We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (424)
Filter reviews
424 results
Traveler rating
293
94
15
15
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
293
94
15
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea turtleshonokeana bayturtle coveocean frontrocky shoreminute walkdonna benderloft bedroomlocal girlhouse restaurantboogie boardsc unitthese condosmacadamia nut pancakesgreat snorkelingeasy accesslow key
Filter
Updating list...
249 - 254 of 424 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2012

The grounds at Napili Point Resort are amazing and the sound of the surf is like having your own private sound machine near you at all times. With that said, I have to describe how our vacation started at Napili Point Resort. We booked our trip one year in advance, booking five nights to finish out a three week stay on Maui. We were booking for less than one week and we understood that we would not get to choose our condo, but we paid for one of the condos located on the point so that we would get an ocean front condo. We arrived exactly at the check in time and the process was quick. We were directed to Suite A1. Parking near A1 is difficult and it gave us quite a walk with our luggage considering there were three groups of steps to go down and no elevators for any location on the property. We entered the unit with great expectations only to be disappointed. The furnishings were 1970’s, with a Herculon fabric covered sofa popular in the 70's. Half the kitchen cabinets were locked and reserved exclusively for the owner’s use, the cheap chrome towel rack in the bath room was bent to the extent that it needed to be replaced, and some of the hallway wall was sponge painted a dabbled blue to resemble water. The tile did not match throughout the unit due to replacing the part located in the bathroom and leaving the rest with older and a different color tile. The unit is located about 20 feet from the community outdoor shower so small crowds gathered, the side walk was only 4 feet from our patio so there were plenty of people walking very close to where we were trying to relax, and the worst of all…..this unit was located just above the “smoking hole.” Guests who needed to smoke would light up while still on the property and then move on down to the rocks which technically was off property. We could smell the smoke on our patio and in our unit whenever this happened.

The next morning we requested a move to another unit based on the age and condition of the furnishings and the smoking issue. The manager was able to move us to unit C9 an ocean view suite that was reasonably nice with a couple of exceptions. This unit looked directly over the pool. The furnishings were a high grade rattan, comfortable sofa and additional chairs and a beautiful balcony. The kitchen cabinets were of much higher quality than the unit A1. The only problem with this unit was worn and dirty carpet which turned our bare feet black and an abundance of miniature ants in the bathroom and kitchen. We lost some food to the ants before we discovered them. The manager did send some ant bates to us once we reported the ants. The ant bates were useless, but we managed.

My husband ask about a refund for the difference in price for the unit since we were not moved to another one on the point. We were told that they would have to upgrade an ocean view guest to the A1 ocean point, therefore no refund would be given. I feel the owner of the unit should have to absorb any loss due to the condition of the condo. There is a drastic difference in the quality of the furnishings and the decorating of Unit A1 and other units at the Resort. This owner clearly needs to make improvements to the unit.

Napali Point Resort describes walking to a sand beach implying reasonable accessibility. The walk to the sand beach is a difficult one with signs warning those who venture the trail that accidents can happen. Napili Point wants to advertise the sand beach as close by, but in my opinion does not want to take any responsibility for the safety of its guests.

Our maid service was very good. Our housekeeper was very nice and friendly. When she found out we were moving into her unit, she came right away to help us. It was the only help that we had in relocating. There are no luggage carts since every unit has some kind of steps. You are on your own to get your luggage and things to your unit. My 69 year old husband had to carry most everything himself.

The sunsets are beautiful from the point and so I will not say that Napili Point Resort is a terrible place to stay, just be advised that not all units are the same and you may get unit A1 or one just like it. Even though you get to choose a unit if you are booking seven days or more, we were told by the manager that that rule didn’t apply for guests receiving any type of discount. Looking at their rate list it is apparent that most everyone is getting a discount even if it’s only the buy 4 nights and get 1 night free.

We met several guests who return year after year and are happy with the resort; however, I brought one woman guest to our unit A1 to show her it's condition and she said “Oh, this is a very tired one”. So it was not my expectations that were higher than the norm, the unit is indeed in need of redecorating.

Room Tip: Avoid Unit A1
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cleo1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapiliPointResort, General Manager at Napili Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2012

The units at Napili Point Resort are individually owned and are all furnished differently. We review and require all meet a Minimum Standard.

It is true that we do not guarantee specific units for less than a seven day stay. However we do our very best to fulfill guest requests and do our best toward offering alternatives when the assigned unit does not meet guest expectations.

We are a condominium resort and do not have a porter to help guests with their luggage. During the day and upon request, we have employees who are available to help. There are also hand carts available.

Napili Point is a non-smoking property. There are designated smoking areas. If we are made aware that people are smoking outside of those areas, we normally give a warning first followed by fines for second offenses.

Unit A1 is on the lower level, there are two flights of steps, one with six steps and after a landing there is a second set of seven steps, all with hand rails. Napili Point was built in 1979 but none of the units here have original furniture. For a long time tropical style furniture with lots of colorful prints and lots of rattan and bamboo was popular. More recently, the darker heavier style furniture has become very popular. The current style is back to the 70’s with the herculon fabrics. Most owners who have converted to this style try to add colorful pillows and accents. This unit is located 30 feet from an outdoor shower where guests frequently wash off the sand from the beach. There is a sidewalk which crosses between 9 and 25 feet in front of all our A level units. The owner of A1 does have a lock on three cabinet doors, one above both the broom closet and two above the range. Those cabinets are high and not frequently used. The cabinets themselves are five years old and finished with laminate made to resemble the European style Siematic.

Insects are an ever present problem in the tropics. We maintain a regular pest control service which treats the entire property quarterly. The entire exterior grounds area is sprayed as well as the interiors. Insects still do find their way inside, especially if food is left out or screen doors are not kept closed. When we are made aware there are problems, the pest control company is on call to treat between regularly scheduled visits.

Rod Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

This resort is at the west end of Maui...considered by locals as the best part of Maui, and Maui itself is widely considered as the best of Hawaii's 6 habitable/accessible islands.
Napili Point Resort overlooks beautiful Honokeana Cove, and in the cove, there are about 15 large, vegetarian turtles, and about 1000 colorful tropical fish, and a single mini-octopus ( perhaps 1 foot from tentacles to head).Snorkelling is the BEST on Maui...I have tried it all over.
There is a child safe sandy beach around the west end, paddle board and snorkel sets, etc., are rented 50 feet away, and you'll love breakfast or lunch at the Gazebo Restaurant, which is on the ocean front...for about 5 months each winter you get to see whales almost daily from here, and when the surf is up, you can see surfers just 400 feet away.
The resort has two swimming pools for young ( or old) kids, and most Condos have views of 2 other Hawaiian Islands, Molokai and Lanai ( where Bill Gates got married..it is nicknamed the Pineapple Island), and also,most of the Condos have beautiful Pacific Sunsets.We have stayed here 7 or 8 times over the years, this time,we took the Grandkids, the only problem was that they didn't wan to go home.
There are about 6 gas grilles outside in various spots, so you can grill and dine ( tables provided) outside, and a couple of grills in which you can use charcoal.

Room Tip: They have 3 types of condo suites, A. units sleep 4, but are a bit tight, 2 people would be comfy, 4 is ok if 2 of them are your young kids/grandkids, the B. units have walk-out accessibility to the Ocean and pools,but again, are limited to,perhaps 4 friendly people. We rent "C". units,in which you can fit 6 people comfortably, as they have 2 floors,2 bedrooms and a pullout couch,plus 2 complete baths.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Oldwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

C-37 condo was a delightful place to stay for ten days of relaxation and fun. The condo is situated such that it directly faces the turtle bay. A short walk to the next beach brings you to a wonderful place to watch for whales. A few minutes more, and you come to the beach where you can swim and snorkel. The condo supplied very nice snorkeling equipment for everyone, as well as beach chairs, coolers, beach towels, games and movies, and everything else we could think of while there. The washer/dryer in the unit helped us keep ahead of sandy towels and bathing suits. We cooked some meals there and ate them on the balcony with the sunset in the background. Other nights we tried the restaurant next door, which was delicious, and then a "hole in the wall" type "mixed plate" Chinese restaurant that was clearly popular with the locals. We hope that we can come back to this condo next year.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank susan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We just got back from our highly anticipated trip to Maui 2 days ago. We were very disappointed with Napili Point Resort, so much so that we opted to leave early and move to another hotel (Westin Maui Ocean Villas).

First the good. The location was excellent. You are close to a bay containing hundreds of turtles and a 5 min walk from an excellent beach.

Now the bad. We stayed in B-36 and it appeared to not have been renovated, painted, walls/furniture cleaned since the early 70's. Grime had built up on the rattan furniture to the point I didn't feel comfortable sitting on them. We travelled with an infant, so on one night my wife went out to get formula from the fridge for him. There was a big crunch. She came running back, said she had stepped on a huge cockroach. I went out and sure enough there it was. Of course, I understand it might be hard to contain pests in a tropical environment but with a baby crawling around the last thing we wanted him to encounter would be cockroaches. We explained this to the gentleman at the front desk and his reply was "You must have left the front door open" (we hadn't) and then "Don't worry about it, we'll set out some traps". The resort did not look full so we had hoped they would move us to another unit. We decided to give it another try and hope the traps worked. The following day we found a baby cockroach so that was it for us. We figured B-36 has a cockroach family living in it. We decided to switch hotels and managed for the same rate to get a 1 bedroom 2 queen beds at the Westin Maui Ocean Villas for the same rate that we paid for our 2 bedroom condo at Napili Point. Needless to say things were more cramped but now we were in the lap of luxury -jacuzzi bath, kitchen with all utensils, etc.

Other issues with our condo were the absolute lack of anything useful, save for one boogy board (which due to the lack of a B-36 stamp I'm assuming was left behind by another visitor). We stayed in Kona the year prior and the condo there had snorkel gear, beach chairs, ice chest, etc.

It really seems that the owner of this unit doesn't care about the enjoyment of the people he/she rents to. That is likely why he/she doesn't rent it directly and instead lets the property managers rent it.

So my advice, if you decide to stay here, is to rent through an owner directly via VRBO or something similar. At least that way you get to see photos of your exact unit, know exactly what is in your unit and research reviews on exactly your unit. Don't be like us and rent through Napili's website and get stuck with what must have been their dingiest unit available.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapiliPointResort, General Manager at Napili Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We agree that our location is excellent for snorkeling with the turtles and marine life in Honokeana Bay!

Our property is located in a garden setting and dealing with insects can be challenging at times, especially in the ground floor units. Had we known the extent of your displeasure, we could have offered to relocate you to another unit that might have been more to your satisfaction.

With respect to not having snorkel/beach equipment in our units - we do not recommend our owners provide these items due to health laws and concerns with regard to the proper sanitation of (snorkel) gear. We recommend that guests rent the equipment, at very reasonable rates, from one of the snorkel/beach activity companies located close to our property.

Our resort vs. owner rented units: We would like to clarify our policy with regard to booking units directly with owners who are not a part of our on-site rental program. The important differences include (but are not limited to) 1) We require a 1 or 2 night deposit which is fully refundable to within 3 days to 30 days prior to arrival. The balance is not due until arrival (except Christmas). 2) We provide on-site maintenance, housekeeping, and front desk services. 3) If your room assignment is not to your satisfaction and you let us know, there are almost always options.

Thank you again for your comments.

The Management of Napili Point Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

On a last minute whim, my husband and I took our 2 grown children and vacationed in Maui for 6 days between Christmas and New Years. We lucked into staying at Napili Point Resort. Our 2 bedroom condo suited our needs exactly! The unit was spacious, quiet, well stocked (full kitchen, lanai furniture, beach equipment etc) and there was room for everyone to have private space and a good night's sleep. It has an excellent location for snorkeling, access to sandy beaches and watching the sunsets. The staff was courteous, responded to our questions and needs and we were pleased with the service. Using the common path through the adjacent condo resort, we had access to a wonderful bay filled with turtles, fish and coral reef. Using the walkways the other way, we had access to a sandy beach with wonderful waves and scenery. We loved being able to cook our meals (BBQs are on the property) and dine watching the ocean, the whales and the sunsets. The location is close to other beaches, stores/malls and Lahania so that we did not feel isolated in one spot. Napili Point is called a Resort but does not have the fancy restaurants,spas and loud toursits. What is does have is divine Hawaiian nature and beauty! We will be back for sure!

Room Tip: Corner suites have a great cross breeze that keeps the unit at a great temperature for sleeping. Corner units are larger.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank westeddy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews