We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We loved Napili Shores - we were there for a week - and, took advantage of the pool, the beach, the BBQ grills and found everything to be better every day. I was very nervous about the parking lot complaints with the restaurant - we just did not find that to be a problem at all.. and, I am a light sleeper! (And - the pancakes WERE good - but, get the Fried Rice breakfast - and, you will have enough food for a few days - the servings were generous to say the least!)

And - the shower head? Was easy for us to get under (don't you hate those hotels with shower heads set at 5 feet? This one had to be at 6 and a half feet - and, made showering so nice!)

There is no air conditioning - but we requested an additional fan - and, only used it one night - we found the breezes with an open screen door on the 2nd floor balcony kept us cool.

Everybody we met shared that this was their 5th or 6th time staying there.. and, I can assure you - it was *just* my first - I already am planning to return..

If I had one complaint? It would be so nice if there was a gym at the Outrigger - but, the staff did tell us how to get a reduced rate at the local gym.

The staff - the grounds - the room - the location.. everything was just perfect.

Thanks!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsrmanager, General Manager at Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Mahalo nui loa for your complimentary review! We try very hard to make every guest experience just like yours. Until we see you again, aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (685)
There are newer reviews for Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

266 - 272 of 685 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

Then please be advised... If you choose to stay here be you should be aware that one bedroom garden view rooms are located adjacent to the parking lot. The same parking lot that diners flock to in droves beginning at 6:45 am each morning to dine at trip advisors highly rated breakfast spot, The Gazebo located ocean front on Napili Shores property poolside. Any meaningful rest ceases as soon as cars park, doors open and slam shut, car alarms are set and conversations ensue as patrons begin their trek to The Gazebo as this occurs within 12 feet of your bedroom window if you are in a first floor room like we were. Building F to be exact. Not at all relaxing and I found it disrespectful to the paying guests of the hotel. Just gate the parking lot off for guests. It's pretty simple.

Other reviews cover it, it's a beautiful locale. Napili bay is unrivaled for swimming, snorkeling and bodysurfing. Good for families. Please note, housekeeping is on a schedule of once every third day. That may be a deal breaker for some...

Room Tip: Stay away from parking lots
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank totallye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsrmanager, General Manager at Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for yur feedback. We are sorry your sleep was disturbed. As the Gazebo is one of the most popular breakfast destinations on the island, we do see a lot of outside visitors. We do have signs and ask all visitors to be respectful of quiet hours which end at 8:00 AM, however there can be an occasional disturbance especially for light sleepers. Closing off the parking lot is unfortunately not an option and would inconvenience our guests as well as add to traffic congestion in the small Napili community.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Napili Shores is a great spot - we return year after year!! Napili Bay is beautiful, the surf is often a little big for small kids, but my 7 year old was able to handle it no problem. We would just walk down to the far end of the Bay and it is a little more calm.

The grounds are beautifully kept. The two pools are cool. The top pool is usually a little warmer, the bottom pool (closest to the ocean) is really cold. Keep your kids away from the hot tub! Heaven forbid they dip their little toes in to warm up. Even if no one else is at the pool there are hot tub spies - busy bodies who can't want to call the front desk and complain.

Over all it is a great spot, well equipped kitchen, everything you would need for a home away from home. We love it here! The huge grassy area in the middle of the complex is great for the kids they all meet up for a game of tag or soccer after breakfast before heading out for a great day on Maui, then they meet up again in the afternoon while the parents make dinner. Its a great place for families.

The parking is great, we usually don't have any problem parking close to our front door. It can be a little noisy in the morning with deliveries, garbage trucks etc.

There is a little grocery store about a minute drive from the condo, which is very handy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3monkeysforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsrmanager, General Manager at Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for your complimentary review of our resort. Children under 5 are not allowed in the Hot Tub for health reasons, however we have no problem with them just dipping their feet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is the second time my husband and I have been to Maui. The last time was 2001 on our 3 week, 3 island honeymoon. We stayed south of Lahaina last time. This time I wanted something right on the beach. I chose Napili Shores because it was an Outrigger Property and they always have beautiful grounds and take good care of their guests and Napili bay had snorkeling and a sand beach. I was not disappointed. The condo is not new, built in the 1970's I believe, but it was absolutely spotless! We had a studio with a king bed, a lovely view of the ocean in 2 directions (we chose an ocean view, not ocean front). The kitchen was very well equipped. They even had a blender, a dishwasher and the fridge had an ice maker. We used the BBQs for a couple of meals. The maids came every 3 days and that was plenty. The staff was friendly and helpful. Laundry room was secure and very reasonable. ($1.25 for wash or dry) I would DEFINITELY stay there again. We stayed in B207. It was very quiet except for the sound of the waves. We ordered from the Gazebo as takeout to eat on our 2nd floor lanai. Perfect. It was literally 30 seconds to the beach! I'm not kidding!
for takeout to eat on our 2nd floor lanai. Perfect. The walk to the beach took 30 seconds! I'm not kidding. Parking was never a problem and free. I did use the lower pool with wonderful views. No
AC but we didn't need it, between the ceiling fans and when the trades died, left the sliding door open, we were fine.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seattlechris2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsrmanager, General Manager at Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Mahalo nui loa. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My wife and I had an excellent 6 night stay at the Outrigger Napili Shores, booking directly through Outrigger at a very good AAA rate. Our one bedroom apartment was on the second floor not too far from the upper pool and had been fully renovated. The apartment was in excellent condition with all of the accoutrements and plenty of towels and was not hot at all thanks to good ventilation and ceiling fans. Those who require AC should consider other accommodations. The kitchen was fully equipped, although there were few staples we would have like to have (e.g. aluminum foil, Tupperware). The birds were pretty noisy in the morning, which was not an issue for us as we have no problem getting up early, but late sleepers might not be too enthused by an avian symphony before 8 AM. As has been mentioned by others, Napili Shores is truly in a spectacular location, away from the hustle and bustle of Kaanapali and Lahaina but with essentially a private beach (Napili Bay) with good snorkeling and swimming, as well as access to Kapalua Bay (great snorkeling) and the Kapalua coastal trail. In terms of food, the Gazebo restaurant is on site, although the queue gets long fast in the morning for the famous macadamia nut pancakes. The communal gas grills were not only a good way to cook fresh fish but also to meet our fellow guests. We did not eat at the BBQ restaurant for dinner. To summarize, Outrigger Napili Shores has great updated apartments that were very comfortable, and the location can't be beat. I/we recommend the Outrigger to anyone considering West Maui.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RedSoxRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsrmanager, General Manager at Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Mahalo for your complimentary review of our Resort. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Aloha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

After reviewing verbose and comparing prices to booking directly, we booked direct and took our chances with a unit. Upon checking I asked for a second floor unit, thinking it would be nice to keep the patio door open at night for the breeze. But they did not have one available. We were happy with our first floor room as it was super convenient to our car. We were in building four, corner unit closest to ocean, which was one of few rooms without a view of the ocean. Our room faced the pool area and felt somewhat private due to trees, shrubs, etc. plumeria were in bloom, so pretty and smelled great. Upper pool often had children and families, lower pool mostly nobody in it, but was very refreshing. We pulled pool chairs onto lawn overlooking the ocean for some great views and relax time, and even spotted a family of whales passing thru the last week of April. Napili bay is wonderful for swimming, snorkeling, paddle boarding, etc. at times there are nice little pools of water behind the lava rocks for wee little ones. We ordered breakfast from the Gazebo for take out and ate on the patio to avoid lines. Wait was 10- 15 minutes and food was great. Property feels very secure. Only negatives were the noise from the parking lot is literally right outside your bedroom windows, and if humid and hot, no ac. Our unit had wifi and was very recently remodeled and simple, yet tastefully decorated. No beach chairs included, which would have been nice. There's an outdoor shower near the gate to the beach. Koi pond between the top pool and BBQ restaurant. On site rental shop. Parking was always available. Close to stores in Napili. Restaurant at north end of Naplili beach called Sea House within waking distance. Merrimans also very close. We walked Kapalua area, nice long trail ocean side up to Fleming Beach. Laundry facilities on site.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank whitefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsrmanager, General Manager at Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Mahalo for your complimentary review! We look forward to seeing you again. Aloha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We’re back and this place keeps getting better. This is our 3rd time staying here. We stayed seven nights. This was the first time we rented through VRBO vs. through Outrigger directly. We did not sleep well in the unit we booked and by day five we needed to change rooms. We were so pleased that Paula was at the front desk. She is fantastic. (As always, see other review) She did everything she could (and more) to accommodate this last minute request. Once again we were blown away by the service we received here and how we are treated like family every time we stay. Thank you again Paula, we can’t wait to visit again, much love.

Room Tip: My only recommendation is to book directly through Outrigger.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Polarbear001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsrmanager, General Manager at Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Mahalo for your complimentary review. We're happy we could help you out of a bad VRBO experience. Aloha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
5.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4,119 reviews
4.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
3.4 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,094 reviews
4.6 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#19 of 32 in Lahaina
4,066 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Kapalua Villas, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger

Address: 5315 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9096 (Formerly Outrigger Napili Shores)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#21 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $177 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Napili Shores Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Napili Shores
Outrigger Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Napili Shores Maui By Outrigger Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing