We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scenic, great views, spacious units.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Napili Point Resort
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
160 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Scenic, great views, spacious units.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is an excellent place to stay in west Maui. Tropical ambience, quiet with only the roar of the surf in the background. Prices are most competitive for Maui. A strong recommendation for a week or so in paradise!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marleypacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapiliPointResort, General Manager at Napili Point Resort, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Mahalo for your review – we were pleased to read about how much you enjoyed your stay with us!

We agree that our location is magnificent and the quiet, relaxed, tropical ambience of the property inviting. Guests enjoy watching the waves roll into Honokeana Bay during the winter months (December thru April) as well as witness the humpback whales cavorting in the distance.

We look forward to having you visit again in the near future.

Hau’oli Makahiki Hou (Happy New Year)!

Rod Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    84
    13
    15
    6
See reviews for
163
136
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

We enjoyed 16 days in a Ocean Point unit and had a fabulous time. The location is excellend as we could hear and see the waves crashing in front of us. We were blessed to have some waves when we were there so we were also entertained by the excellent surfers right in front of our place. The unit was a 3+ star in my estimation. Not opulent but the location is what sells it. Unit C3 had had some recent renovations.

We booked our stay at Napili Point through Donna Bender of MauiCalls. I cannot say enough good about Donna. She was prompt and very thorough and took time to answer all my queries as I tried to figure out which property would be the best for us.

The front desk staff at Napili are very pleasant and accommodating. They moved us to a unit on the second day as we weren't perfectly happy with our first unit.

The Kapalua Golf and Tennis is a 10 minute walk and we enjoyed their courts at a very reasonable price. They offered us a one month membership for $60 which included all court fees and use of their ball machines and ability to play in all the DROP IN sessions. Very good deal for an excellent facility.

Great snorkelling in the bay right beside our complex. Saw about 50 turtles in a 45 minute snorkel.

enjoy. We will be going back some day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fifthline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapiliPointResort, General Manager at Napili Point Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We agree that the location of Napili Point Resort is excellent and we were happy to hear that you enjoyed the winter surf and watching the surfers.

Mahalo also for your comments regarding our staff - that they were “pleasant and accommodating.”
Napili Point Resort is a beautiful place to stay and we look forward to your next visit.

Hau’oli Makahiki Hou (Happy New Year)!

Rod Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

This was our 5th visit to Napili Point Resort...so it is obvious we really like the place. The location is amazing. The problem is they have very low standards for the quality of furnishing and maintenance in each unit. Four years ago we were put into C-24. The bottom three stairs were loose and on our first day of vacation - they were so loose I tumbled down the stairs in a heap on the floor. Their temporary fix all was to put blocks under the bottom stair. This did not ease my being uncomfortable in this unit so we asked to move to the unit next door. That unit was heaven on earth and we have tried every time since to get back in it without any luck.

Almost exactly 4 years to the day from my fall we are again turned down for our requested unit and get put back into C-24. I must have a curse on me. The same blocks are sitting under the bottom stair. It never went from a temp fix to a perm fix! Seriously?? This set me on edge from day one, but what can you do...not much according to their office. The lanai and beyond is fantastic so I did not let that ruin my vacation. Sadly for us we go to relax rather than being on out door adventures.

I have a similar complaint as a previous reviewer...The kitchen is stocked with a hodgepodge of mismatched cracked and chipped yard sale pieces. We have a better selection in our camping gear. We even broke down and bought them a new sauté pan and wooden spoons because the Teflon was warn off their pans.
The second living room chair was nothing more than a glorified kitchen table chair - so we had to play musical chairs for everyone to have a chance at comfort while trying to relax.
When we vacation we expect our surroundings to be as good if not better than we have at home.

We have been staying in Maui condos for more than 20 years, so we know quality and care when we see it. The owners of this unit just don't seem to care about their guests and only about their rental investment.

Room Tip: I do suggest staying at NPR to anyone - but ask for keys to several units when you check in so you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tammie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapiliPointResort, General Manager at Napili Point Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Mahalo for your comments – we are sorry that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us.

Regarding your displeasure with staying in Unit #C24 versus the unit next door (Unit #C23) - please note that your room request for Unit #C23 was attached to the reservation when it was made. We attach every room “request” our guests have to their reservations and try our very best to accommodate. However, occupancy at the property is always a factor and often times units such as #C23, are “guaranteed” - at full rack rate. It is not always possible to accommodate every room request when the reservation is at a discounted or special rate.

With regard to your comment that we have “low standards for the quality of furnishing and maintenance in each unit”, we respectfully disagree. Management is committed to and works with our rental owners on a consistent basis, to upgrade and maintain units so that our guests are comfortable during their stays. We receive many positive comments regarding the upgraded units in our on-site rental program.

In response to your comments regarding the kitchen furnishings, our Front Desk staff is dedicated to making your stay with us comfortable and pleasurable which includes responding to every one of your requests to your satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not know of your unhappiness about any of the kitchen items or furnishings until you were checking out! The unit has since been inspected and we find that both the kitchen and unit furnishings are well within our rental requirements and standards. That step is scheduled for repair.

In closing, we are sorry that your overall expectations of your visit were not met. We agree that it is a magnificent place to stay!

Mahalo,

Rodney Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed two nights at Napili Point Resort and had a great time. We were upgraded from an ocean view to an oceanfront condo. The condo that we stayed in, unit C13, was in a perfect location, but needed some updating. We had a great view of Honokeana Bay, which had sea turtles in it, and also of the gorgeous sunsets. We were on the upper level, and had no problems with noise.
Our unit was clean and comfortable. It had a bedroom with two twin beds downstairs and a full bathroom, and a queen bed in the loft upstairs, next to another bathroom. The unit had a full kitchen with plates, silverware, utensils, coffee maker, etc. Some of the utensils were worn and needed to be replaced. There was a washer and dryer in the unit, which was very convenient. The linens, although clean, were getting threadbare and were in need of being replaced. The unit didn't have air-conditioning, but had ceiling fans and a nice breeze to cool it down.
We went snorkeling in the bay right in front of our unit. I would highly recommend water shoes, and also be careful when entering the water as the lava rock is very sharp. We did see several turtles swimming in the bay. On the other side of the property and a short walk away is a nice sandy beach at Napili Bay where you can swim, boogy board, etc.
If this unit were refurbished, it would be perfect. Each unit is different at the resort, and some are more updated than others. You can request a specific unit when you make a reservation and they have pictures of all of the units on their website.

Room Tip: Our unit, C13, was in a great location, but needed to be updated. Look at their website under &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvladct82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Stevens, Washington
Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Spent a glorious week at the Napili Point Resort. Friends and I stayed in an ocean front 2 bedroom/2 bath unit on the 2nd floor. Loved having an in-unit washer and dryer. Really allows you to pack light. Great location. From the balcony we could see turtles swimming all day long. One afternoon I spent snorkeling and encountered several big and curious turtles. There was even a huge turtle "sleeping" or sunning himself on the rocky shore. The complex is right next door to the famous Gazebo Restaurant and Napili Beach. I walked along the coastal path several days to go to Napili Beach which is a beautiful beach. My friend loved sitting by one of the two resort pools. The other vacationers were super friendly and offered so much advice to places to visit and restaurants to try.

I've stayed at various locations around the island and really liked Napili. The staff was attentive and friendly. My friends really liked the activities coordinator....maybe Nancy??? I would return to the resort if I find myself in Maui again.

Room Tip: You won't be disappointed with an ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveling_with_kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapiliPointResort, General Manager at Napili Point Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and let us know how much you enjoyed your time with us! Our property is located in one of the most beautiful places on the island – and the “honu” (turtles) in the bay make it all that much more special.

We look forward to your next visit and hope that it will be soon!

Mahalo,

Rod Kelly, General Manager
Napili Point Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Just returned from a glorious 12 days at the Napili Point. We have stayed next door at Napili Shores for many, many years. This trip was a spur of the moment and we decided to give Napili Point a try. The grounds are very nice and the location is fantastic with ocean views from all units. We had a ocean point unit and the views of Lanai and Molokai were spectacular along with the turtles swimming in the bay. The big treat for us was the washer and dryer in the unit. Next trip we're taking one carryon bag each. I want to mention that Rod, who is the manager was fantastic with our requests, and every employee was happy and courteous and greeted us whenever they saw us. We were very sad to leave and hope to return soon. The one bedroom unit was very well equipped and hope we can stay in that unit again.
Thanks for a wonderful vacation!!!
Larry and Shirley

Room Tip: I would want an ocean point or ocean view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sevans102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapiliPointResort, General Manager at Napili Point Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Aloha Larry and Shirley,

Thank you for staying with us recently and for the nice comments regarding the service you received. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed yourselves and our property (and the honu in the bay!). We agree that our location is fantastic and the views spectacular.

I hope that you will come visit us again in the near future.

Mahalo,

Rod Kelly, General Manager
Napili Point Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Booked an oceanview unit through their website and with the 5th day free felt I was getting a good deal. Wanted the proximity of Napili Bay and the ability to see turtles in the bay. Family of 5 including 3 kids, ages 13, 11, and 7.

First, the resort. Loved it. Great location. Relatively quiet. Beautiful grounds. And lots of turtles in the bay. We snorkeled every day with a family of no less than 6 turtles who appeared to live in the bay. Very easily walkable to the beach at Napili. Sunsets are spectacular just sitting on the lanai or out on the grounds. Every unit looks like it has a view. Staff was great. Parking was no problem. Absolutely nothing bad to say about the resort (would be a 5-star rating were it just based on the resort itself and not the unit...)

The unit we stayed in was C-44 and we were pleased to see that it was an end unit, which meant that instead of having one bedroom downstairs and one upstairs loft, it had two full bedrooms on a single story (the second floor of the building) and a larger lanai than the other units. The picture on TA for this resort looks like it could have been taken from our balcony. The interior was furnished nicely and there were beach chairs and boogeyboards in the closet for use (could have used an umbrella, too, but that's getting a bit picky!). The biggest complaint with this unit was the road noise. The master bedroom is on the end of the building, and the windows look like they're 30 years old (the old louver-style windows), so even with the windows closed, you're listening to cars/trucks/motorcycles going by while trying to sleep. Some units had upgraded windows, but this one didn't. You end up getting used to the noise a bit, but I'd rather listen to the ocean when going to bed rather than motorcycles. If I were to do it again, I'd step up to the 'oceanfront' category and add a little bigger buffer between me and the road. Would definitely stay at the resort again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms immediately adjacent to the road (i.e some in the 'oceanview' category). Try to...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TravelerFromOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapiliPointResort, General Manager at Napili Point Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Aloha,

Thanks for taking the time to write this review.

With regard to your comments on the road noise, the bedroom windows that face on to the road have double pane windows to help with the sound. All of the other windows on the property are jalousie style which are very popular in the Hawaiian Islands, because when open allow more air flow.

We were glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Mahalo,

Rod Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.3 mi away
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach
0.1 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
3.5 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
8.7 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Napili Kai Beach Resort
Napili Kai Beach Resort
#4 of 32 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Point Resort

Property: Napili Point Resort
Address: 5295 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9158
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Napili Point Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled above shimmering Honokeana Bay, Napili Point Resort is a 115 unit low rise condominium where every condo has an incredible ocean view. In the distance, the islands of Moloka'i and Lana'i rise from the warm waters of the blue Pacific, silhouetting spectacular legendary Maui sunsets. Relax at one of our two oceanfront swimming pools set amid our beautifully landscaped tropical grounds or our outdoor barbecues and picnic tables. Watch the waves roll into Honokeana Bay and during the winter months (December thru April) witness the humpback whales cavorting in the distance. This is the view from your own lanai. Here, you will find a quiet, relaxed and scenic Hawaiian atmosphere. This is your home in paradise...Enjoy some of the best snorkeling and swimming on Maui in Honokeana Bay. Multi-colored coral and countless tropical fish and sea turtles await you in the Bay - literally just steps outside your door. It's like an aquarium except that it's entirely natural and you swim among the fish and coral instead of looking through a window! At the tip of our "point" you will find tide pools filled with crabs, tiny hatchling tropical fish and countless other species to investigate. It's a great place to enjoy the natural beauty of the sea while only getting your feet wet! As a value rental program guest, you will enjoy the following amenities: Daily Housekeeping Service, Full Kitchen, Washer & Dryer, Hair Dryer, Lanai with Ocean View, Color TV with DVD Player, In-room Safe Two Swimming Pools, BBQs and Picnic Areas, Weekly Nature Walk, Pineapple Cutting Demonstration, Free WiFI and Broadband internet available. For broadband, you just need to provide your laptop computer with an ITC Ethernet jack (the Ethernet cord is provided in each unit). BBQ: 5 gas and 1 charcoal - guests must provide their own charcoal and lighter fluid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Napili Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Point Hotel Lahaina
Napili Point Lahaina
Napili Point Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing