We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Napili Point Resort Unit A-26”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Napili Point Resort
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Private - not on the main walking thoroughfare
Pristine view of the ocean, crashing surf, surfers and snorkeling cove (where you can snorkel with the green turtles) AND beautiful sunsets. Also, there is a pool close by and a large white sand beach about 100 yds walk away.
Unit is the perfect size for a couple, is beautifully decorated, has a comfortable bed and living room furniture and the kitchen is thoroughly stocked with any pot, bowl or accoutrement you could want. Eat on the private patio or inside. It truly looks like the home and view you would want to have on Maui.
Jake & Andi R

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapiliPointResort, General Manager at Napili Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Mahalo for taking time to review your recent stay with us. We agree that our location is simply breathtaking and swimming/snorkeling with the Hawaiian green sea turtles is a very special experience.

We have taken the opportunity to pass along your comments regarding the unit you stayed in, with the owners and are happy that you enjoyed the unit so much.

We hope that you are able to come back and visit us again soon!

Mahalo,

Rod Kelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 399 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

We spent 15 nights at Napili Point January 27-Feb. 11. Every moment was wonderful. The views cannot be beat, housekeeping is fabulous, parking is generous. We would prefer a bath with a walk-in shower rather than a tub, but that is a personal preference that not all would agree with. The units are not new, but they are very well cared for, as are the beautiful grounds. We would definitely go back -- in fact we did. This was our second visit!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kljr2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapiliPointResort, General Manager at Napili Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Mahalo for your comments and visiting us again - we appreciate and value your continued patronage.

We have passed along your comments to our Housekeeping staff – we agree that they are the best! And it is especially great to hear that “every moment was wonderful” on your trip.

We hope that your third visit with us is soon!

Mahalo,

Rod Kelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Napili Point was recommended to us by our travel agent. After reading some of the reports we were a bit concerned what we would find. Upon arrival we were very pleased by what we saw. The unit we were given (B5) was very well equiped and maintained. Easy acess to and from beach. So cool to be able to go to sleep and awaken to the sound of the ocean. Staff was eager to help us with any need. Only needed their help once. We would recommend this resort to any one and will return again. There was no resturant on premisis (thus no room service), but it is fully equiped condos so that was no problem. And there are many eating places close by.

Room Tip: Rooms on B level are easiest to acess. There is no problem getting to the A or C condos other than s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leland C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapiliPointResort, General Manager at Napili Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Aloha and Mahalo for your review of Napili Point Resort! We have passed along your comments to the owner of #B5.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our location is amazing with the spectacular and beautiful Honokeana Bay right at the doorstep!

We hope that you are able to visit again soon.

Mahalo,

Rod Kelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

NAPILI POINT RESORT

Hello fellow Hawaiian visitors, we spent 2 week in Maui over the Christmas/New Year’s break (2013/14), of which 10 days was at Napili Point Resort. We had a great time at Napili Point Resort and highly recommend that you consider staying there. It’s not glitzy by any means but it’s very well designed, has a terrific location, fantastic views, and is set in lush Hawaii.

We normally vacation in the Caribbean and this was our second holiday to Hawaii. We had visited the Islands a few years ago (for 3 weeks) and spent 10 days in Ka’anapali while on Maui so I do have a point of comparison. Also, on our recent trip, we spent 4 nights in Wailea (South Maui) at the Marriott.

From a budget/cost benefit I have no idea how Napili Point Resort compares to others, because at peak season, almost everything in Maui is booked, some a year in advance. Also, keep in mind that almost EVERYTHING in Hawaii is expensive, with a few exceptions.

We rented suite C22 (directly from the owner) and it had a spectacular view of Honokeana Bay and across to the Island of Moloka’i and The Island of Lana’i to the south. The view, and in particular, the sunsets were nothing short of SPECTACULAR. From our elevated patio we saw many whales, dolphins, the twelve or so local sea turtles in Honokeana Bay, and a terrific show of surfers. I would take a great view hands-down over proximity to a beach. This particular unit was a 2 bedroom with kitchen and a common area. The unit was nicely decorated with a great lay out. The other family we vacationed with booked through the resort but they ended up right next door, allowing us to chat to each other from patio-to-patio.

What I liked about Napili Point Resort was location, location, location. The physical location vis-à-vis the ocean/view was great as were the grounds. You could smell the sea, nature was abundant, and the grounds impeccable. Right off the property is a lovely area for paddle boarding and snorkeling that was protected from the winds/waves for the most part and is the habitat of loads of sea turtles. That being said, getting into the water takes work. There is no easy access to the bay so one must do a little lava walking and be able to have the strength to climb in and over rocks. It’s not an issue if you are patient and wear beach shoes to help climb in and out. The neighbouring resort to the south has better water access, and if you ask “nice” at the front desk, they will let you get into the bay from their property. This is America, don’t forget, where ocean front property and private property have a unique relationship: all waterfront is public but getting to it can be difficult!

A second advantage of Napili Point Resort is access to Napili Beach which is a 5 minute walk north. It is accessed by either walking along a rough path along the shore, or cutting through the neighbouring resort that is adjacent to the south end of the beach. Napili Beach is the quintessential Hawaiian Beach: perfect water, some reef areas, great beach, palm trees, views and surrounded by low rise Polynesian style resorts. The very well regarded MAUI REVEALED guidebook rates this beach tops on Maui; the rating is well deserved. Walk to this beach. Do not drive as there is no parking any closer.

One beach further to the North is the beach at Kapalua Bay which is fantastic. There was really good snorkelling on the North side and the beach was protected from the wind and surges. Kapalua Bay Beach is a 15 minute walk on the side of the local road (no sidewalk) or if you go early there is public parking on the South side of the Beach. The north end of the Beach has a large reef that is very beautiful for snorkelling. Also, the North end is the start of the Kapalua path which is great for running or just for a walk. If you are a “cliff jumper” the next bay North of Kapalua Bay is a local hang out. It’s accessed off the main path through a conservation area. Jumps are 10-20 feet and there is a ladder to get out of the ocean.

A third advantage of the resort area is that is nestled into a lively and real feeling Hawaiian community with good access to stores, rental outfits, restaurants and so forth. The local Napili shopping area (5 minute drive) has a great market, there are nice restaurants nearby, and its a two minute walk to Water Works Beach Rentals where you can rent beach chairs, stand up paddle boards, boggy boards, and loads of free advice from the very friendly owner. About 7 miles to the South is Lahania which is THE tourist town full of restaurants, stores, marine services, history, etc. and has loads of CHARM. Parking can be tight but if you head south take the “Front Street” exit, pass the marina and park in the free 3 hour lot. There are a few surf schools in Lahania and if you have a morning lesson, it’s no more than 20 minutes from Napili Point Resort. The Royal Hawaiian Surf Academy was really good, even for old 50 something guys like me (who got talked into it) who managed to get up and have a bona fide surf experience (thanks DAN, the instructor). As these units have kitchens, your options for groceries is the local Napili Market (very good but not large), a few miles south to TIMES (very good, large and bargain beer, wine, etc.) and then all the way into Lahania where there are several supermarkets (like Safeway, but you need to sign up for a Safeway card for the specials).

Lastly, the resort has two pools and two communal barbeque areas. We tended to hang out at the A Level pool (closest inland) and enjoyed the views of the ocean and sunsets at day’s end. The barbeques were brand new, well cleaned, somewhat accessible and well lit at night. Night comes quickly in Hawaii in the winter time so by 7 pm its dark. With eight of us in total, we enjoyed a few nights cooking on the grills to avoid line ups and of course expensive restaurant bills. There are many manicured lawns in front of the b level units. This is ideal for young kids. They can play there and the parents can easily keep an eye on them, drink in hand.

The daily cleaning service was excellent and in our ten day stay we had our unit cleaned by noon every day. I left a $5 tip for the staff every day and they seemed appreciative (mostly cleaners from the Philippines). The resort has security staff and I never got the sense that safety was an issue. That being said, our unit had a safe and we used it.

I read that morning rains could be an issue. In 10 days, one morning was on the wet side.

That’s the very positive review.

On the negative side, like a lot of Hawaii, Napili Point Resort was built with the automobile in mind. Walking/jogging requires skill as there are no sidewalks in the immediate area. There is not public path nearby. Also, many units probably need a make-over, but ours felt very Hawaiian in feel and was perfectly fine. The resort itself was originally built in the late 1960’s. What this means is smallish rooms and no fancy “infinite pools”. Some don’t like that, but too me the era is what gives it strength. Nothing in Napili is built taller than a palm tree – that’s the building code!

The walk to the beaches to the north and the pathway in Kapalua involve some exercise. So if you can’t walk, or don’t like walking, this is not your resort.

In terms of local restaurants, the Hawaiian BBQ restaurant in the neighbouring resort (next door to the north) had good fulsome food but it’s a bit too cafeteria style for my liking. The Gazebo restaurant next door (breakfast and lunch) was always packed. Line ups by 7.30 AM to get in for 8.30 AM.

This is the third area of Maui I’ve stayed at. If I was only on the Island for a few nights I’d prefer Ka’anapali but for a week or so I think Napili is great. Both are a short drive to Lahaina which is an excellent colonial feeling town with charm and an easy going feeling. It’s also the base of many boat excursions (20 mins/ok parking). The other boating area is Ma’alaea Bay Harbour (45 minute drive/tight parking). The Napili/Ka’anapali/Lahaina area has lots to do and help counters what to me is the biggest drawback about Hawaii -- the car. Roads are jammed with traffic so why not stay in an area where you can spend as little time as possible in the car?

If you do visit the area and are a “hiker” I highly recommend the Lahaina Pali Trail. It’s not as exciting as the trails up at Haleakala but it’s a morning hike with limited driving time. This is an arid hike with a great view. It starts right off of Highway 30 just south of Papalaua Beach and just north of the “tunnel”. There is a small parking lot on the east side of Highway 30 (unmarked) which is the trail head. I noticed it was on our National Car rental map. A 75 minute walk up takes you near the windmills. This is not a loop trail so its 75 minutes back down. To me this was the best “Underrated” activity on Maui and its FREE! Compare that to the price to take a family of four zip-lining! (Tip: never leave anything you care to lose in your car. If you are parking in an isolated area leave the car unlocked with nothing inside but wet towels. Hawaii has more “broken car window glass” in parking lots than any place I have been.)

ENJOY YOUR TRIP TO HAWAII AND YOU’LL LOVE NAPILI POINT RESORT.

Room Tip: The higher up the room, the better the view. Level c (2 bedrooms) were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Steveadventureguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapiliPointResort, General Manager at Napili Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Mahalo for taking the time to write such an extensive review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and the unit that you stayed in and we hope to see you again soon.

Rod Kelly, General Manager
Napili Point Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This was the trip of a lifetime. The location was spectacular and when the surf was up, we were treated to an exciting array of local surfers. We saw turtles every day in the bay on one side of the point. The layout is well-designed for privacy in all units. Grounds were lovely as well. Napili beach was awesome with easy walking access. We would stay here again, but would want to check out the unit first as standards vary dramatically from one unit to the next.

Room Tip: Arrive before 9:00 pm while staff is there and ask to see all units available in your price range be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Claudia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapiliPointResort, General Manager at Napili Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Mahalo for your comments. We are pleased that you chose Napili Point Resort as the location for your “trip of a lifetime” and that you thought the location of our property is spectacular (we agree!).

With respect to your room tip, we would like to clarify that all of our on-site rental owners are required to meet minimum standard requirements of the on-site rental program and most units actually exceed (those requirements). If you arrive before 5pm and should not be satisfied with the unit, we normally have other options available.

We look forward to your next visit with us and hope that it will be soon!

Rod Kelly, General Manager
Napili Point Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is an excellent place to stay in west Maui. Tropical ambience, quiet with only the roar of the surf in the background. Prices are most competitive for Maui. A strong recommendation for a week or so in paradise!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marleypacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapiliPointResort, General Manager at Napili Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Mahalo for your review – we were pleased to read about how much you enjoyed your stay with us!

We agree that our location is magnificent and the quiet, relaxed, tropical ambience of the property inviting. Guests enjoy watching the waves roll into Honokeana Bay during the winter months (December thru April) as well as witness the humpback whales cavorting in the distance.

We look forward to having you visit again in the near future.

Hau’oli Makahiki Hou (Happy New Year)!

Rod Kelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We enjoyed 16 days in a Ocean Point unit and had a fabulous time. The location is excellend as we could hear and see the waves crashing in front of us. We were blessed to have some waves when we were there so we were also entertained by the excellent surfers right in front of our place. The unit was a 3+ star in my estimation. Not opulent but the location is what sells it. Unit C3 had had some recent renovations.

We booked our stay at Napili Point through Donna Bender of MauiCalls. I cannot say enough good about Donna. She was prompt and very thorough and took time to answer all my queries as I tried to figure out which property would be the best for us.

The front desk staff at Napili are very pleasant and accommodating. They moved us to a unit on the second day as we weren't perfectly happy with our first unit.

The Kapalua Golf and Tennis is a 10 minute walk and we enjoyed their courts at a very reasonable price. They offered us a one month membership for $60 which included all court fees and use of their ball machines and ability to play in all the DROP IN sessions. Very good deal for an excellent facility.

Great snorkelling in the bay right beside our complex. Saw about 50 turtles in a 45 minute snorkel.

enjoy. We will be going back some day.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fifthline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapiliPointResort, General Manager at Napili Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We agree that the location of Napili Point Resort is excellent and we were happy to hear that you enjoyed the winter surf and watching the surfers.

Mahalo also for your comments regarding our staff - that they were “pleasant and accommodating.”
Napili Point Resort is a beautiful place to stay and we look forward to your next visit.

Hau’oli Makahiki Hou (Happy New Year)!

Rod Kelly, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.1 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.3 mi away
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach
5.1 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,636 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
240 reviews
3.6 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
#10 of 32 in Lahaina
3,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Point Resort

Address: 5295 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9158
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $272 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napili Point Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled above shimmering Honokeana Bay, Napili Point Resort is a 115 unit low rise condominium where every condo has an incredible ocean view. In the distance, the islands of Moloka'i and Lana'i rise from the warm waters of the blue Pacific, silhouetting spectacular legendary Maui sunsets. Relax at one of our two oceanfront swimming pools set amid our beautifully landscaped tropical grounds or our outdoor barbecues and picnic tables. Watch the waves roll into Honokeana Bay and during the winter months (December thru April) witness the humpback whales cavorting in the distance. This is the view from your own lanai. Here, you will find a quiet, relaxed and scenic Hawaiian atmosphere. This is your home in paradise...Enjoy some of the best snorkeling and swimming on Maui in Honokeana Bay. Multi-colored coral and countless tropical fish and sea turtles await you in the Bay - literally just steps outside your door. It's like an aquarium except that it's entirely natural and you swim among the fish and coral instead of looking through a window! At the tip of our "point" you will find tide pools filled with crabs, tiny hatchling tropical fish and countless other species to investigate. It's a great place to enjoy the natural beauty of the sea while only getting your feet wet! As a value rental program guest, you will enjoy the following amenities: Daily Housekeeping Service, Full Kitchen, Washer & Dryer, Hair Dryer, Lanai with Ocean View, Color TV with DVD Player, In-room Safe Two Swimming Pools, BBQs and Picnic Areas, Weekly Nature Walk, Pineapple Cutting Demonstration, Free WiFI and Broadband internet available. For broadband, you just need to provide your laptop computer with an ITC Ethernet jack (the Ethernet cord is provided in each unit). BBQ: 5 gas and 1 charcoal - guests must provide their own charcoal and lighter fluid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Napili Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Point Hotel Lahaina
Napili Point Lahaina
Napili Point Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing