We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family-friendly complex”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at the Outrigger Napili Shores for two nights before heading over to another part of Maui. This place was very nice, we stayed in a one bedroom suite. It featured a living room with pull out/convertible couch for our little one, a full kitchen, and a nice bedroom for me and my husband. This place is a hybrid of a condo and hotel. The housekeepers come in every day to clean up. The only thing that I would want that the room did not have was a washer/dryer. The pools were not heated so they were pretty chilly. They do have a nice hot tub. The grounds were immaculately maintained with sweeping views of the ocean. The beach is just a hop skip and a jump down the hill and is about a 3 minute walk. Napili Shores has a great restaurant on the grounds that serves an excellent breakfast (although it's a bit pricey) Napili Shores is conveniently located near Lahaina which has many restaurants and shops. There were many families vacationing at this complex and my kiddo always had a new friend to play with. I would definitely come back. We found a bang up deal on the internet for our room, we paid $159/night, regularly it was $259/night.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hawaiiheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (687)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 283 of 687 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for just over a week. The Napili Shores is located on Napili Bay, for those of you familiar with Maui, Napili Bay is north of Lahaina and Kaanapali and just south of Kapalua. For those of you looking for a newer and fancy resort the Napili Shores is not for you. However, if you're looking to relax, snorkel, swim or body surf and do some cooking yourself the Napili Shores is ideal. It is good sized property with 9 buildings in a loose horseshoe shape. The first building (A) and the last building (I) of the horseshoe are waterfront, the remainder are either garden view or ocean view. We stayed in building B in unit 113 which was designated as a garden view. If you're inside this unit all you have is a view of the nice lawn, however sitting at our ground level lanai we had a view of the ocean.
The unit had a king sized bed, sofa bed, small dining table with chairs, fridge, stove, dishwasher and microwave. There is also cutlery, dishes, toaster, coffee maker, blender and pretty well most of what you'd expect in a kitchen to be able to prepare, cook and eat food.
There is a separate room containing the bathroom with a shower, a safe and closet with iron and ironing board. There is no air conditioning but there are two ceiling fans, we did not find lack of AC to be an issue as there was always a nice breeze that flowed through our unit, especially when the front door and lanai sliding doors were open. For a couple we found the unit to be comfortable and very functional.
The lanai was a good size separated by walls from adjoining lanais for privacy. We had a table and 3 chairs on our lanai which was perfect for eating or reading outside.
There is wifi for each unit and it worked well inside and on the lanai. Although we had a tv we never turned it on the whole week we there as we were so close to the beach and pools we were in and out multiple times a day.
There are 2 pools on the property, 1 with a hot tub. There is a sizeable lawn in the middle of the property where we viewed a family football game and a couple of groups playing catch at different times. There are two restaurants on site, the Gazebo Restaurant (breakfast and lunch) known for it's Macadamia pancakes ( very good) and the Iron Imu, southern BBQ we did not eat there.
At one end of the property is a gate that leads you to the beach just a couple of minutes away. The Napili Shores is at the lower (South) end of Napili Bay. The beach is a nice size with ample room along the bay. There is good snorkelling not far from shore and along the southern side of the beach turtles seem to visit each afternoon. We saw and swam with the turtles on several occasions and it was a wonderful experience! You will also see several varieties of fish. The tide rolls in and out and people were successfully body surfing.
The entire property is non smoking although our last night someone next door was smoking outside on the lanai. Guests are asked to maintain quiet time between 10 pm and 8 am however this wasn't observed by all guests, more so in the morning than in the evening, as well off resort guests arrive early to get in line for the Gazebo Restaurant for breakfast. There were families with young children at the resort when we were there and we heard young kids crying in the middle of the night on a couple of occasions.
If you have a rental car there is free parking on site and you're able to get around the island fairly easily from the Napili Shores. Lahaina is no more than 10 minutes away and Whalers Village is even closer.
We would have no hesitation to stay here again and hope to do so before too long!

Room Tip: The ground floor suites have a nice size lanai to sit and/ or eat outside. Buildings E through I wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gord L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Spent 5 nights in early April, garden view condo via Outrigger. None of the units are too far from the shoreline with awesome ocean view including whales (we were thrilled to see many whales at a distance even at end of season in April), wonderful sunsets, and perfectly blue water. Beach/snorkeling are a short walk, pretty easy for able-bodied. Kapalua bay (one bay north) has awesome, easy-for-kids snorkeling. The bay just south of Napili has lots of turtles, especially in the evening. For us on-site Gazebo rest. was just OK, not worth a wait, and doesn't do take out orders until 8 am, which is not practical for the visiting mainlanders who are ready to start the day at 6 am. Had two great, earlier breakfasts at Sea House nearby (just adjacent to Kapalua Bay as well). We were thrilled to have pretty decent ocean view from lanai, despite paying garden view prices. Onsite pools are nice for a brief dip, nothing fancy. The big downside is the noise level. Bedrooms of 1 br units have windows open to parking lot and people come/go at all hours. The fabulous location made this worthwhile for us, and we'd go back in a heartbeat, but may be a real problem for some.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandiegotraveler02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We sayed here for a week. Was not fancy but clean and comfortable. Geared towards people who like to cook and such themselves as all unit shave a full kitchen.BBQ restaurant on site is reasonable and was OK. Many BBQ's around the property. Pool open late which is also nice.
Beach close by is steep and some strong current, the far end less so. Saw many turtles around this area. Rocky bay to the left of the hiotel we saw many more turtles.
This place is a good place to stay as Lahaina is close and there are many restaurants and such within ten minutes. Decent value for the price. 3 star.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curtis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We booked our honeymoon at Napili Shores through Donna Bender of MauiCalls who is an Outrigger Specialist.

The Outrigger is a very low key place which is in a great location. Although there is not beach directly out front, the views are breathtaking. I think the best part of Maui is finding that very special beach and driving there, but this location has beaches right next door.

Another cool part, was that one of the best breakfasts spots on Maui in actually located in the pool area. Some of the best pancakes I have ever had in my life. Here is the best part, the wait is usually upwards of 2 hours.

Since we were staying there, we bought a bottle of Champagne to keep in the fridge and we would order takeout every morning the The Gazebo, bring the breakfast to the lanai and enjoy a private breakfast without all the noise and crowds from the Gazebo. If you stay here, it is a must do!

Room Tip: Ask for something with an ocean view. The ones next to the Gazebo get a bit noisy because of the cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriel U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

we recently spent 9 days at this resort and can hardly wait to return! the location was great, beach was so much fun to swim at, good waves to ride and one end calmer for kids. the resort was very well maintained, very clean and well-cared for. The gazebo restaurant is fantastic. our suite was perfect, view was lovely all staff very helpful and friendly

Room Tip: ocean view is great, we sat on our ground level patio and had coffee or a meal and were able to gaze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brenda_and_tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsrmanager, General Manager at Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Maholo nui loa,

It is always good to hear we hit the mark!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My wife and I spent 5 days in mid-March 2013 at this lovely resort on the beach at Napili Shores on the island of Maui, Hawaii. We were attending a family wedding at a nearby restaurant. The layout and the location of the resort are perfect. Two large pools, one with a hot spa, and plenty of lawns, gardens and water features added to the attraction. It is ideal for all age groups and especially caters for those wanting to self-cater, as the rooms are well equipped with modern kitchen, appliances and plenty of crockery, etc. Reception staff are very helpful. The resort is a 15 minutes drive from the historic town of Lahaina where the shopping and eating are excellent. The resort has a BBQ style restaurant which serves evening meals, whilst there is a small cafe overlooking one of the pools and the ocean which serves breakfast (long queues!) and lunch. I highly recommend the Outrigger, Napili Shores.

Room Tip: The resort has rooms on two levels only. The ground floor rooms (which we had) lead directly onto th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsrmanager, General Manager at Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Mahalo nui loa,

Until we see you again, our warmest aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
5.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,166 reviews
4.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
3.4 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,099 reviews
4.6 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#19 of 32 in Lahaina
4,100 reviews
3.7 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
#11 of 32 in Lahaina
3,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger

Address: 5315 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9096 (Formerly Outrigger Napili Shores)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#21 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $179 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Napili Shores Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Napili Shores
Outrigger Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Napili Shores Maui By Outrigger Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing