We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outrigger Rocks!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
North Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outrigger Rocks!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

This was my first trip to Maui and we will definitely come back to this property. The Staff was great. Our room was perfect right on the beach. Laid back atmosphere and I loved the fact that there was no air conditioning. You dont need it here. I would recommend this property to anyone that wants a clean safe and tranquil place to stay. I will be back again. Aloha

Room Tip: I would recommend the First floor condos
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsrmanager, General Manager at Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Mahalo! We could not have said it better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    282
    57
    22
    9
See reviews for
181
321
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

This property had everything I had hoped for...........I wanted to share the weeks with my grown children and so rented the one bedroom. My daughter's family (two kids) came for the first week and we found there was enough nearby to explore without going too far. . Snorkeling was a short walk away and a bay filled with turtles was nearby as well. The beach at Napili was easy for the kids as the waves are gentle and yet fun. The next week my other daughter arrived and the accomodations were great for her gourmet cook husband and comfortable for drinks on the lanai and a swim at the pool. The green grassy area makes the property feel expansive and spacious and that allows for more relaxation. The people who work at Napili Shores are helpful and gracious. You can't beat the sunsets! We rented from the rental pool rather than from an individual owner and possibly the service improves when this is done.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_g0_lucky61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsrmanager, General Manager at Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Our stay in September 2012 was our 14th at Napili Shores. Since our first visit in 1984, we have been charmed by the resort and have recommended it to others. Our most recent stay was not quite as pleasant, which was a disappointment. That said, here’s a fair and honest review to help others decide if Napili Shores is the perfect fit for the kind of vacation you’re looking for.

ROOMS/CONDOS: It would probably be somewhat misleading to describe these units as condos. Both floor plans (the one bedroom and the studio units) are on the small side. For more than two people in a unit, it could feel crowded. However, the lack of size has never been a compromise for the enjoyment we get (as a couple) staying in an oceanfront unit. Everyone has their own preferences in location, but in our opinion, the view from the ‘A’ building is the best seat in the house. Units are well kept but not upscale. Furnishings are modest. Don’t expect for appliances to be state-of-the-art. The kitchens are equipped for fixing most meals. There’s no A/C, but ceiling fans and leaving your sliding glass door open usually provide comfortable sleeping conditions. It’s good to note that often you have your sliding glass doors and louver windows open and the walls are fairly thin, so considerate neighbors are appreciated during quiet times! (i.e. TVs, voices, foot traffic to units, doors closing, etc.) Sometimes the waves can be ‘too loud’ in the oceanfront buildings. Garden view units hear people come and go from the parking lot. Ample free parking.

GROUNDS: The grounds are well maintained and very pretty. Wide areas of grass provide plenty of room for kids to throw a Frisbee. A giant checker board is tucked under plumeria trees. There are two well-maintained swimming pools (garden pool and oceanfront pool) and a Jacuzzi. Gas grills and picnic tables are available near both pools. A laundry room with coin-op machines is located under the front desk/lobby area. The complex has an “Old Hawaiian” ambiance that is peaceful and beautiful. Don’t miss taking a drink out to the oceanfront pool deck or grassy knoll overlooking the ocean for a fantastic vantage point for spectacular sunsets. You’ll have the company of other guests who enjoy doing the same and it’s also a good time to share or ask for tips about the island.

LOCATION: The location is one of the biggest reasons we’ve come back time and time again. Napili Bay is one of the best beaches on the island. (unless you are looking for something like Waikiki Beach with tons of people and lot of action!) Napili Bay is a beautiful crescent-shaped bay that is perfect for relaxing on the beach, swimming or floating in the waves, body surfing (or boogie boarding, depending on the surf) and snorkeling. Turtles can be seen in the rocks in front of the walkway that leads from the public access to the beach and from the second floor units in Building A. You can snorkel either in Napili Bay or Honokeana Cove (in front of neighboring complex Napili Point). Honokeana Cove is more of a challenge to get into -- but the snorkeling is among the best spots on the island. Most mornings (aside from bad weather creating poor conditions) the cove is crystal clear and you can see beautiful coral heads, colorful fish and if you take your time and look closely, at least 5 ‘resident’ turtles.

RESTAURANTS: The Gazebo is open for breakfast and lunch. It continues to be be a success, so there is often a line to get seated. (phone in orders for take out
are accepted) Favorites are the macadamia pancakes and omelettes. Help yourself to free coffee as you stand in line to be seated. Café O’Lei is an option if you don’t want to leave the property for dinner. Comments are that the food is affordable and good. This restaurant overlooks the koi pond. There is a restaurant at Napili Kai Beach Resort (at the other end of the crescent shaped Napili Bay) called Sea House. They’ve provided some competition for what people claim are ‘great breakfasts without the lines’, lunch and dinners in a pleasant atmosphere. You can walk down the beach to eat there.

STAFF: Unfortunately, here is where we were disappointed. Numerous times we (and other guests) had issues with the key card to get into our room and a majority of the front desk staff members we encountered were not understanding nor showed any empathy. The garden pool and jacuzzi were not in use for the first 3 days we were there and in the days to come the Jacuzzi was not heating properly. Again, the majority of the front desk staff members did not seem to care and everyone we spoke with had a different reason as to why it wasn’t working. Without going into detail, we encountered many of the staff members who did not have the “true aloha spirit” that other reviewers commented on. These employees were not pleasant or helpful, which reflected poorly on Napili Shores. To be fair, we DID encounter a couple of staff members as well as the general manager who were very kind and considerate.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms on the second floor of Building 'A' are the 'best seats in the house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MStangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsrmanager, General Manager at Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Mahalo for this complimentary review of our resort. We try very hard to make sure all aspects of each stay exceed your expectations. We do sincerely appologize for the issues you encountered with key cards and the spa. At the time of your stay we had just purchased a new key card system which our existing key cards did not work well. We have replaced the old cards and all should now work well.

The spa did also develop a mysterious habit of shutting the heater off which our pool representative made a few failed attempts to resolve. This was the reason for the confusion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Have been to this property several times and have enjoyed it every time. We usually book through outrigger and have been pleased every time. We decided to book through owner because it was a little cheaper. If you book through owner you do not get any of the room services provided by outrigger, meaning no towel service, room cleaning, no extra toilet paper etc. You gave to call the maid service and beg for to if you run out. This is a great property and we will continue to stay but will book through outrigger next time.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beachtimeDenver_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsrmanager, General Manager at Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Mahalo for your complimentary review of our property! Guests who rent through Outrigger do receive a number of advantages that may not be available for an independently rented unit. They include, maintenance, housekeeping, free beach towel exchange, on site management, the ability to change rooms in the event a view is not to your liking or an issue develops with any given room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watsonville, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

When we saw the photos online, the place looked great. But once we booked, the problems started. Before sending in money, we called to request a second floor room because the beach is literally outside the bedroom with only a glass wall in between. We didn't want to pull the curtains because that defeats the purpose of having such an up-close view. The attendant said no problem, just call the night before our arrival and they would be happy to accomodate us.

When we called the night before, they told us no room was available, but that we could change rooms if one opened up. We decided to go anyway. We arrived at about 7:30 in the evening and it was already getting dark. The registration clerk gave us a map and pointed out where the pool and hot tub were. We went to our room and got changed into our bathing suits. Then we walked across the poorly lit property to find that the area was roped off due to repairs. We called the front desk and the clerk apologized, but we were annoyed that he didn't tell us when he pointed it out so we wouldn't have gone out in the chill in bathing suits after our flight.

The next thing we discovered was that the dishwasher was broken. We picked out a place with a kitchen (and dishwasher was advertised) because we wanted to have breakfast and prepare lunch each day. But neither of us wanted to spend time hand-washing dishes.

Finally, I found a roach. That was it for me. My husband found another one later during the night. The next morning we looked for another place to stay.

When we got up in the morning, there were people walking around outside our floor to ceiling window, and we had to wait for them to go away before we could get up and get dressed.

The clerk was polite about the early check out (and offered us a second floor room) but we were finished. The rooms were not really very nice, and I figured that if I had to change rooms, I was going to a nicer location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Girl_in_Queens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsrmanager, General Manager at Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Unfortunately, our rooms are made available after 3 PM on the day of check in so it is not possible to assign a room the the night before. This is customary in the hotel business. We are sorry that one of our two pools was closed for repairs for three days, however it was a necessary repair and this was the first extended pool closure for the property since 2008.

Many guests find the open layout and low rise of the property to be to their liking. All pathways and common areas are lit and most guests find this adequate or a bit on the bright side. Shutters and drapes are provided for those seeking additional privacy.

We do make every effort to insure that all appliances are working all of the time. In this case, we were notified of a recall of 1.6 million GE dishwashers which were a fire hazard. Two thirds of our dishwashers were effected for about two weeks while GE made the repairs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

The only bad reviews talk about the lack of air conditioning. We loved it and the ceiling fan and the large screen door kept the room cool enough to sleep comfortably at night. This is laid back place where down to earth people can enjoy. Bring your own beer or glass of wine out to the pool area or BBQ your dinner on the many Grills available close to your room. If you are the kind of people who like to be waited on don't come here because we don't want to hear you complain. We enjoyed the nightly ritual of watching the sunset from the beach front pool area. (We even saw the "Green Flash" one night.) Great beaches within walking distance from our room. Snorkel with the turtles at the bay 200 yards away or enjoy swimming and snorkeling at the beach which is 100 yards from the complex. They provided a 25' wire for the free hard wired internet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobnanneontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsrmanager, General Manager at Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Mahalo for your kind words about our resort! While we do not have Air Conditioning in our rooms, most people feel that it is not necessary with our nice breezes and good airflow in the units. It also allows our guests near the ocean to hear the waves as they break on the tide pools below.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waianae, HI
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Staff excellent, from front desk to maintenance. Room immaculate, amenities outstanding. This is a wonderful place to stay. Reminds me of hotels in Hawaii when I was a child, no A/C, just lots of sea breezes, and ceiling fans. So relaxing.

Little cove great for swimming and tide pool exploring. BUT watch out for current that will take you down the coast if you go out too far swimming or paddleboarding...we had to call 911 as an inexperienced couple was getting nowhere trying to paddle their stand-up boards back to shore...they kept drifting toward Lahaina. They had to be escorted in.

Room Tip: no room service, no fitness center. BUT, if you can spend a few extra dollars, get the ocean front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jabaang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsrmanager, General Manager at Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Mahalo nui loa! Your comments reflect exactly what we strive to provide in our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
5.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,880 reviews
4.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
3.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,466 reviews
3.3 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
4.6 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger

Property: Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Address: 5315 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9096 (Formerly Outrigger Napili Shores)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#21 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Vacatia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Napili Shores Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Napili Shores
Outrigger Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Napili Shores Maui By Outrigger Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing