • Liked — The view and the grounds
  • Disliked — The distance to the other areas of Maui
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akoneill826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2008

I have stayed at Napili Shores twice. Both times, I have loved our garden view room, the pools, Fish and Poi restaurant, and awesome Gazebo dining. This is not a fancy location, but is in great proximity to beaches and not far from Kaanapali and lahaina.

When we stayed this time, I noticed the area is struggling in the current. To keep the rooms full, Napili Shores is renting rooms to traveling construction workers. They fill the rooms with 4 or more workers -- probably to save money. The unfortunate part is that they start drinking when they get off work and hang out on the stairs. They go to bed early - 9 pm -- but wake up to head off to work around 5 am and are very noisey and creud.

Surprisingly, this problem recurred 3 times. The "Irish guys" left and were replaced by two other equally rowdy crews. The foul language was unfortunate since we were traveling with our young children.

Call me a prude, but it's not what I had hoped for during our annual family vacation.

Be warned, if you see the concierge for help with booking activities, she will push attending a time share presentation. She made a dreadful recommendation for the Royal Lahaina Luau. I suspect it was because she gets the best cut for the referral. It was over crowded, the drinks were watered down, the food was reminicient of a high school cafeteria, and restrooms were filthy! I've seen many luaus and this was just sad.

On a final high note, we saw lots of fish and turtles when snorkling. And the concierge did recommend a zodiak trip to see whales. They were phenominal!!!

Happy travels!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
5 Thank AdventureAdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
5.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,995 reviews
4.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
3.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,491 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
3.3 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger

Property: Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Address: 5315 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9096 (Formerly Outrigger Napili Shores)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#21 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Napili Shores Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Napili Shores
Outrigger Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Napili Shores Maui By Outrigger Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing