We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to Rent...Just Don't Buy a Timeshare”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2010

Marriott's Maui Ocean Club surprised us on the upside. Though our one bedroom ocean view suite (or do they call it a villa?) was a little dated, the view was incredible! The resort is very kid-friendly with a 3.5 acre superpool and a special "shipwreck beach" that kids love. They gave us a crib and high chair to use all week for free, as well as discounts for some of the local restaurants and shops. We walked around all the resorts in the Kaanapalli beach area, and this one had, perhaps, the best beach. Some of the other resorts only have a narrow strip of sand in front of them, but Marriott's had a real beach with plenty of room to stretch and play.

Our unit did not have an oven (just a microwave) but worked well for breakfast and lunch.

The whole resort is timeshares. We rented by simply calling the resort directly and were given our choice of dates at about $350/night (including all taxes). We also saw units on Craigslist for a similar price, but they were rentals by owner (not much guarantee against fraud) and all were for specific 7 day periods which were hard to use with our airline miles. According to timeshare owners we talked to, the unit we stayed in sells for about $19k for one week a year. The maintenance fee is about $220/night for owners, and rise every year. So for just $130/night more, we got flexibility, no lock in, and got to keep our principle (which can earn more than the nightly difference with simple, safe investments.) I ran the numbers. For ANY length of ownership, it is better to rent than own these units.

That said, we recommend this place as a rental, especially if you have kids.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,958)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,661 - 1,667 of 1,958 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2010

We stayed in a one-bedroom in the Napili Tower and really appreciated it. The rooms are new, and everything worked. The fridge, stove, oven, dishwasher, and washer/dryer were full size (or near full size). The kitchen, dining, and sitting areas were large. The bedroom itslef, however, was cramped, as was the lanai, but the overall size of the unit never made us feel crowded. We had an ocean front, which is really set back aways, but still had a good view of the little pool below and what we could see the ocean and beach through the trees and walkway. For a place that caters to families with kids, the walls and windows kept out most of the noise.

Besides the rooms, the pool areas are the drawing card. Our toddler loved the pirate kiddie pool and exploring the big pools. They could use more lounge chairs.

The staff was very helpful and stay out of your way. The condo sellers come on a little strong but did not bother us too much.

The section of the beach in front of the hotel is not as nice as further north down Kaanapali Beach, which is in easy walking distance. There is a fair amount of coral and rocks, so be careful if you tread into the water there. The surrounding area is a busy resort area, so it is not best place if you are seeking a tranquil setting or an authentic Hawaiian experience.

We ate once at the poolside cafe when the restaurant had too long of a wait. The food was better than typical pool food, and while it was definitely overpiced, it was fair for resort prices.

The value will depend on how good of a deal you can get through Marriott or owners renting their week. The rack rate of $500 a night seems way too much, as it is not in the same luxury class as places like the Ritz or Four Seasons, but we loved it on a discounted price.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

Great place to stay. Kids had an awesome time in the 3 pools, main pool is huge with waterslides and waterfalls etc. Great location on Kaanapali beach. Restaurants excellent. Staff were fantastic. Our villa was roomy, clean and had a lovely view of the beach and ocean. We loved our stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HawaiiTraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2010

We just returned from a week here. We have a 2 1/2 year old and it was perfect. Our room was a one bedroom and we were on the ground floor. The suite overall is really big but the bedroom was a little tight. Especially w/ our pack and play in there. We were literally 10 steps away from the pools which very few people were at so our toddler could "swim" around w/o us worrying about big kids running into her. Loved having a washer/dryer, and full kitchen. Utilized both of those quite frequently. The automated and secure doors are a little noisy especially at 5:00 in the morning but it didn't bother me much since I loved the location of being on the ground floor the rest of the time. Beach was great, husband took a private surf lesson w/ a great instructor. Mostly stayed in Kaanapali area. Went to the Aquatic Center/aquarium. It was windy that day so a good excursion but little and wouldn't go again. Overall had a wonderful vacation and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SacTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

We own a time share at this resort. This was our third time staying here and the location is great, right on Kaanapali Beach. We had a room on the 7th floor with a fabulous ocean view. The weather was perfect all week. Our time share is in the older hotel conversion part of the resort without a full kitchen but rooms are still nice and roomy. Service was great as usual. We had a great vacation.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gopherhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2010

Rented a one bedroom, oceanfront villa for five nights. Kitchen was fully stocked with pots, pans and utensils. All appliances were top of the line (stove, full fridge, micro, dishwasher). Room was huge and fit three adults and one child easily. We were on the ground floor, about 10 feet from one of the smaller pools. Watched whales from the patio table. Main pool was fantastic with waterfalls and pirate ship for the kids. Large, immaculately kept, green spaces for the kids to play on. We received one message from the timeshare folks asking if we wanted to hear the pitch- didn't return their call and was not bothered further. Booked all our trips in Lahaina, directly with the whale watching boat (ULTIMATE WHALE ADVENTURES was fantastic!) and with the Atlantis sub- again, avoiding the timeshare pitch from all the "cheap tours" places. Expensive, but worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ltmm69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2010

We just got back from ten days in Hawaii of which four were spent at the Marriott Ocean Club - if I could do it over again we would have never left there. The location was perfect for us, right on the beach, just a few miles from Lahaina where we went for a couple of meals, trips to Walgreens, and to the boat dock for our whale watching adventure.

Except for the coral located right in front of the hotel, the beach was really nice. A vendor offering surf lessions was conveniently located near the resort and was a huge hit with my teenagers. The shops at Whaler's Village and Black Rock are just a short walk down the beach.

We had an ocean view suite (not ocean front but still a nice view of the ocean) which featured a king bed and sofa bed, refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee maker, and kitchen utensils. A big bonus for me, since we have a family of four and were traveling for about two weeks, was the free washer and dryers - that saved me about $25 in laundry fees.

The pool bar was fun, the pool was really nice, and the snack bar provided a pretty good selection of breakfast and lunch items. The Longboard's Restaurant was very good both times we ate there and the pool bar's lunch items were also good.
The towel station tried hard to sell me on their suntanning products and Maui Jims sunglasses but I just ignored them. I suppose the timeshare people were also trying to hard sell us too but we also ignored them and the messages they left on our room phone.

Every single staff member that passed by us said aloha. The employees were very, very nice. The clothing shop operaters were great too, except for the snack shop in the lobby - she was a little grumpy every time I was in there.

I thought the Marriott Ocean Club had a great location, very nice rooms, good beach, and great food and beverage options.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank okebubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.3 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
2 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
#10 of 32 in Lahaina
3,250 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers

Address: 100 Nohea Kai Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1917
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $421 - $792 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Maui Ocean Club Hotel Lahaina
Marriotts Maui Ocean Hotel
Marriotts Maui Ocean Resort
Marriott Lahaina
Maui Marriott
Marriott Maui Ocean Club
Lahaina Marriott
Marriotts Maui Ocean Club
Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing