We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds & great gym”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I am a Marriott Vacation Club owner at Frenchman's Cove and decide to use vacation destination points for a long weekend before heading over to Oahu. We arrived late and i must say I wasn't too impressed at first when I approached the clerk checking me in. He was all but knowledgeable. Even though I had specifically requested a room away from construction with the local representative and Marriott Owner Services, I was giving a room right next to the construction. The room is what to come to expect with Marriott Vacation Club and the property grounds were just beautiful. The gym, which is important to me, is probably one of the best I have seen at any Marriott property - hotel or timeshare. It was very well equipment and very spacious. Didn't really have time to use pool or experience restaurant. This would have been a 5 star rating if it had not been for the front desk and room location. Definitely would go back.

Room Tip: Stay away from construction going on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2boystravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review. While we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the gym as well as the appearance of your villa, we apologize the front desk was unable to accommodate your villa location requests. We will share your feedback with the front desk leadership team and thank you for bringing this to our attention. We look forward to truly exceeding your expectations on your next visit to Hawaii!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,958)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

927 - 933 of 1,958 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2014

Our family of four spent six nights at the Maui Ocean Club in a one bedroom villa in the Lahaina Tower. We were on the 6th floor with an "ocean view" room (not the same as "ocean front"). We could see the beautiful ocean ... but also the parking garage. We were on the opposite side from the construction of the resort next door, so we didn't hear any noise.

We had a wonderful experience at the resort.

Pros:
1. Villas were excellent! Full kitchen, comfortable bed, comfortable pull out couch and roll-away beds available. Maybe my favorite part -- a washer and dryer in the the villa and laundry detergent included. :) Just bring your own dryer sheets if you use them.
2. Easy access to the beach - the sand is smooth and beautiful but once you step into the ocean, most parts are rocky and there are sea urchins (my husband can tell you first hand what it feels like to step on one of their quills/spines/??). My recommendation is to bring water shoes with you for everyone going into the ocean. They also sell them at Walgreens in Lahaina if you don't have them or forget them. You can rent lounge chairs and umbrellas for the day, but we opted to just sit on towels in the sun. :) We rented a boogie board from Boss Frogs in Lahaina Town for $5 a day and another family gave us one they bought. My kids are 11 and 8 and boogie boarding was where it's at!!!
3. The pools are nice and there is a slide that kept the kids entertained while the grownups relaxed. There are no lifeguards at the pool though. There are also pools at both Napalii and Lahaina Towers, but those seemed to be occupied mostly by adults. We were always able to find lounge chairs, but never one under an umbrella. I think those were claimed before the sun ever came up!
4. Kids activities - they have a great area for the kids. My daughter was able to make two different types of leis (one fresh with orchids) and there were many other activities that we just didn't get a chance to do. They put out a full schedule the night before to let you know what you can do the next day!

Overall our stay was great!

Our only "complaint" would be the cost of food at the resort. The nice restaurant was closed and being renovated/reimagined into something else. That left us with Starbucks and the Kau Kau to go. For lunch I had a $16 chicken wrap ... that came with 4 pieces of cut up fruit. My recommendation is to go grocery shopping! If you are staying in a villa - it has a full kitchen that is fully stocked! Although we did go through sticker shock at the Safeway, we were happy to be able to cook at least 1/2 of our meals in the villa. There are many gas grills throughout the resort - and we took full advantage!

The Whalers Village is about a 10 minute walk up the Kaanapali Resorts walkway and they had 3 restaurants and a food court also. We ate at Leilani's and were very happy with their food. My 8 year old was super excited about their macaroni and cheese (Kraft...straight from the box...ha). Another option (if you have a car) is to drive into Lahaina (3 miles) and walk along the shops and eat there. We had lunch at Bubba Gumps and loved it!

So, as a mom with 8 & 11 year old children, I would recommend this!! There is plenty to do with the kids and it's easy to get to several different areas. We were able to get a rental car through priceline and it was very affordable an we were so happy to have a car.

Room Tip: The higher the better for views of ocean or pool. We were in Lahaina tower but on opposite site from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mizzou96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thank you for your five-star TripAdvisor review for Marriott's Maui Ocean Club! We are happy you had a great family vacation on your six night stay with us in Hawaii. We also appreciate your feedback on food & beverage offerings and will share your comments with the appropriate managers. Thank you again for you review and we look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed one week at the Marriott Maui Ocean Club as part of a time-share exchange. We stayed in one of the smaller lock-off rooms. First the Pros: Our view was amazing. We sat on the Lanai every morning and drank hawaiian coffee as the sun rose. We saw dolphins jumping a little ways off shore. The service, ranging from the front desk, maintenance crew, sales reps, and house cleaning was phenomenal. Everyone was gracious, happy, and helpful. The location is wonderful. Walking distance to many restaurants and stores. Try Leilani's Hula Pie; it's TO DIE FOR. Great pool with lots of chairs and shade. It's a fantastic place for the family. Lots of pool area just for the little ones. Our lock-off room had a coffee maker, mini fridge, microwave, bowls and eating utensils. This was really convenient. The cons: Not much to say here. We didn't have a washer/dryer in our room so we to walk quite a distance to the laundry facilities; however, the washers and dryers are free to use so no real complaints. I would highly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xaris4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thank you for the high TripAdvisor recommendation! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the great aloha spirit at the resort. Our team hopes you will visit us again soon at Marriott's Maui Ocean Club!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed for 7 nights and loved every minute of it! We were able to book our entire stay on Marriott points which is part of the reason we chose this resort. Marriott is a high quality brand, and this resort was very clean and well kept. Our room had a wonderful view and faced a quiet pool and ocean view. Make sure you do not get a room next to the new Hyatt that is going in next door. The construction is very noisy over that way. We had been debating on staying at the Marriott in Wailea; however, we were happy with our choice. It is easy to get to the little town of Lahaina, and walking up and down the walkway in back of the Ka'anapali Resorts was fantastic! Go snorkeling on the north side of Black Rock, but stay fairly near the shore. (Someone drowned there last month.) The only negative for our stay is that is was VERY windy many days, and the beach (in the water part) was very rocky - hard to swim with all those rocks under foot. I guess Hawaii can get that way. Other than that, the weather and the stay was perfect! I highly recommend this Marriott.

Room Tip: Stay away from the construction of the new Hyatt next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Faith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Aloha Faith! Thank you for staying at Marriott's Maui Ocean Club! We are excited to learn your family had a wonderful vacation with us in Hawaii and enjoyed all the great resort amenities. Thank you for your TripAdvisor review and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We've been coming here for years. The service is great. Everyone that works here greets you with a smile and an Aloha. The center of the resort is built around a large pool with a fun poolside bar, a Starbucks & a cafe. This area is always bustling and is where most of the families with younger children hang out.
At either end of the grounds are the Villas. These luxurious rooms all have full kitchens and washer/drier setups as well as theira own pools. These pools offer a more relaxed atmosphere to just hang out and chill. We prefer the Napili Tower with its lush lawn area and never crowded pool.
Both Villa areas have grilling areas and the Napili Tower has a poolside bar. The tennis & BB court is located by the Lahaina Tower.
The resort is located right on Kaanapali Beach in a prime location, a short walk to shopping, good restaurants & bars and other high quality reorts.
This place is a gem that we will continue to enjoy with our family foryears to come.

Room Tip: We ask for a room on the second floor or higher to minimize any possible noise from the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Aloha Steve! Thank you for the great TripAdvisor review of Marriott's Maui Ocean Club! We are glad to hear you have enjoyed the resort over the years and look forward to seeing your family again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed in the 2 bd, 3 bathroom option in the Mokolai Tower on the 5th floor -ocean view-overlooking the pool the first week of June. We initially disappointed about not having a full kitchen and laundry in the room but the layout was perfect. The laundry is free and I would go down early in the morning and do 3 or 4 loads at once. The dryers only take 35 min not a whole hr. We did not use the communal kitchen but saw several people using it. We did use the grills which worked perfectly. We had an issue with the frig not working right and within 20 minutes they had changed and reloaded the frig. Pool is great and loved having Starbucks so close. Excellent location for everything. Loved the DVD system and had a movie night every day. We joked about the people reserving the lounge chairs at 6 am but it wasn't an issue since there are a lot of people coming and going. You spend a lot of time in the pool anyway. We did use the Spa for a couples massage and it was wonderful. Very relaxing. The front desk reserved our times for the snorkel trip and tee times which worked wonderfully. The staff was very helpful and I do like the fact that the Marriott has a food bank drop box for items you didn't use. We are owners but in St Thomas and it is interesting to see how each place operates differently. I would go again and be just fine with the mini-kitchen set up.

Room Tip: Go with the Mokolai tower - overlooking the pool... You get ocean and mountain views. 5th floor was...
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Amie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Aloha Amie! We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear your family had a relaxing vacation in Hawaii. Our team looks forward to your next visit with us and thank you again for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed in a 3 bedroom oceanfront unit in the Lahaina Tower (6205/6206). We had an amazing view. Very spacious for only 6 of us.

The downfalls: The pool near the Lahaina Tower always seems to be full of some sort of shrubbery (flowers, leaves, bushes). Guests would actually clean the pool out. It is also a bit small and usually has a lot of little kids (under 5) because of the large pool platform/step. The parking in the parking garage always seems to be a challenge. They only have about 5 or 6 handicap parking stalls and they are very hard to come by. They could use more handicap parking stalls. Their "market" is in now way a market. It is a gift shop with a few minor groceries which are expensive. The blonde/gray haired lady in the gift shop was quite rude and could use some customer service training. The Marriott should go up to the Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas and check out their "markets." They are more market than gift shop and it is very useful when you have forgotten a small item that you need to finish preparing your dinner. I mean these are Villas with full kitchens (at least in the Lahaina and Napili towers). They could also use some larger fry pans. The 8" are just too hard to cook for a family of 6. If they could put 1 8" and 1 11" pan in each unit would make a world of difference.

The main pool was very busy, but it is in the center of the original hotel and there is a lot going on there, the bar, the Beach Walk Cafe, Starbucks. There is a kids pool area over in this area also and it is pure Chaos.

We would walk from the Lahaina tower over the Napili Tower pool. This pool is much larger than the Lahaina tower pool, and is much more quiet. There is a bar over at this pool also.

Just beware of the kids. There are a lot of kids on this property and they are not all well behaved or supervised.

Room Tip: The Lahaina and Napili towers have full kitchens. The main hotel only has kitchenettes.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank nancy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Aloha Nancy! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the luxury villa and view from the balcony. Our team appreciates your comments on areas of improvement and will share them with the appropriate managers. We hope to see you again soon at Marriott’s Maui Ocean Club!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.3 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
2 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers

Address: 100 Nohea Kai Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1917
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $424 - $793 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Maui Ocean Club Hotel Lahaina
Marriotts Maui Ocean Hotel
Marriotts Maui Ocean Resort
Marriott Lahaina
Maui Marriott
Marriott Maui Ocean Club
Lahaina Marriott
Marriotts Maui Ocean Club
Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina & Napili Towers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing