We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a Paradise Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Napili Shores

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Napili Shores
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Fallbrook, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Truly a Paradise Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My sister and I were there Feb., 2013. The grounds of the Outrigger Napili Shores are so beautiful and were kept so very neat, and our unit was perfect, but would have preferred 2 queens instead of a king bed. We enjoyed sunsets while sitting by the pool, being up close with huge turtles, the fabulous Gazebo Restaurant for breakfast and the friendly staff. The on site restaurant for dinner, the IMU, didn't measure up to the resort's ambiance. The Expedia desk that booked tours had many complaints. We booked ours direct. We didn't need a car because the bus stops right in front of the resort. Napili is a fabulous part of Maui, and I think we prefer this more remote peaceful location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goodtotravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsrmanager, General Manager at Napili Shores, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Mahalo for your complimentary review of our Resort! The Iron Imu is a new venture and is privately owned and operated and so far has received a number of great reviews, however we will pass along your feedback to them for consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    270
    56
    20
    9
See reviews for
171
298
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

we loved our stay at Napili Shores. It was just a week, but an extremely relaxing vacation. Almost no need to leave. We had a pool view studio condo, second floor, lovely lanai and full kitchen. Even though the resort was full, it was very quiet, we took full advantage of the pool, beach, hot tub and the best part- snorkeling with sea turtles right at the beach out front. Beautiful sunsets and whales frolicking right off shore. The grounds are beautiful. Two restaurants, snorkel/beach gear rental shop and activity desk right on site. Can't wait to get back there! We booked through Alaska Air vacations and had no problems at all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elliottsonpender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We are visiting Maui as I write this and chose the Napili Shores based on a friend's recommendation. Having never been before we knew that proximity to the ocean would be important, and really had no other expectations. Budget was important and we looked at the VRBO listings for this property before we booked. When suitable dates on VRBO could not be found we booked via the Outrigger website.
The property is nicely manicured with two pools and really, most along the bay fit the same bill. We are staying in a ground floor ocean front unit A building. ...(they upgraded us upon arrival) and the view is spectacular. Not for light sleepers as the waves crash all night, which would be less noticeable in an ocean view or garden view studio, and we love it.
Unit nicely appointed with all the condo-type amenities, the Weber Genesis barbecues come in handy for nice dinners made with food bought from the 24-hour Safeway near the Cannery Mall in Lahaina ( a 10 minute drive away). Not many restaurants in the immediate area, however there are two onsite. The famous Gazebo ( yes the lineups are always there) and the Imu BBQ house which serves Texas-style smokehouse food.
If you are looking for an authentic low key peaceful Maui vacation the Napili Shores is a sure thing.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsrmanager, General Manager at Napili Shores, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Mahalo, glad you enjoyed your stay! Until next time, aloha..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

this hotel is right by the beach, its a basic hotel but a good equipped kitchen in the rooms. I had a pool view & was very happy with it. This is a hotel to head for if you want it quiet & by the beach. Lovely walks along the coastline & good pick up trips from this location. i would stay there again.

Room Tip: they are all quiet rooms, ask for balcony or downstairs on the sunny sides. only 2 floors - however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DevonJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oromocto
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

For our first trip to Maui we did a lot of research on where to stay. We decided that Outrigger Napili Shores met our criteria for our visit so we booked it. Our expectations were exceeded by this well managed, well maintained resort. We booked well in advance of our trip and reserved an ocean view studio. When we arrived we found ourselves in an ocean FRONT studio. I was a bit concerned as I had paid in advance booking through Orbitz and didn't want a suprise charge, so when I inquired as to the condo change I was told that owners had decided to have an owners week and the owners of the original condo we booked (through Orbitz) were using their condo so Outrigger upgraded us at no charge. We were told that at Outrigger you never get a downgrade only an upgrade. Having an ocean front certainly enhanced our visit, although all units have great views (it is Maui afterall) the ocean front had more privacy as you didn't get alot of folks walking by your lanai...mind you everyone is so super friendly I doubt this would be an issue anyway.

We arrived after the office was closed, but a quick call on the phone by the door and a security guard led us to our unit (A105) and we registered the following morning. What a fantastic unit this was...clean, modern, and everything you need for your stay. Hint: Pick up some groceries and you can save some money eating in, although you will no doubt eat out a fair bit anyway (hey you're on vacation right?). Do yourself a favour and at least once or twice eat at the Gazebo (at least once in the Gazebo for the experience) and then take out to avoid the lineups. Also we recommend the Iron Imu BBQ, the other restaurant on site, as this 'new' restaurant is very tasty with the smoked meat menu. Food tasted great at both locations, affordable and portions were larger than expected.

The Outrigger Napili Shores is as advertised, low key, traditional Hawaii. Which is what we wanted, we did not want to be on the 6th or 7th floor of a high rise condo. Outrigger is 2 levels only and we were on the ground level, mere steps away from the incredible ocean and views of Molokai and incredible Maui sunsets. We watched whales play everyday (spouting, jumping and fin slapping). My wife snorkelled for the first time ever and swam with giant turtles. This was at the beach just feet away from the resort. Staying in the A building we were right by the gate that led to the beach (Napili Bay Beach). This public beach is shared by a few resorts right on the shoreline but was never overcrowded and you could always find a spot to throw down a towel or chair and soak up the sun or jump in the crazy surf for a swim.

We love children (have two ourselves) but for our second honeymoon we booked this time (after Christmas and New Years) to limit the amount of kids who would be around. There were some families with young children around but all were well behaved and we didn't see any issues around the pools or hottubs that some other reviews have noted.

Staff and crews at the Outrigger are all friendly and approachable and a tip of the hat to the desk clerk, Anaki, for all his friendly assistance and wonderful sense of humour. Having booked with Outrigger (via Orbitz) cleaning services were provided every few days, linens, towel exchange, vacuuming, mopping, garbage, etc. If you book through an owner it's my understanding that you have to arrange and pay for cleaning services separately. Rooms do not have AC but with the cool breezes and ceiling fans, we were under the blankets each night. AC not an issue in my opinion. The outdoor grills are readily available for you to prepare your meals. Please respect other guests and clean the grill once you're done for the next user. A couple times we had to clean the grill after someone else had used it.

I feel we 'hit a homerun' choosing Outrigger Napili Shores and when we return to Maui (note I did not say if?) we will stay here again and hope that A105 is available. One thing to help you out, at the start of your stay visit one of the snorkel rental places like Snorkel Bobs or Boss Frogs as these places will rent all kinds of beach gear for the week. There's a shop like this right on the resort as well but I can't remember the name.

Room Tip: The Ocean Fronts in buildings A and I have the best views and incredible privacy with less foot traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rodney n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, PA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

That's right, you can sit on the pool deck and see Humpback whales from your chair. Of course, binoculars help a lot but you can see them spouting, diving, waving their flukes and occasionally breaching. It's an amazing spot. Right next door is a wonderful beach area that is very calm at one end (great for kids) with waves for surfing at the other end. There's also a space for snorkelers (I saw a huge sea turtle) and tidal pools next door that fill with tiny fish at high tide.
The buildings are nothing to look at but the insides are spacious, well appointed and come with large balconies or patios. Room service is supplied every third day so you need to rehang your towels for reuse. Beach towels were supplied. The kitchen had a full set of dishes and cookware, Wine glasses coffee maker, toaster, stove, microwave, dishwasher and refrigerator. The coffer mugs could have been larger but other wise, it was well equipped The king size bed was very comfortable. And for sleeping comfort it was easy to adjust the breeze coming through the condo.
The staff was friendly and helpful. There is a restaurant for breakfast and lunch near the pool called the Gazebo. It is very popular with a constant line. (Guest of the Outrigger can phone in an order and pick it up without waiting in the line.)
Parking is a problem. The parking lot ended at least two building lenghts before our condo. that meant a long schlep with out bags. It also means that if you went out for the evening, you had to park far from your condo as all the spaces were taken by the time you get back.
There was a small mall about 1/2 mile away where you can pick up supplies or a full grocery store in Lahaina about b8 miles south of Napili Bay. If you are someone who prefers to eat most of there meals "at home" and occasionally dine out, This place would suit you perfectly.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The Outrigger Napili Shores is a very comfortable place, but it lacks the upscale amenities that some might want. The buildings are arranged rectangularly, and most look over a wide expanse of green lawn with nice, but not overly tropical-feeling, landscaping. The ocean-view units might be disappointing, since the best ones are still just partial ocean-view. However, the oceanfront units, such as where we stayed, are amazing, having the best location in all Napili Bay. Stay on the first floor, and you're just steps from the surf and steps from the terrific Gazebo restaurant.

The units are large and remodeled, providing a full kitchen with plenty of room to spread out. The mattress isn't great for those with back issues.

If you're looking for a relaxing place with views, the beach, and snorkeling as a focus, this might be the place for you. If you're looking for crazy activities and nightlife, this might not be for you. Napili Bay itself is lovely, but in December, the normally tranquil bay was rough, not allowing snorkeling-the next bay down did, though. All in all, it's a really good place to stay; if the need for more entertainment and excitement strikes, the Kaanapali resorts are just a 10-minute drive away.

Room Tip: An oceanfront room will exponentially improve your experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P0pad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
5.0 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 3,487 reviews
4.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
3.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 2,319 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 stars 347 reviews
4.5 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 3,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Shores

Property: Napili Shores
Address: 5315 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9096 (Formerly Outrigger Napili Shores)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#21 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Napili Shores 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Vacatia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Napili Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Napili Shores Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Napili Shores
Outrigger Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Napili Shores Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing