We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Napili!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Napili Point Resort
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Napili!”
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We chose the Napili Point Resort based on the reviews here on the TripAdvisor, so we thought it fitting to offer our own recommendation as thanks. This resort is fabulous for those wanting a private, quiet vacation in a beautiful, oceanfront setting. We spent a week on Maui, travelling the island extensively: Wailea, Kihei, Lehaina, Kaanapali, Kapalua, as well as taking the gorgeous drive to Hana. After viewing the Ritz Carlton and the Four Seasons and the various resorts in Kaanapali, we didn't see any as appealing as the Napili Point Resort. The resort itself is very attractive and well kept and because it on a rocky point, and not a beach, it is quiet, which for us was a big plus. The main attraction, though, is the location -- right on the water. None of the big-name resorts offer this.

If you have teenagers who want action, Kaanapali may be your best bet, but Kaanapali and Wailea, for our tastes, were too commercial -- highly manicured and overly developed. An added bonus was that Maui was fairly quiet and prices are discounted. The only line up all week was at the Gazebo restaurant on the property next door and at the Sansei Restaurant in Kapalua. Otherwise, very easy to get around and do things.

We stayed in Unit B1, with an ocean front view. Excellent view and nice accommodation. The bed, however, was very soft and should be replaced soon!

We loved it!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turtle047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    84
    13
    15
    6
See reviews for
163
138
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

We've just returned from a week at the Napili Point resort. The location can't be beat - the units all look out over Honokeana Cove and the ocean beyond and as advertised, is around the point from the Napili Bay beach. The snorkeling off the point in the cove offers easy access and lot of fish and turtles. The clarity isn't quite as clear as what we found off Lanai (we took one of the snorkle boat trips as well) but the variety of fish and convenience of snorkeling right in front of your condo was terrific and the water was still quite clear. Many sea turtles to see regularly - we were told they show up primarily in the mornings and late afternoons but we saw them out there any time of day.

The unit we stayed in (C-21) was in their ocean front category. We looked at a couple of different units and found that they do vary. This one had an upgraded kitchen and comfortable furnishings. Not luxury but tasteful and completely adequate. The manager was agreeable to our looking at a couple of available units before we decided which we wanted - I recommend doing this if the unit you are given isn't what you expected. The first unit we were assigned to was in the lower price point category (ocean view), had dated and well-worn furnishings and was in the building closest to the road and noisier than we liked so the upgrade was well worth it. Other units in that building may have had nicer furnishings though and they do offer air conditioning in the bedrooms of that wing to compensate for the road noise if you don't want your windows open. The rest of the complex has ceiling fans and lots of window options which were more than enough to keep the place cool.

The pools were clean and convenient. Daily maid service was a treat. BBQ's were appreciated for the times when we wanted to eat in (and the local market at the Napili Plaza had an excellent selection of whatever you might want). We weren't around to take advantage of their weekly mai tai gathering or the pineapple cutting demo but it's nice that they offer these. The breakfast next door at the Gazebo restaurant is worth making time for - and you will need to wait since it's a small place but go in a relaxed state of mind and you'll be set for hours. The portions are huge and it's all so good that we didn't need to have lunch at all that day! (they told us around 11:30 is when the line is the shortest and breakfast is available anytime they are open).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDCAT4
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

After a very crowded and busy 4 days on Waikiki, we wanted something peaceful and quiet, yet close to some fun for our family of 4 (children 18 and 21). This was absolutely perfect. Rented unit C-16 from Ann Stark (on vrbo.com) and absolutely loved this condo. Sits right on Napili bay with amazing snorkeling. Beautiful marine life everywhere and the turtles (which you will see every day) are unbelievable. Napili beach is a short walk away and is absolutely beautiful. We prefer less crowds on beaches and this place was simply perfect. 10-15 minute drive to Kaanapali and Lahaina where some great food and shopping are. Can't say enough about this place. Was slightly concerned about reading there was no air conditioning (I am always very warm) but the constant breezes made this very comfortable. Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WDCAT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2010

I stayed in B-26 for 10 nights with my husband and two young boys ( 3 yrs old and 6 months old). It is privately owned, rented through www.VRBO.com, if you want to get better rates, dealing directly with the owner. It was great, absolutely beautiful. The other reviews are accurate (turtles, sunsets) just email me if you have specific questions, and look at the pictures, it is beyond beautiful. You can save yourself some bruises by entering/exiting the snorkel bay through the next door property.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marina_from_belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2010

My family and I (husband, mom, and 3-yr-old) just returned from Maui, and Napili Point Resort C-37 was such a wonderful place to stay! It's a 2-bedroom (full bedrooms, no loft like other 2-bdrm units in the complex), 2-bath, and includes everything you could posibly need. We had a really wonderful time, and the condo was a big part of that - we could watch whales and beautiful sunsets from the lanai, we did some excellent snorkeling in the cove right outside, and of course just a short walk to gorgeous Napili beach. My son just LOVED the pool with the "pretend turtle" at the bottom. The condo was so well stocked and well cared for, it made for a lovely place to come home to at the end of the day.
We went to Duke's at the Honua Kai resort for my mom's birthday dinner, and it was fabulous! Highly recommended! My husband and I also had a wonderful date night at Merriman's in Kapalua.
Unit C-37 is rented privately by the owners, you can find it through a google search.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank jjansen041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2010

We had an great stay in privately owned unit C-20. We were traveling with our two daughters who were 9 and 10 and wanted them to have a bed to sleep on, not just a pull out couch (though there is also a pull out in this unit...plus a queen and 2 twins). It was clean and well stocked w/amenities, plus convenient to everything.

The other great thing was lots of towels, we had towels hanging to dry everywhere (though there is a washer and dryer, didn't want to waste energy), but always could find dry ones to take to the beach or use after a shower.

While the condo had everything we needed to be comfortable, our favorite part was the location. My husband tried out every other bay on the west side that was suppose to have "the best" snorkeling, but it really was right outside our window! We talked about going out and renting snorkel gear for the week, but when we got to the condo, everything we needed was there (we brought masks from home for the girls, but there were plenty of fins for all and masks for my husband and myself. There may have been more masks, I didn't pay attention!). There was a boogie board to take to the beach (Oneloa Bay was our fav boogie boarding place, just north of Kapalua Bay).

Besides snorkeling and body surfing, other super fun things we did, bike down Haleakala Crater w/the Heleakala Bike Company (had smaller bikes for kids, ride down at your own pace...that's the way to do it!) and surf lessons at Goofy Foot in Lahaina (so much fun!!!).

We definitely will recommend staying at Napili Point Resort C-20!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lschaaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2010

Our visit to Maui was to see the humpback whales up close. We took the Pacific Whale Foundation tour twice and saw so many whales breaching we lost count.
From C-20 our view of the Bay was great. It's frustrating that entering the inlet in front of the complex is not very easy and the sea turtles are there every day. Around the corner of the complex the ocean view was expansive. The unit has just about everything needed for a great vacation.
We would stay in C-20 again, no question!
Lahaina is a short 15 minute drive away. Don't go to Lahaina Pizza unless you like terrible pizza. Other restaurants were ok, but none outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NormZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.1 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.3 mi away
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach
3.5 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
8.7 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Napili Kai Beach Resort
Napili Kai Beach Resort
#6 of 32 in Lahaina
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Point Resort

Property: Napili Point Resort
Address: 5295 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9158
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napili Point Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled above shimmering Honokeana Bay, Napili Point Resort is a 115 unit low rise condominium where every condo has an incredible ocean view. In the distance, the islands of Moloka'i and Lana'i rise from the warm waters of the blue Pacific, silhouetting spectacular legendary Maui sunsets. Relax at one of our two oceanfront swimming pools set amid our beautifully landscaped tropical grounds or our outdoor barbecues and picnic tables. Watch the waves roll into Honokeana Bay and during the winter months (December thru April) witness the humpback whales cavorting in the distance. This is the view from your own lanai. Here, you will find a quiet, relaxed and scenic Hawaiian atmosphere. This is your home in paradise...Enjoy some of the best snorkeling and swimming on Maui in Honokeana Bay. Multi-colored coral and countless tropical fish and sea turtles await you in the Bay - literally just steps outside your door. It's like an aquarium except that it's entirely natural and you swim among the fish and coral instead of looking through a window! At the tip of our "point" you will find tide pools filled with crabs, tiny hatchling tropical fish and countless other species to investigate. It's a great place to enjoy the natural beauty of the sea while only getting your feet wet! As a value rental program guest, you will enjoy the following amenities: Daily Housekeeping Service, Full Kitchen, Washer & Dryer, Hair Dryer, Lanai with Ocean View, Color TV with DVD Player, In-room Safe Two Swimming Pools, BBQs and Picnic Areas, Weekly Nature Walk, Pineapple Cutting Demonstration, Free WiFI and Broadband internet available. For broadband, you just need to provide your laptop computer with an ITC Ethernet jack (the Ethernet cord is provided in each unit). BBQ: 5 gas and 1 charcoal - guests must provide their own charcoal and lighter fluid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Napili Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Point Hotel Lahaina
Napili Point Lahaina
Napili Point Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing