We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Napili Bay #106”
Review of The Napili Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Napili Bay
Ranked #23 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Incline Village, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Napili Bay #106”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My wife and recently returned from a week at Napili Bay for a wedding. The location and condo were so nice that we hardly left, the beach is right out the door, great snorkeling (equipment can be rented just around the corner), and the condo is comfortable and well equipped with a very nice kitchen. I loved getting up every morning, starting the coffee, and jumping in the ocean while it brewed.

No A/C turned out to be a treat, the cross breeze keeps the place comfortable while sleeping to the sounds of the Ocean rather than the hum of A/C!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    94
    20
    14
    8
See reviews for
34
266
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I recently returned from our second stay at Napili Bay. I find this place ideal for several reasons:
1. Napili Bay is my favorite beach in Maui (maybe anywhere)-- it is great for snorkeling, swimming, floating, boogie boarding, SUP, people watching, sunsets. Trade winds aren't a problem (like they can be in South Maui in the afternoon).
2. Great value. I'm not aware of anywhere you can stay this close to such an amazing beach-- much less for less than $200/night oceanfront (our unit, 205, was $160/night, oceanfront-- some of the more updated units are a little more).
3. Smaller, basic, intimate complex. I'm not a big fan of big resorts, so Napili Bay suits me well in this regard. Despite being smaller, there were the essentials on site--well maintained grills, laundry facilities, and an ice machine. Our unit (and as far as I could tell most the others) were well equipped with kitchen essentials and beach gear (chairs, boogie boards, etc.).

A couple things that could be negatives for some (but didn't really bother me... so I am still giving a 5 star rating):
1. There are usually a good number of people on the beach in the afternoon. A lot of people come from the resorts in Kaanapali and Kapalua to Napili since it is such a great beach. If you are a morning person or like to sit on the beach at sunset, there are a lot less people at those hours.
2. No A/C... but like others said, there is a nice ocean breeze. Another couple we talked to had issues one evening with people hanging out on the beach at night keeping them awake. We were never bothered by this on the 2nd floor, but I could see it potentially being a problem. Also, the waves are kinda loud... I could see that bothering light sleepers.

In conclusion, if your priority is staying as close as possible to as nice of a beach as possible, Napili Bay is for you. If you need A/C, a pool, fancy amenities, daily maid service, try Napili Kai (at the other end of the Bay) or a resort in Kaanapali.

Room Tip: For oceanfront rooms, second floor is a little quieter and more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank vrjenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our family of 4 (2 adults, 2 pre-teen children) stayed in this Unit for 11 days in late-May/early June. There are only 2 units in the entire complex that can sleep up to 4 people, so it's slim pickings. I would highly recommend staying on the 2nd floor as there are many people on the beach during the day (and sometimes at night) and it can get very loud if you are on the first floor.

We had a beautiful oceanfront view. There is a large shade tree located directly in front of the room, but it is trimmed and therefore not blocking your ocean view.

Literally steps to the beach. The beach is amazing. We swam with multiple sea turtle every single day!!

The condo is a bit tight for 4 people, however, we managed just fine. You cannot beat the price for an oceanfront condo on Maui. With that being said, I would not stay in Unit #205 again until the following items were addressed:

1. There is no dishwasher in this unit. We ate in for breakfast & lunch every day and it was not fun washing pots, pans, dishes & cups on vacation. With very limited counter space, it was hard to wash the dishes & have no space to let dishes dry.

2. No screens on front door or back door. Both doors have louvres which can be turned to allow air. We kept the louvres open at all times to get airflow since their is no AC. There were no screens which allowed bugs to fly in. Also, it did not feel 100% safe at night with the louvres open knowing that anyone could have stuck their hand in the front door & unlocked it since there were no screens. I checked the other units & they all had screens on the doors. Also, some of the louvres on the door & windows were jammed shut and we could not turn them to allow air in.

3. The lanai furniture is not very comfortable. Counter height and nowhere to put your feet.

Other than these items, we had a wonderful stay. I also noticed many of the other units had gorgeous updated kitchens with ample counter space & granite countertops & updated appliances. I think this unit is need of a kitchen update.

Room Tip: Second floor is much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank sherinongratis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Review: The condo was spotless, well equipped and extremely comfortable. The location gave us a completely relaxing sun filled vacation that greatly exceeded our expectations. Large supermarket is a 10 min drive. Wifi is fast and reliable. Very quiet complex with no traffic, bars or restaurants to disturb the evenings. "Travel brochure" swimming, weather and sunsets.We swam throughout the day and walked to restaurants. Coffee on the lahai every morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Ppap433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We had an excellent time in unit 108. Napili Bay is a great location in Maui. We were able to snorkel each day, walk to restaurants at night and fall asleep to the sound of the ocean. We could not ask for more.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesaj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

As the other reviewers have said, this unit is really *right* on the beach. You are up about 4 feet above the sand and back 25 - 30 feet from the water. The view from little lanai is astonishing: turquoise water with darker areas of coral blending to an open channel facing Molokai. Usually you can see whitecaps in the distance. The surf sound is ever-present and comforting.

I take strong issue with previous reviewers who described this place as 'quiet'. They may have been referencing the lack of nightlife on Napili. Perhaps they are suffering from serious high frequency hearing loss. During the day, the visitor is transported to a playground for vocal enthusiastic 8 year olds. They are having the times of their lives, shrieking with delight with each big breaker. Imagine first graders being let out to recess after a long boring class. The wind carries that high frequency shrieks to the condo very effectively. This goes on for 8 - 10 hours per day. After the kids have retired for the evening, it is quiet except for the ever present surf.

This complex is on the south end of the magnificent Napili beach. This part of the beach is rather narrow. The condo complexes to the south do not have beaches (just rocks) so their guests tend to spread their lawn chairs in front of the Napili Bay. The density of people is fairly high. Since you are so close to their lawn chairs, you can easily eavesdrop on their conversations from the lanai. I did not pick up anything of great interest from this activity. There is a venerable Malo nut tree in front of the condo - it gives wonderful shade.

Although the complex is aging, unit 107 was recently redone. The small kitchen is very elegant, with a beautiful refrigerator, cook top and microwave oven. The owner has left all the kitchen utensils you could want. The bed is very comfortable as is the couch. There is a 3 foot ceramic Buddha next to one of the chests of drawers. He is very calm. No one comes every day to straighten up, empty the trash or give you little bars of soap. You can buy your own soap at the Napili Market, which is a short car ride away. This place is not the Ritz Carlton but it is very comfortable.

Chuck, the rental agent is very responsive and helpful via email. There is not a rental office on site. If there is a problem with the unit, Chuck has local representatives.

When you arrange to rent one of these units, you make the contract with the owner of the unit (Chuck arranges the details). If for some reason you want to move to another unit (for example noise), this cannot be arranged.

If you intend to spend most of your time on the beach and don't mind kid noise, you will love 107. It is so close to the beach that you are there even when you are inside the unit. If you are looking for quiet relaxation, consider one of the non-oceanfront units.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paniolokine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is a terrific unit at a great price. Well maintained and steps from the water. Perfect little studio for couple or small family. Great manager. We thought we were going to get stuck in Tropical Storm Flossie flight cancellations. It all worked out but Donna was really reassuring when we thought things might go sideways.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cate014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.1 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.1 mi away
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach
0.1 mi away
Napili Sunset
Napili Sunset
#5 of 41 in Lahaina
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hale Napili
Hale Napili
#18 of 41 in Lahaina
56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Napili Surf Beach Resort
Napili Surf Beach Resort
#22 of 32 in Lahaina
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Napili Kai Beach Resort
Napili Kai Beach Resort
#4 of 32 in Lahaina
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Napili Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Napili Bay

Property: The Napili Bay
Address: 33 Hui Dr, Napili, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8702
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic beachfront getaway on amazing Napili beach. Adjacent to Kapalua Bay & 15 minutes North of Lahaina. This laid-back, relaxing resort has guests coming back year after year who say it's the best beachfront location in Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Napili Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Napili Bay Hotel Lahaina
Napili Bay
The Napili Bay Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing