We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Napili Point Resort
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection in Paradise”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Cannot say enough about this amazing unit. Spotless , organized , fully stocked , soft linens, pizza cutter, nothing was missed. The upper unit offers breathtaking views of the water and turtles swimming in the cove. We instantly felt at home in a clean inviting unit we wished we could have stayed longer in- but hope to return to next time :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammas55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPC37, Owner at Napili Point Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you so much for the nice review! Although you did not mention that it was C-37 in your review, you did email me to let me know you had posted this.

We take great pride in providing a clean home with soft comfy towels and sheets!! We are happy to hear you enjoyed our home in "Paradise" and hope you will come again very soon.

Mahalo
Patty & Bill
Owners C-37
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    84
    13
    15
    6
See reviews for
163
136
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed at Napili Point with our 2 young kids (2 and 4 years old) and it's a great place for families. We loved that it was quiet and remote, the only downside being that it's a little walk to the (rather windy) beach. But overlooking the secluded bay, watching the sea turtles and staying in a quieter part of Maui made it worth it. Being that it's farther north on the coast made for some longer drives to visit Lahaina and any beaches on the southern coast. And though these beaches on the south were nice, they were always packed with people! So we were always happy to come "home" to lovely, quiet Napili.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingmama2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This was our second stay at Napili Point Resort, and we will return to this location in the future. We love snorkeling in the turtle bay that is right there for us, along with a pool, and Napili Beach just a short walk away. We stayed in Unit C38 the first time, which has a loft master bedroom, and we loved it (second floor; nice view). I requested it again when I called the Napili Point management, but they told me they do not accommodate specific requests. They said that the best way to get exactly what we wanted was to go through the owner. I went through the owner and mistakenly rented the C37 unit right next door! It was great, too, however! No loft this time but two enclosed bedrooms and a larger lanai since it was a corner unit. This worked best for us as we had all three kids on this trip.
Hot tips: Go to the Gazebo restaurant on Napili Beach for breakfast. It is a long line but well worth the wait! Amazing pancakes and omelets! We went twice. Also, when we are on Maui, we always attend the Kumalani Chapel - It is an outdoor church that meets under a porte corchere at the Kapalua Golf course. Afterward, we go to the Plantation House for brunch. It is a beautiful view and wonderful food. Sansei Sushi is great. We have been there twice. Mama's Fish House is SO good but know that it is expensive! Entrees range from $44 to $52 dollars on average, and drinks add up, too, at $16 each on up. We have gone Scuba diving twice through the place next door to the Mala Restaurant (both places are good fyi - the diving company and the restaurant). Two of our kids did the Kapalua zipline. They liked it, but will try the Kaanapali one next time for variety. If you want something that sounds cool to tell your friends, but really isn't, try the 23-mile bike ride down from the Haleakala Volcano.

Room Tip: For the "Ocean View" section at Napili Point Resort, only a second floor room will do. Wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lavelle2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Why only 3 stars when I love Napili Point, have been many times and will definitely return again? Becauase I've already reviewed this property and given it the 5 stars the property deserves, but wanted to share a tip for those who who may not have been. Here's my advice: read all the Napili Point reviews and look for positive mentions of specific units. This is a condo property and the units are individually owned. it is not a time share. This means that individual owners are responsible for decorating, maintaining the interior and equipping their condos. There are two ways to rent at Napili Point. One is to rent directly from an owner, and the other is to rent through the Napili Point management. My only experience is through Napili Point, and I still think that is the way to go, since if you have a problem you will have on-site assistance and access to maid service and, if needed, the maintenance repair/staff, all of whom are very responsive. The downside is that you will not have pictures of the interior of the specific unit you are getting. There are apparently 'minimum standards' that units must meet to be included in the rental pool; however, I suspect that those standards mean meeting a list of things that must be provided - a minimum number of plates, glasses, basic kitchen equipment, etc.. We recently stayed in Unit B-36. First, the good: This unit is ideally situated. You are only steps from the parking lot and steps from the path that leads to the pool and beach. You overlook the pool and cove, but are not so close to the pool that the noise is a problem. Now the not-so-good: By my count I think this is the 5th different unit that I have stayed in, and sadly, the appointments were not up to the standards we had come to expect from previous experience in other units. The decor was 'tired' compared to other units, it was minimally furnished and even the paint and carpeting were a little sad. Some lamps had chipped bases, others had holes in the lampshades. The artwork didn't contribute to the overall look of the decor and was haphazardly hung, so I had an urge to straighten it every time I walked down the hall. However, since we were in Maui to enjoy the outdoors and not the decor, that wasn't a huge deal. What was disappointing was the sorry state of the kitchen equipment. The owners really need to make a trip to Costco or KMart and invest in a decent set of pots and pans and some knives that actually cut. Everyone in our party agreed that our camping equipment contains better cooking equipment than this $300 a night condo. The dishes were mismatched, and if you didn't run the dishwasher after every meal you would not have enough plates and utensils for the 6 people the condo can accomodate. The coffee maker was so old it did not have automatic turn-off (do they even make those anymore?) and the can opener had to be 20 years old and barely worked. There were no barbeque utensils whatsoever, and there was only ONE pot that was big enough to boil water, and even that was pretty small. None of the pots and pans matched, it looked like they had been sourced from the Salvation Army. The unit did have two flat screen TVS (not something I care about, since I don't come to Maui to watch television) but no stereo or even radio. While all of the units we have stayed in have some locked cupboards where owners store their personal items, this unit had built on a closet-type structure at the end of the kitchen. The galley kitchens are already small, so this ceiling-height structure at the end of the counter made the kitchen feel even smaller and reduced the available counter space. But again, our biggest complaint was the inadequately stocked kitchen. I have to imagine we are not alone in that one of our reasons for renting a condo rather than staying in a full service resort is that we prefer to cook at home rather than eat out every meal. We weren't expecting a gourmet kitchen, but what was supplied did not meet our 'minimum standards'. We'll definitely go back to Napili Point, but not to Unit B-36. What makes this even more annoying is that in order to 'request' a specific unit, you forego the ability to apply any other discounts (in our case we would have been available for a 50+ discount). There are very few 2 bedroom units at Napili Point, and apparently most of them have lofts as the second bedroom. Because we wanted to be on a specific level and wanted a second bedroom, not a loft bedroom, we had to specify from among the available 2 bedrooms (and B-36 was the option we were given). It cost us about an extra $150 to specify this unit, so to find it so poorly appointed was irritating.

Room Tip: The location of B-36 is excellent. Front door is steps from the parking lot, you can walk directly f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank PetalumaTraveler373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Napili Point Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Thank you also for staying with us for the 6th time as well as your previous 5 star reviews of our property and on-site rental program! We appreciate and value your continued patronage.

We were sorry that we could not accommodate you in the two bedroom non-loft unit you had “requested” (not guaranteed) and/or at the 50% travel agent discount.

We only have five (5) non-loft units in our rental program. We attach every room “request” to a reservation, once made and try our very best to accommodate, however occupancy at the property is always a factor and often times those units, as well as other specific units, are “guaranteed” at full rack rate, so it is not always possible to accommodate every request at a discounted rate or special.

We were pleased to read the many positive comments regarding the upgraded units in our on-site rental program.

In response to your comments regarding the kitchen furnishings, our Front Desk staff is dedicated to making your stay with us comfortable and pleasurable which includes responding to every one of your requests to your satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not know of your unhappiness about any of the kitchen items! Had we been informed, we would have immediately replaced them.

With respect to the owner’s storage closet at the end of the kitchen, this is how the property was originally built. Several of our homeowners have chosen to remove that closet but as in this unit, the owner has not removed it and actually uses it for their personal items.

In closing, we are sorry that your overall expectations of your visit were not met and that we did not have the opportunity to assist you. We are happy that you will continue to stay at our property at some point in the future. It is a magnificent place to stay!

Mahalo,

Rodney Kelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

It was our second trip to Maui and we were very lucky that we found this condo. Besides boasting an incredible view and all the amenities we were also lucky to have beach extras- like umbrella and boogie boards in our room. Kitchen is very convenient and fridge has enough room for two week supplies for 3 adults and one toddler.
Location was the best thing- we walked to the Sea House restaurant couple times and there's also a great breakfast place right next to the complex. Ritz Carlton with beautiful walking trail is in walking distance as well, so it was great for those looking for beautiful walks with a stroller. Thank you Ellen and David!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank russiancookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam
Level Contributor
281 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We returned to Napili Point Resort, Unit C21 owned by David and Ellen, after so many great memories of our 2011 vacation. The Unit is tastefully decorated, everything you could need in a condo, a very comfy bed, well stocked kitchen, But, the best is the amazing view and location on the Bay. Every morning, we awoke to this magnificent view of the ocean, the Islands of Lanai and Molokai and the sound of the surf. Magnificent turtles were abundant in the bay and you could watch them for hours bobbing on the surface as snorkelers frolicked in the water watching their every moves. The Napili Bay, a short walk away, is one of the most beautiful beaches in Hawaii. Small, tucked away, and private. Never crowded. Our hosts always ensure we are well looked after. We will undoubtedly return,, Not soon enough. Aloha

Room Tip: The entire location is great, staying in a unit close to the water is ideal. C 21 is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Goldwingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

The pictures of the inside of the condos on the Napili Point Resort official website are deceiving and do not depict all the condos.  We stayed 10 days in B43.  First impression walking into the unit - it smelled musty and old.  The unit lacks pride of ownership.  It is in dire need of a remodel and update - old wallpaper, walls need cleaning and painting, miss-matched decor, outdated kitchen & bathroom, old  & rusted kitchenware & appliances.  NO Wi-Fi.  I understand bringing unacceptable items to the attention of the manager.  But the owner/manager should anticipate a guests' basic needs.  We had to ask for a new can opener and blender.  The manual and electric openers were both rusted and caked with old food.  The blender base was cracked, leaked and also had old caked food on it like it had never been taken apart and cleaned.  For $200+ a night the owner provided only salt and pepper. Would have been an appealing added touch - small welcome basket. There was a non-working window ac unit in the bedroom. We didn't need it so we didn't bring it to the manager's attention.  We had to ask for more basics - shampoo, soap, paper towels and toilet paper.   Back of unit was on the street so there was a LOT of street noise.

On the plus side - absolutely beautiful ocean view, saw seals, whales, turtles, convenient walkout lanai, away from busy cities, Napili Market convenient for shopping, Cafe o Lei restaurant next door had great dinners and drinks, condo provided boogie board & beach chairs, slept on pullout in living room because of the view and fell asleep and woke to sounds of the ocean, front door screen lets in breeze. Very convenient to have a kitchen to cook in instead of eating dinner out all the time.  Ate breakfast in and made lunches to take to the beach.  Bought assorted drink fixings and made exotic cocktails each evening.  Another plus...no bugs.  

Would we stay here again?  Not in B43.  I would get a picture of the unit or rent privately from individual that has posted pics.  Older lady at front desk needs to improve her customer service.  No Aloha, Welcome, smile.  Basically, sign here, need your credit card, here's your key.  Mai tai reception would have been a much needed added plus.  Despite reserving our 10 day stay 7+ months in advance and requesting 4 different units away from the street in advance, we were told we wouldn't know what unit we would be assigned until check-in.  Yet the manager responded on a previous review, that stays less than 7 days aren't guaranteed specific units?  Hm?

Room Tip: Every room has an ocean view. Street units get a LOT of street noise. No WiFi. Get a picture of u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CAtravelers-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapiliPointResort, General Manager at Napili Point Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that we were unable to accommodate your “request” (not guarantee) for various specific “A” level units during your dates of stay. Due to extremely high occupancy at the time, all of those “A” level units you had requested were occupied and not available to you at check-in. Had your unhappiness with Unit #B43 been brought to our attention, we would have offered you other options.

Regarding the interior condition of #B43, we find it ironic that the prior guest to you in #B43, who stayed 30 days, requested it again for next year.

With respect to other comments in your review:

1) We are pleased to advise that the installation of WIFI is scheduled within the next 60-90 days!
2) After receiving your request for another blender on the night prior to your departure, I personally delivered a replacement (blender) to your unit.
3) There are always challenges in the tropics with keeping food items fresh in the units. Therefore, we do not supply any food items in the kitchen other than salt and pepper.
4) Upon reading your review, we tested the air conditioner in bedroom of #B43 and found it to be in good working order and cooling properly. In this not so hot but humid environment, settings can get tricky.
5) Housekeeping makes the beds, takes out the garbage, and puts in clean towels daily. On the 3rd and 7th day, Housekeeping vacuums, dusts and changes linens. They also restock items such as shampoo, soap, paper towels and toilet paper as necessary. Had you called or stopped by the front desk and requested more of any of these items, we would have given them to you or brought them to you as soon as possible.
6) Our resort vs. owner rented units: We would like to clarify our policy with regard to booking units directly with owners who are not a part of our on-site rental program. The important differences include (but are not limited to) 1) We require a 1 or 2 night deposit which is fully refundable to within 3 days to 30 days prior to arrival. The balance is not due until arrival (except Christmas). 2) We provide on-site maintenance, housekeeping, and front desk services. 3) If your room assignment is not to your satisfaction and you let us know, there are almost always options.
7) We attach every room “request” (not guaranteed) to a reservation once it is made. We always try our very best to accommodate but again, it is a “request.”

Guaranteed Units: If you have a preferred unit number or level that you would like to stay in, we are now able to guarantee specific units for stays 7 nights or longer and at full rack rate(every 5th night is free but no discounts/specials or cars are included with this program. Dates not applicable: 12/22-12/31).

In closing, we are again sorry that we were unable to accommodate you in the “A” level units during your stay with us and that your overall expectations of your visit were not met. We look forward to your next visit and the opportunity to assist you in the future.

Mahalo,

Rod Kelly
General Manager
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.3 mi away
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach
0.1 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
3.5 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.4 mi away
Napili Kai Beach Resort
Napili Kai Beach Resort
#4 of 32 in Lahaina
838 reviews
0.2 mi away
Napili Surf Beach Resort
Napili Surf Beach Resort
#20 of 32 in Lahaina
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Point Resort

Property: Napili Point Resort
Address: 5295 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9158
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Napili Point Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled above shimmering Honokeana Bay, Napili Point Resort is a 115 unit low rise condominium where every condo has an incredible ocean view. In the distance, the islands of Moloka'i and Lana'i rise from the warm waters of the blue Pacific, silhouetting spectacular legendary Maui sunsets. Relax at one of our two oceanfront swimming pools set amid our beautifully landscaped tropical grounds or our outdoor barbecues and picnic tables. Watch the waves roll into Honokeana Bay and during the winter months (December thru April) witness the humpback whales cavorting in the distance. This is the view from your own lanai. Here, you will find a quiet, relaxed and scenic Hawaiian atmosphere. This is your home in paradise...Enjoy some of the best snorkeling and swimming on Maui in Honokeana Bay. Multi-colored coral and countless tropical fish and sea turtles await you in the Bay - literally just steps outside your door. It's like an aquarium except that it's entirely natural and you swim among the fish and coral instead of looking through a window! At the tip of our "point" you will find tide pools filled with crabs, tiny hatchling tropical fish and countless other species to investigate. It's a great place to enjoy the natural beauty of the sea while only getting your feet wet! As a value rental program guest, you will enjoy the following amenities: Daily Housekeeping Service, Full Kitchen, Washer & Dryer, Hair Dryer, Lanai with Ocean View, Color TV with DVD Player, In-room Safe Two Swimming Pools, BBQs and Picnic Areas, Weekly Nature Walk, Pineapple Cutting Demonstration, Free WiFI and Broadband internet available. For broadband, you just need to provide your laptop computer with an ITC Ethernet jack (the Ethernet cord is provided in each unit). BBQ: 5 gas and 1 charcoal - guests must provide their own charcoal and lighter fluid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Napili Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Point Hotel Lahaina
Napili Point Lahaina
Napili Point Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing