We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (424)
Filter reviews
424 results
Traveler rating
293
94
15
15
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
293
94
15
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea turtleshonokeana bayturtle coveocean frontrocky shoreminute walkdonna benderloft bedroomlocal girlhouse restaurantboogie boardsc unitthese condosmacadamia nut pancakesgreat snorkelingeasy accesslow key
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 424 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2017

This review is specifically for our stay in Nov 2017. We have stayed here two other times since 2015 and had great experiences. That is why we are so incredibly disappointed this time. We rented an ocean view room and made the mistake of using our AAA discount. That means we couldn't guarantee a room and were given one with such inferior quality I cannot believe it is in the same class. This unit (B43) is not worth $100/night. The tiles are dirty and worn, the carpet is disgusting, the area near the bedroom A/C is falling apart, the entire unit smells like some mix of old person and chlorine, the appliances & furnishings appear to be from the late 80s, the views are not even close to comparable and to top it all off it is down a crazy long sidewalk nowhere near the parking lot and the bedroom is along a busy street. Our previous units we could park right outside and backed to the parking lot. Again ostensibly in the same category. We complained and were told we could maybe move tomorrow if we paid to upgrade to a different unit type. We aren't allowed to cancel because we are not within the 7 day window. How would we have known 7 days ago how awful this unit would be? We obviously would have never booked it had we known. I read through management's responses to other reviews and find it laughable that they claim a standard must be met by all of their units. That standard is clearly too low! And so much for being repeat customers-we were treated like riffraff & told nothing could be done because we had the gall to pay a discounted rate that they offer on their website.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapiliPointResort, General Manager at Napili Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2017

I would like to state that as I’m responding to this review, you are currently in-house with us for a three (3) day stay using the AAA Rate (15% discount/no car rental included) of US $203 per day, plus tax and requested Unit #B32.

The AAA Rate is considered a discounted rates and as such, we can attach a room request to the reservation. We always try our very best to accommodate. However, we also clearly advise guests when booking a reservation, that a request should never be interpreted as a guarantee. If a guest wants to guarantee a specific unit, or level, we can do so for seven (7) consecutive nights or longer and at full rack rate – not at a discounted rate.

This is a very reasonable rate for a property on West Maui, located just steps from Honokeana Bay and the ocean, which is known for its abundant sea life and turtles that our guests snorkel and swim with. Every unit has an ocean view! The sunsets over the ocean are magnificent - framed by the majestic islands of Molokai and Lanai. Humpback whales have been recently sighted near the “point” of Napili Point Resort – a sight our guests will enjoy all winter long.

At check-in we advised you that #B32 was not available due to high occupancy and that you would be staying in #B43. After checking in, you came back to the front desk and strongly objected to our staff. Keith Saunders, our Asst. Manger, offered to room move you the next day when other units became available, however no one on our staff has heard from you since.

In reference to your comments about checking out of the property, you had that choice but were advised that we would retain the two (2) night advanced deposit which is our policy if the reservation is cancelled later than seven (7) days prior to arrival. It was your choice to stay for the 3 nights.

NOTE TO OUR READERS: With respect to the interior condition of Unit #B43, I would invite all of our readers to go to the Napili Point Resort website and view the actual interior/exterior photos and description of this unit. When you are on our website - hover over the “Rates and Reservations” pull-down menu; then click on “Guaranteed Room Rates”. Scroll down to “Unit Location” then choose “B Units” and then “B43”.

The carpeting in #B43 is less than one-year old. The sofa has been recently upholstered. The unit has an almost new kitchen and a brand new split system air conditioner. With respect to the view, #B43 has a better view than #B32. The sidewalk meanders along the entrance side of the property to the parking lot which is NOT a long distance from the unit.

In closing, our staff NEVER treats anyone like “riffraff” and this comment has no basis. We value every new and/or return guest - who is treated with professionalism and the Aloha spirit. It’s what Napili Point Resort is known for.

Mahalo,

Rod Kelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2017 via mobile

Napili Point Resort worked so well for our family! We were looking for a good spot to walk to the beach & snorkel or body board. The condos are accommodating! Obviously they each are a bit different because they are independently owned. But the views & the location are spot on for vacation & relaxing! Sea Turtles are in the cove everyday! The pools are small but very just enough to rinse off and play after some ocean time. The bbq’s & outside tables make grilling and hanging out easy.
The staff are friendly & helpful. They also come everyday to clean up & bring fresh towels. I’d highly recommend if your looking a condo in that area!

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank Rachael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapiliPointResort, General Manager at Napili Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2017

Aloha,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the comments you submitted regarding your recent stay with us. We agree that the snorkeling in the beautiful coral reef and with the honu (turtles) right outside your front door, in Honokeana Bay, is amazing!

Our location is perfect to watch the magnificent Maui sunsets framed between the islands of Lanai and Molokai as well as view the humpback whales which visit our island every year! The beautiful and long beach of Napili Bay is just a few hundred yards away from our property along an unimproved walking path along the ocean.

We look forward to your next visit and hope that it is soon!

Mahalo,

Rod Kelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2017

We stayed in an oceanfront 2-bedroom that we booked through Donna Bender of MauiCalls. The condo was exactly what we needed and perfect for our honeymoon.
Donna went above and beyond to answer our questions, and give us the best possible experience on Maui - including excellent restaurant recommendations via her Local Girl's Guide to Maui. Donna gave us her Local Girl’s Guide to Maui to take with us to Maui, and we'd have been lost without it! Our 10-day stay was made even more special with recommended excursions on the island. At Napili Point, my husband and I enjoyed snorkeling in the small bay with the sea turtles, having a private balcony and quiet space to be together. We loved waking up, and viewing the ocean without even getting out of bed.

Room Tip: Select "oceanfront" if you want to be ON the ocean. Oceanview is much less. 2nd floor more private than 1st.
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Martha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapiliPointResort, General Manager at Napili Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2017

Thank you for your review. We agree that Napili Point Resort is a perfect location and has the best snorkeling with the honu (turtles) in Honokeana Bay – literally just steps outside your front door!

We were pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed the unit that you stayed in – we will forward your comments to the owner. We look forward to your next visit and hope that it is soon.

Mahalo,

Rod Kelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2017

My 3 kids and I had condo C38 - what an amazing condo with so many upgrades! The view is breathtaking as well. With myself and 3 teenagers, we had more than enough room and didn't feel cramped at all. The only negative was that two mornings we had the Do Not Disturb sign out and the house keepers still let themselves in :(

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Cindi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapiliPointResort, General Manager at Napili Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2017

Thank you for submitting the review on you recent stay with us – we appreciate you taking the time to do this. We will forward your comments regarding #C38 to the owner and were pleased to read how much your family enjoyed it.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience that you experienced with our Housekeeping Department. We would like to assure you and our readers that this has been addressed with the staff.

Mahalo again for your review and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Rod Kelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2017 via mobile

It’s our last day of a week-long vacation on Maui. We’ve visited Maui five times in the past dozen or so years. We love West Maui the best. First time we’ve stayed at Napili Point Resort. We will return here for a variety of great reasons. First, location. While the resort sits on a bluff overlooking Honokeana Cove (great snorkeling and tide pool exploring) to the east and Napili Bay to the north, the resort grounds are lush with green areas to lounge and play. If you need “beach time”, the awesome beach at Napili Bay is steps away. Just outside our unit was alongside the second pool, a plus. The resort is well maintained. Second, while West Maui is a bit quieter than Wailea, there’s plenty of night life and restaurants, if that’s a need. Latina Town and Ka’anapali is a short five minute drive away. And, lastly, Napili Point seems “most Hawaiian” of the places we’ve stayed. It’s comfortable in the Hawaiian way. We stayed in Unit B11. It could use a bit of updating, but it was clean, well stocked and fit our needs. Mahalo to all who made our stay here so enjoyable.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Luka302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapiliPointResort, General Manager at Napili Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

Mahalo for your review – we agree that our location is breathtaking - just steps away from Honokeana Bay and the ocean. The quiet ambiance of our property reflects the Aloha spirit of the Hawaiian culture which we greatly value.

To clarify for our readers, Unit #B11 is not in our on-site rental program. We, as the on-site rental program, have no association or quality control on those units. All of the units in our rental program MUST meet certain minimum standards in order to continue to be rented.

Once money is put down on a privately owned unit, you are pretty much committed for same, whereas, if reservations are made through our on-site rental program, you usually have other room options. Most private places that you rent from provide no on-site services and in many cases there is no on-island representative in the event of a program. You then must contact the rental owner directly for assistance. Also, the resort requires only a 2 night advanced deposit, with the exception of dates 12/22-12/31, and we have a full time staff to service you.

Mahalo,

Rod Kelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews